We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice for the price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Savignyplatz
Ranked #457 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice for the price and location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We drove into Berlin and had no trouble locating the hotel with GPS. Parking was tight but the hotel informed us which streets had free parking and we found a spot we could see from our room. The room was very big and we appreciated the old style decor. WiFi was difficult to connect in our room but it did work on my tablet. I could only connect with my iPhone downstairs. Breakfast was included and very nice. It was a short walk to the shopping area. We elected to do a hop on hop off bus tour to see the sites. The bed was comfortable and room was clean. For the price in July we couldn't beat this deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    30
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
11
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We are a family of six and we had two rooms for a week in August 2013. This is an excellent sightseeing base, two minutes walk from the Savignyplatz S Bahn station. We took the airport express to the zoo station and then just one stop on the S5 or S7, which was a very easy trip. They don't speak much English at reception, but were pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent - a good range of food and plenty of drinks available. A real bonus is that you can help yourself to coffee, tea, juices and biscuits all day until 10 p.m. The rooms are cleaned regularly and you can have your towels changed whenever you want. The en suites are good with plenty of hot water on demand. Nearby are lots of inexpensive restaurants and cafes. We recommend Ali Baba, and there is a big choice of Chinese, Italian and other establishments all within walking distance.. We'd definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: The triple and quadruple rooms are certainly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel am Savignyplatz is located just off one of the most popular squares in old West Berlin, 50 Meters from the S-Bahn and within short walking distance of numerous restaurants and cafes in the vicinity, and thus perfectly located.
During our stay in February, the room was definitely a bargain, considering the location. A reasonable breakfast was included in the price.
The rooms in the "annex", or the back courtyard, were clean and quiet, but very basic, in essence the first floor apartment of the building converted into three hotel rooms. If you are looking for luxury, look somewhere else.
Among the plethora of low-to-mid-range hotels and Pensionen in the area, this hotel ranks about average, but is definitely acceptable if planning a going-out weekend in Berlin and not a sojourn in your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've stayed in this Pension at least 7 times (spanning a total of 20 days) in the past 3 years when I traveled to Berlin on business. I absolutely love this hotel! The location is the biggest plus! It provides mostly the basics, but it does them well. The breakfast is decent. The twin room size is a bit modest, but double room size is ample. The price is pretty low for Berlin. The staff are friendly (though there are some that aren't too conversant in English). There are only about 8-10 rooms in this pension. The area is quiet and cozy. I totally recommended this hotel as long as you're not expecting something fancy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srini084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was traveling with family and found it to be not suitable for families because a) Right next to the busy road outside (noisy), b) no room service or food available in the hotel c) breakfast included but very little to offer for vegetarians and parking was not available easily. Other then these factors its a nice place to stay for a night as its economical and clean. One more good thing about it was high speed Wi-Fi :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny but try rooms opposite to the road as its noisy other wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kart13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is clean, rooms are simply furnished, beds are comfy, but overall we did not think this place gave good value for money. The free internet didn't work most of the time. To access the internet we had to carry our laptop over a courtyard, down a footpath, up a flight of stairs to the breakfast room. After all that, it still didn't work some of the time! This is not good enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My family and I stayed in the Hotel Am Savignyplatz for 4 nights and were quite happy with the hotel. It is inside an apartment building, so the location has a residential (versus large hotel) feel, and our room, while not large, was comfortable and very clean. The hotel is located close to the Savignyplatz SB stop, making it easy to reach the hotel and to go explore the city. The neighborhood is nice, with a number of good restaurants, and the hotel provides a good cold breakfast each morning, with a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, etc, along with juices, coffee, and tea. From when we first made our reservation to when we departed the service was always prompt and helpful.

There are a couple of things to be aware of, though, that could be problematic. First, we didn't find a way to access the hotel, on the first floor (US second floor), using an elevator. This meant having to carry up luggage and a stroller. If you have a lot of luggage, this could be a problem, so check with the hotel first. Second, we did have some noise from the floor above ours. In our case this was someone quite good practicing the piano, but if you are sound sensitive this could make it difficult to sleep. Even though our room faced out onto a major street, we didn't have any problems with street noise, so apparently the insulation around the windows is quite good.

Overall, a nice place to stay, especially for the price, and one we would be willing to return to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sir Savigny Hotel
Sir Savigny Hotel
#95 of 634 in Berlin
803 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel-Pension Cortina
Hotel-Pension Cortina
#586 of 634 in Berlin
92 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Carmer 16
Hotel Carmer 16
#348 of 634 in Berlin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel-Pension Waizenegger
Hotel-Pension Waizenegger
#407 of 634 in Berlin
60 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Savignyplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Savignyplatz

Property: Hotel Am Savignyplatz
Address: Kantstr. 22, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Savignyplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Savignyplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing