We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Berlin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Elefant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Elefant
Ranked #18 of 186 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have spend 5 nights at the Elefant. To be honest this is one of the best stays weve encountered, and we travel a lot. The Elefant has a perfect location, smackbang in the middle of the gay village of Berlin, but quit so no troubles sleeping at night. The owner was on a holiday in Spain, but the guy who runned the place Bernd was so friendly and helpfull.Nothing was to much trouble. We felt home after one day, and after 5 sad to leave. Definetly coming back and make this my homebase in Berlin. 6 stars !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 488Ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    34
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
74
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were a family of 3 so always get awkward solutions. However, with Pension Elefant we got our own little flat (studio flat) with bed sofa and "wall bed" for our daughter. Couldnt have been better. We ended up eating out all the time so no problem. We had read that the place was situated in the middle of the gay area in Berlin so had some ideas that it might be in the middle of Londons Soho. However the area was simply a nice quiet residential area with a few rainbow flags here and there. The location is super with 5 min walk to the closest U-bahn station. No awkward neighbors. After a few days you feel like you are living there and feel bad when you leave. Pension elefant staff very nice to deal with. The only problem we had was that we couldnt find a lighter to light the candles someone had kindly left on the balcony. Well recommended for families up to 3 or even 4 if you have small children.

Room Tip: Ask the owners before you visit and they will be able to place you in the best accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molecule672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We recently spent four days here. We were given a studio apartment nearby the registered address which ,et our needs perfectly.

Clean and spacious with all the amenities you need on a city break. The main room was light and airy and in a secure and safe feeling apartment block.

the small touches are what get this a five star rating - new packs of coffee delivered and the inclusion of the basics for cooking were appreciated!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailsa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I can recommend it to people that want to live near the u-bahn station and near the park. Clean and good price, quiet place and spacy room with kitchen, TV and Wi-Fi. It was really good there in spring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elementrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked an apartment with Pension Elefant, which was not at the main unit but around the corner from it. The apartment was fully furnished, very new and very clean. The kitchen came with lots of cooking equipment, and basic ingredients like oil, salt & pepper, etc. if you ever need to get any cooking done. It did not come with breakfast.

Service from Rainer was perfect. Along with a booking confirmation from him, we also received detailed directions from him on how to reach the main unit, whether we were coming by air or train.

The location of the main unit and the apartment is excellent. It's very near a U-Bahn station with several lines, and near a shopping district too.

Highly recommend this B&B/apartment to everyone!

Room Tip: Get an apartment if you are traveling in a group of 3-4 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed 3 days at Pension Elefant in September 2013 at one of the apartments. I have to say it was like a home away from home, since it was basically a fully furnished apartment. The price was very reasonable, the welcome very friendly, and the area quiet and safe, with banks, restaurants and transit (U-Bahn) nearby. My apartment had a washing machine, complete with laundry detergent at no charge, and this was a great bonus for a solo traveller. I would definitely reccommend this Pension to any fellow travellers on a budget or otherwise.

Room Tip: My suite was fully furnished with shower, washing machine, kitchen. I was not in the pension proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiryat Hayim, Hefa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

After Staying for only 3 days at Elefant in July, i must say that it felt like home to me. The place was nice and comfortable, the people were great and helpful, the Breakfast room is full of surprises every morning, and i felt like i wanted to stay there forever and ever.
Next time in Berlin, i'm coming back for sure.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#183 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
ArtHotel Connection
ArtHotel Connection
#7 of 186 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#1 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Elefant

Property: Pension Elefant
Address: Welserstr. 27, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing