We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Ranked #145 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Info: A family of 4 with two children ages 7 & 5. Americans living in Germany since 2010 and have traveled for both business and fun all over Europe.

Hotel: We requested a premium room however they are not normally reserved for a family of four. We were placed in one of their bigger rooms that had a king bed and two twin beds. Immediately upon entering the room we noticed a foul odor, what I would describe as the smell of a dog. Non dog owners know the smell of a indoor pet home and that is what it smelled like to me. The room was visibly old and had wear and tear. We went to the reception desk and they didn't have any more of the big rooms available but asked an attendant to show us a premium room. We accepted the room and they even brought in a rollaway twin bed for our kids. The room was nicely outfitted with a large flat screen TV, King bed, balcony and the bathroom was modern and clean. The AC worked well which is nice since we don't have AC at home, it was a treat. The room did not cost us anymore money and we were appreciative of the hassle free switch.
The breakfast was a well stocked European style buffet with one omelet bar. The buffet had at least 3 sections of the same items which allowed you to quickly grab your items amidst the crowd (701 rooms). It had a bar staffed all day and was pretty crowded at night but we didn't partake in any of the fun. We also did not use the restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Location: Easy access to the bus which can take you anywhere you need to go on the 100 or M29. We went afoot Day 1 & 2 but if I had to do it again I'd buy a bus pass. Reasonable walking distance to Kadewe, Zoo and Europa Center. About a 20 min walk to Potzdamer Platz. 11 euro cab to hauptbahnhof & Checkpoint Charlie.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank wiredawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager Online Marketing at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear wiredawg, Thank you very much for your review and your remarks. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you and your family again soon. All the best, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,285)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berlin, Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 3,284 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of the reasons for choosing this hotel was its advertised free WiFi. However, that turned out to be quite miserable.
First, in our room there was almost NO WiFi coverage. My iPhone did not find the network one single time. My iPad Air found the network once or twice, my girlfriend's iPhone found it a couple of times. The strength was better in the lobby but even there it was intermittent. What was even more strange regarding the WiFi connection was that it could be registered to just ONE piece of equipment per day. Come on - what decade is this? So it was like one day for the iPad, one for me, one for my girlfriend. Except that it didn't actually work. By far the worst WiFi experience in a hotel for us.
Second, the room was pretty ugly and boring. I felt we were visiting East Berlin in the 80s and not West Berlin in 2014.
The staff was friendly and the room was clean, which was a positive point. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant facilities so I can't comment on them.

Room Tip: Our room was towards the inner yard and pretty peaceful. I guess the ones facing the streets are noi...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ERRRRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Manager Online Marketing at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear ERRRRRR, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay, we really appreciate that. We're truly sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your time at our hotel and would like to apologize for that. We're constantly working on a better Wifi coverage and hope it will be better by the next time you're here. All the best, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We've been to this hotel cause airberlin f@#ked up tegel airport end of July-beginning of august 2014.
The hotel is super central and very modern. Stuff is extremely friendly and helped us in the middle if the night to get everything we needed.
We were tempted to stay one more day but unfortunately couldn't.
We don't know the price but would assume adequate for a 4 star.
Night bar was fashioned and chilled. Breakfast was superlative and outside are very cozy.
We'll try our best to go back and enjoy it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Roberto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Roberto N., Thank you very much for your great 5 star review and your remarks. We're happy to hear that you had a great time with usdespite your flight failure and that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon. All the best, Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fantastic hotel and excellent venue
close of transportation quiet place and far from any noise and surrounded by greenery on all sides
Rooms have suitable area
Roomy place
  Reception Members receiving a high degree of efficiency and have the experience to enable them to help their guests
Room service is excellent
The restaurant is large and serves a variety of meet all tastes
I've really enjoyed the stay in this hotel and recommend it to my friends relatives and all

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 12Ahmedreyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear 12Ahmedreyad, Thank you very much for your review and your remarks. We're happy to hear that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon. All the best, Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent place. Nice decoration, staff is super kind and good location. Free internet sucks tho... Seems like they want you to pay for the high speed program. Other than that is a very cozy place to stay in Berlin.
If yoy can afford it go for the "premium" rooms. They are uber cool and comfy.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Andro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Andro B, Thank you very much for your great 4 star review of our hotel and for staying with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in all kind of ways so we are very sorry for the issues with the Wifi and will check on that. We hope we'll see you again soon. All the best, Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location few meters away from an underground station going directly to the center and few more steps away from a train station - S bahn, that takes you almost everywhere. The hotel has spacious rooms. Mostly it is inhabited by young people - it's cool unless it is 4 a.m. and you are a bit unlucky having drunk noisy neighbours hanging around the corridor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaya_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Kaya_Dan, Thank you very much for your review and your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry for the issues with the drunken guests and will check on that. All the best, Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is comfortable for a stay as it does provide decent rooms and gym with saunas. The gym is well equipped with all basic machines and free weights, etc. Sauna runs from 6 am till 11 pm. They also have a lounge next to the sauna where you can relax in a pretty nice atmosphere.

However, due to the hotel's big size, there are always many people in the lobby. This means that the staff are quite indifferent to your requests/complaints. We did not like the following:

1. People accessing the elevator could see all the way to into our bed unless the dark curtain was drawn.
2. Cleaning staff never refilled our coffee and tea supplies in the room. When we brought that to the notice at the reception, we were asked to take them from the lounge area in the basement.

3. I could see a "do not disturb" sign on the first day of our arrival. But the next morning the sign was taken away and I never saw it again. Where did it go ?

4. Toiletries: being a four star hotel, I would expect that the basics such as a body lotion, shower cap, hand soap will be supplied to you, but that wasn't the case. The only things supplied were all-in-one liquid soap from the dispensers.

5. Location: it is far from the centre of the city, however, the public transport is quickly accessible.
It is located in quite an interesting area with prostitutes and sex shops etc. They weren't a problem to me and my partner though, but I assume it might be for some.

In all, this might be a hotel more suitable for business trips.

Room Tip: Standard double room on the third floor away from the elevators should be better for privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trineTI92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerlinBerlin, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear trineTI92, Thank you very much for your 4 star review and your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good holiday. We're sorry for the issues with your room and the cleaning and will check on that. All the best, Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,845 reviews
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlin, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlin, Berlin

Address: Luetzowplatz 17, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#107 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#111 Family Hotel in Berlin
#138 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#145 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £61 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Berlin, Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 701
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berlin, Berlin is the third largest hotel in the capital and one of the largest in Germany. And yet it is still the guest and his personal needs that are at the centre of our attention: in order to make our guests' stay with us as pleasant and individual as possible, all rooms and suites differ in styles and are thereby invariably generously and comfortably furnished. Every room in our individual hotel in Berlin is excellently equipped for working and lingering. W-LAN is also available free of charge to all our guests everywhere on the premises and in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berlin, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing