We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostel xberger - the place to be!”
Review of Hostel X Berger

Hostel X Berger
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel X Berger
Ranked #548 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Really nice place to stay! Totally recommended! Hostel is situated in very pleasant part of the city. Rooms are pretty cool, bathroom too(only if it's not broken) ;). Good memories! Probably because of staff, especially Alberto! Always helpful and full of positive energy! ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Hostel X Berger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hostel is clean, has really nice staff and I loved the fact that there is a kitchen you can use. The showers are pretty good, they're clean and always have warm water. The only thing I didn't like is that you don't have any privacy when showering, there is no place you can dress or undress without anyone seeing it (others in the bathroom). The toilets are always clean, as is the rest of the hostel. The bedrooms are ok. The beds are a bit small (tall people don't fit) and so is the room considering the amount of people sleeping there. If you all know each other it's fine, but I could imagine you could feel uncomfortable when you would share your room with strangers. The room can be locked and a thing that made me feel extra safe is that all the people in the hostel get a personal card which prooves they stay in the hostel. When you enter the hostel you show the card to the staff member working the desk (and pretty soon they will recognize you and don't need the card anymore). This way they make sure nobody that shouldn't be there can come in.

The location is very nice, there are a lot of places nearby to go out partying or to listen to live music for example. There is always someone working the desk: 24 hours a day, so you can come back to the hostel at any time. The staff is enthousiastic and can give you nice tips for places to go. The are a lot of cheap and very nice restaurants surrounding the hostel. Public transport is easy to reach by foot and gets you anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Well I was staying in that hostel around 3 weeks, the hostel is clean, all days someone is cleaning, you've free coffee and tea, you have kitchen, free wifi,all the basic stuffs that you need for enjoy your stay, in my own opinion all the guys working there are so friendly (no exceptions) the best holidays had ever had!! Is not a palace but is enough that you need eh thanks xberger hostel! Totally recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Edher X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First of all,it's not cheap at all.They advertise bed from 9 euros but the cheapest you can get in august is 14 euros or so,and it's a 12 beds mixed dorm!You can get a much better room with 2 extra euros at any her hostels!
Secondly, the wifi usually doesn't freaking work. I can only connect my ipod to the network but my laptop never managed-same happened to some other guests.

And the rooms didn't even have a lock,so everybody can come straight in and take your stuff-they even put up those notes warning you about the thefts in the hostels-I guess that's either a strategy to sell you padlocks or perhaps the the thieves work with them.

Most importantly, the toilets were disgusting and always occupided. Don't even want to use shower. It's definitely the most disgusting place I've ever stayed in.

Avoid it at all cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Radical Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location was really good, and we got free coffee in the morning, but the rest sucked. The room could not be locked and the lockers were too small to put our backpack in. The shower also could not be locked and had cold water. The rooms were right next to a busy street so that you could hear what people said when they walked by and the curtains were so thin that light easily came through. I guess its okay if you will party all night, because you won't really get any sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dientjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Worst hostel ive stayed at on my trip in europe. Untidy, cramped, bunkbeds were a H&S issue for sure person above me was prctically ontop of me. This is the only hostel that i would never ever ever go back too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The location is brilliant, right in the heart of Berlin's counter culture quarter. Nice and clean (cleaner was present every day), friendly staff, internet, kitchen, free tea and coffee. Fairly quiet but with just enough socializing opportunity so you can make friends and exchange local knowledge and ideas.

Room Tip: We stayed as a couple and got a dorm room. I'm not sure if that was the only mixed dorm, but it...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#361 of 635 in Berlin
88 reviews
Friedrichshain
East Side Hotel
East Side Hotel
#480 of 635 in Berlin
125 reviews
Lichtenberg
City Hotel Berlin East
City Hotel Berlin East
#296 of 635 in Berlin
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Armony Hotel & Business Center
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel X Berger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel X Berger

Address: Schlesische Str. 22, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £11 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 171

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing