We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, clean rooms, enjoyable stay ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlafmeile Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Schlafmeile Hostel
Ranked #486 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service, clean rooms, enjoyable stay ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just 1 night here with a small group of friends. Staff were friendly, room and bathroom were clean. Rooms also had large enough lockers for your kit. Communal kitchen was tidy and had everything we needed. Would recommend and stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    38
    23
    13
    17
See reviews for
3
27
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location of this hostel is ok, it's not right next door to anything but it's not difficult to get to places but you will need to spend money on transport. There's no laundry facilities and the wifi is not available in the rooms (only the café attached to the hostel) which was a bit annoying but not a major problem and you are allowed to sit in the café without buying anything.The kitchen was well stocked and very large though not the cleanest place we have been to. There is not much privacy in the bathroom for showering but it was very clean. You have to pay extra for linen but you are not allowed to use your own sleeping bag which was strange. The staff were friendly and helpful but our room was quite noisy as it had a window and door out on to the street and it was very loud whenever a tram came past! However, this was also a good thing as we could come and go through this little door, making the room feel like our own mini-apartment!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwlongwayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hostel is 10 minutes from the train station and is only a short walk from an area full of cafés, bars and shops. The reception area is located inside the cafe, we had breakfast there one morning and the food was decent and reasonably priced. Also, the staff were super friendly and always happy to offer recommendations of where to go/what to do, and gave us a map to help us out.
The room itself was simple but clean and the beds were surprisingly comfy, and the bathrooms perfectly adequate. (Just remember to bring/buy your own hand soap for the toilets.) There were large lockers in our rooms and padlocks were offered to those of us who needed them. There's also a large communal kitchen with fridges, microwaves, cutlery etc. The only downside was that, because the rooms face out onto the street, it was quite noisy at night - obviously this can't really be helped so we bought some earplugs which really helped. Overall we found our stays really good value for money, the service was great, and we'd happily go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hostel is located close to a metro station (10 mins walking) through which you can visit the rest of Berlin. There are shops and restaurants nearby and supermarkets as well.

The staff were helpful and happy to give us advice any time.

The hostel is basic, the beds and bathrooms were relatively clean and the bar nearby offered nice food. Our roommates were a bit noisy, but that´s nothing to do with the hostel itself

The kitchen and the cooking stuff offered were very handy if you wanted to cook your own meal.

Our stay was lovely and we were happy with everything :))

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoc389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilhabela, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is no proper reception. Upon arrival, you have to walk inside a café and, from behind the kitchen's counter, an employee will greet you. You will have to wait for him/her to finish cooking and serving meals before he/she can assist you. (Come on, guys, place a desk in the café and offer someone a free bed and free meals in exchange for working as a receptionist! It's not that difficult!) Anyway, the real problem that made me consider this hostel "terrible" was that it was the only place in the world that ever disregarded our reservation. We made a reservation for a double room 3 months in advance and it was unavailable when we arrived. We were offered a free uncomfortable night in a ten-people shared room and a discount value for the following night, when a double room was finally available. But it is not like the problem didn't exist. And what if they didn't happen to have vacant beds in the shared room, would we have been left on our own to wander at the streets looking for accommodation?

Room Tip: All the rooms open directly to the street, where a tram travels night and day. Don't stay here i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats_Guidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Its a hostel so its basic,simple but just right for someone that is in Berlin to see the city. It has a great location and lovely staff plus a nice little cafe bar. I would highly recommend it for a long weekend in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

When we arrived at Schlafmeile, they told us there was an overbooking and they arranged a stay in an apartment close to Schlafmeile. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the apartment didn't satisfy us. It was being renovated and the construction workers started at 7:00 am. Furthermore, the apartment was half empty and had broken windows, which gave us a unsafe feeling. After a two-night stay at the apartment, we were able tot move to the schlafmeile hostel, which felt a lot safer, but absolutely not clean. Conclusion, staff and atmosphere ++, accomodation and cleanliness --.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#395 of 633 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Hotel Teikyo Berlin
#482 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlafmeile Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlafmeile Hostel

Property: Schlafmeile Hostel
Address: Weichselstr. 22-26, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #486 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 219
Also Known As:
Schlafmeile Hostel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing