We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Hotel Comenius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Comenius
Ranked #329 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Kinda average room but excellent value. Staff were friendly enough and room was cleaned each day although bedding wasn't changed once in 6 nights.

Heating worked very well and kept room tosatie. Small bathroom. Bit noisey at weekends, nothing major.

Didn't have breakfast.

WiFi workerd well at all times.

Very good location for getting into town/Mitte, Friedrichshains bars are just a few mins walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    52
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
39
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel is located in a backyard so that it's really quiet. We stayed on the 5th floor, the room was clean and we had a big bathroom. The staff is friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Regarding the price (4,50€ per person) the breakfast is good. Metro and Underground are in walking distance so you can reach Berlin Mitte easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this hotel because of the good reviews, unfortunately i was a bit disappointed with the service.

I found the staff to be kinda grumpy. It seems like they were never really happy, or showing a smile or a good mood to the hotel guest. They almost never said anything. Well at least to me.
One time they even thought i was stealing breakfast, while i was just looking to decide whether i would want to buy the breakfast that morning or not. Which made me decide to just go to a restaurant instead. Overall the staff spoke little English. At arrival I haven't received any help or explanation of the hotel procedures and facilities. I was pointed to the instructions in my room. The grumpy mood made me leave my stay kinda irritated.

I stayed in the single room on the ground floor, with shared badroom. The first night i slept really bad. Guests were making noise until 23:00 and early in the morning. The days after that i slept with ear plugs, but luckily from day 3 the hotel also got more quiet with not too many guests around. But it seems the ground floor room is not recommended as it is next to the reception and entrance. Unfortunately this was -not- advertised (i would have never booked it).

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a table and chair to be able to work on a laptop. The showers were hot and good.
Unfortunately they turned off the central heating a few times after 22:00, so with -15 outside it got kinda cold in my room....

It would have been nice if they offered free tea or coffee for the guests, but no.

Overall it is a good location if you need a bed in a clean room to be near by wherever you need to be in Friedrichshain, but don't except service and avoid the ground floor. All in all i think the ground floor room is overpriced. I rate it more like 20 to 25 euro. The big problem is the noise...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apprentice x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel is very good value for money. Very clean. Good breakfast. The staff were absolutely wonderful and could not have been more helpful. Good location near the East Railway Station was good for the connection by train to Schoenerfeld Airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here when visiting Berlin for the weekend, the hotel is in a great location-easy to get everywhere. The staff were friendly and offered great advise on where to go and what to see. Hotel itself was clean and we had a big room ensuite with a separate are with couch and table.
We will definitely stay here if we visit Berlin again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BendyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Easy to find, VERY clean and tidy. Generous space for the money, Very helpful staff, room service daily, ex breakfast with good variety. I would come back definitively,

EX value for money. worth its rating

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 317BarryK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Located in great place - this part of district Friedrichshain good place for young tourist, it has youthful, fizzy life. Really cool. The other parts of the city are easily reachable - tram, u-bahn, s-bahn are close there, and it is not far from the center of Berlin, Alexanderplatz. In the surrounding streets you can find lots of cafés, bars to have a breakfast or just drink or eat something. There are groceries too, and about 5-10 mins walk are standing supermarkets.
Our room was on the top, so it was quiet. But not so roomy for 4 persons, and the plus bed was not really comfortable. The bathroom is really small, but clean. The equipment made-up only the necessary things, it's okay.
The staff could't speak english, only some words. We had no problem about this, but some tourist could have - i really don't understand this. There is free internet access, but we couldn't use it anyway. It's possible to have breakfast in the morning, witch is worth it.
In total, this place it better than average, but it's not very good - it needs some improvements. Anyway I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#331 of 634 in Berlin
102 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#330 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Friedrichshain
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Juncker's Hotel Garni
#374 of 634 in Berlin
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#276 of 634 in Berlin
144 reviews
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Friedrichshain
Klassik Hotel
Klassik Hotel
#436 of 634 in Berlin
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comenius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comenius

Property: Hotel Comenius
Address: Gruenberger Str. 22, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comenius 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Comenius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing