We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home-away from Home”
Review of Clipper City Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clipper City Home
Ranked #1 of 359 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Centrally located, great restaurant selections, walking distance from some very nice shopping area. 5 min away from Galeries Lafayette.
The hotel/apartment is spacious with kitchenette, a little sun deck sitting area, and practical bathroom. The tv set with hi-fi radio/video set is a nice touch.
Very affordable place in comparison to some other places in other European cities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loneshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

It has been a while ago but we still remember the fine time we had in staying at the Clipper City. We had the Suite which is spacious and comfortable. It was one of our first visits to Berlin so we started in Mitte which is where the Brandenburg Tor is - 'just around the corner'. We were there during New Year's eve so the countdown area at Unter Den Linden was just around the block. The Mitte area is the luxurious part of Berlin so if you are in search of the boutique stores then this is your place. The Suite are on the price though but perhaps it's the high season.

Room Tip: We had the Suite. It has a kitchenette but we didn't use it. We don't know what the quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Central location (really central) and spacious rooms with small winter garden and good kitchen. Lacking those 5* hotel touches you usually expect from such hotels, like robe, slippers etc., but I would rate it as excellent 4* property and real value for money paid. Just be aware that reception works limited hours - till 7 p.m. and on holidays just till 5 p.m. Although they have automated check in system, that was quite confusing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. The suite was comfortable, well-appointed, and clean. The kitchen had everything I needed to cook up (on the stove) or reheat (in the microwave) simple food, as well as dishes, flatware, glasses, dishwasher, etc. The bathtub was a little difficult to climb into; the step in is at seat-height. Climbing out when surfaces were wet was challenging even for a medium-sized physically-fit and flexible person. Another person might even need help. If you don't (want to) use the pay-WLAN service, you should bring a network cable in order to use the wired service provided. The toiletries provided were from L'Occitaine - good stuff. I'd read somewhere about guests complaining that the sheer drapes were too sheer; in fact, there was a layer of room-darkening curtains to the side of the sheers, and when pulled closed they meant that nobody could see into or out of the window. Perhaps other guests overlooked those? There was a problem with the digital TV service over the weekend when I was there, and because it's not a traditional hotel they don't have people on-hand to make repairs 24/7 or even everyday. Not having TV for part of my stay was a disappointment, but the excellent location and accommodation made up for it. The desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating of special requests inasmuch as possible. I would consider coming here as a couple but the bed is indeed quite small (probably US full sized, seemed too small for queen). For one person, comfy. For two used to sleeping in a king-sized bed it would be a squeeze. For a continental breakfast or takeaway lunch I recommend the basement gourmet food department of the Galeries Lafayette department store just one block south on Friedrichstrasse. Their French specialities are delicious and great value for money.

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms are relatively shady and face the Behrentstrasse. It's surprisingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skoolmarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just stayed for 2 nights to watch the Berlin Marathon. Excellent room and facilities and fantastic location in terms of centrality and closeness to public transport links. Have no complaints about that.

But on our second night there, our room key failed and as it was after 5pm, there is no-one on site to help you. It took help from the restaurant next door and several expensive phonecalls to get hold of someone, and an hour's wait for a 'just coming' security guard to issue us with a new key. Not the best experience after a day's sightseeing with a 7 year old in tow.

Reasonable apology and 10% discount given (after prompting) although maintained the line 'it's a boarding house so no need for manned reception' - given our experience, they need to ensure at least a night porter or someone is available at all times. SImply unacceptable service. I'd think twice about staying there again in case of any problem arising - which is shame because everything else was just perfect.

Room Tip: Would recommend a superior suite although desperately need A/C installing. Rooms v hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tired_mum1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We are now in our seventies and for the last 20 years we have always chosen a centrally located hotel or apartment when visiting a major city. Generally we have been well pleased by our choices but Clipper City Berlin has been the best. It is in easy walking distance of many of the best attractions and only a few metres from the U-Bahn for transport to Potsdam, Charlottenburg, Spandau etc etc. Our executive apartment was very large, modern and fully equipped and we were within a block or two of the best cafes and restaurants.Staff were friendly and helpful. For pastries etc for breakfast in your room we recommend Lindner 30m away in Friedrichstrasse. You can buy milk in the food department of Galleries Layfayette and the Italian restaurant downstairs at Clipper City is always good for a drink/meal/snack. And all this at a price which is cheap compared with normal capital city hotel prices.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indooroopilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We recently spent 4 nights in a Maisonnette suite which included breakfast. The suite was spacious, with the living area upstairs and the bedroom downstairs. The kitchen had 2 hobs and a microwave, dishwasher, small fridge and a good supply of china and cutlery, which was fantastic. Breakfast at the restaurant downstairs was basic with little variety or choice. However, the Sunday breakfast, at another venue, provided more choice and was very popular. Service comprised the reception staff, no housekeeping service, but our towels were changed one day. I agree with previous reviews about the heating - far too hot! We turned our heat off and opened the doors to cool down...it is worse in the hallways!

The location is great - close to shops, sights and transport. The weekend transport ticket for 2 Euro was fantastic value. Like others we took the 100/200 buses, but they were very crowded - we found the trams a better option.

The little Japanese restaurant around the corner (down the service lane between VW dealership and H&M) was most enjoyable and inexpensive. Also the Christmas market at Gendarmenmarkt and Schloss Charlottenburg were worth the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winsome_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
568 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper City Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper City Home

Address: Behrenstr. 47, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 359 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £77 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clipper City Home 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious apartments in central Berlin feature free WiFi, a kitchenette and a balcony or conservatory. They are a 2-minute walk from the Friedrichstraße shopping street and the beautiful Gendarmenmarkt square. Renovated in March 2014, Clipper City Home Apartments Berlin include a living room with a flat-screen TV and a Bose stereo system. A kitchenette and Nespresso coffee machine are also provided. The apartment building has an underground garage. From here, an elevator takes you directly to your studio or apartment. All accommodation is completely non-smoking. A concierge service is available and a small Italian breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant, located in the same building. The apartment building also features a fitness and sports club and sushi bar. The Unter den Linden boulevard is a 3-minute walk away. Buses run directly to Zoologischer Garten from there. Mitte is a great choice for travellers interested in history, museums and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Berlin, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Berlin! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clipper City Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper City Home Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing