We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable budget option”
Review of Hotel Austriana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Austriana
Ranked #579 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Reasonable budget option”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 days including New Years Eve after the first place we booked messed us around and increased the rate at the last minute. The hotel is simple but the room was spacious and comfortable. We booked a room with shared bathroom but got one with a shower cubicle and sink in the room as well (did not cause too much problem with dampness despite the lack of ventilation) which was a nice bonus. At this time of year it was a bargain as most of the hostels we looked at were massively increasing the price over New Years but I think we only paid a little more than the usual rates.
The location is convenient as Savignyplatz S-bahn is less than 10 min away and well linked to all the central parts of the city. Two other U/S bahn stops are also in walking distance.
We arrived later than their official reception times but had arranged for the keys to be left at the restaurant across the road which worked out fine. In general the reception is not open very late (was closed every time we came back in the evening even at 9pm) so if you need to ask anything like the wifi password ask in the morning. They also have one computer for internet in the reception and let us print a few pages for free.
The breakfast is quite simple and not the best quality (probably from a budget supermarket) but edible.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    15
    2
    11
See reviews for
6
6
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

If you look for cheap hotel with breakfast and you do not look for ANY type of comfortableness this is the right place.
If you look for JUST the place to survive the night with BASIC amenities this is the right place.
If you don't afraid rooms with higher than usual ceiling (about 3.5 meters high), shower cabin in the room (literally) and noises from the street, when the goods are supplied to the nearest Netto shop, that's the right address.
Anyway you may feel strange when you got to this place, but what can you expect paying so little....
More pros: simple breakfast, but enough to start your day (eggs, hot waffles, cheese, salami and others, coffee, apples, bananas), table in the room - easy to prepare something on your own, free wireless internet - rather fast, but sometimes unstable, location - very near to Kudam and UBahn stations are in 10 mins walking distance. You can park the car just on the street outside the hotel, there is a ticket machine for parking fee, but you can ask the hotel reception about availability of daily parking cards. But remember this is the Berlin umwelt zone and without green4 sticker you are not allowed to drive into this area!

Room Tip: Rethink staying in room from the street side 'cause of morning noises from deliveries (on weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

nice place, very clean rooms and great breakfast. I say there for 3 days, stuff was realy helpful about and everything

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeartCounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed with a group, at the Austriana hotel 5 days in august. The hotel is located near Kurfürstendamm with easy access to the attractions I Berlin. Plenty of busses, within 5-10 minutes’ walk from the hotel.
There are a lot of restaurants in the area, so no problem with finding a place to eat, at a reasonable price, for a large group.
Rooms at the hotel are with 2 to 4 beds, all rooms with a shower.
The staff at the front desk was very friendly, and willing to help you in any way.
Breakfast was arranged on a buffet and there was plenty to choose from. White and brown bread, jam, cheese and salami plus tea coffee and juices.

But as the hotel is specialized in groups, a solo traveler might find is a bit too noisy. Even our group was disturbed by another group downstairs.
But beside that, I can recommend the Austriana.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I stayed for 3 nights during September 2008. The room was fine with a good bathroom and shower and an excellent German breakfast.It can be a little noisy if there is a school party staying at the same time, but the reception staff were always, polite and very helpful.

I am sure there are hotels with more of a central location, but for the price you pay at the Austriana , I think you get a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisv5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This is a very inexpensive place to stay right off Ku'damm in Berlin. The location is extremely convenient - 2 blocks from a bus stop on Ku'damm that can bring you anywhere quickly, or to a convenient u-bahn station. We paid only 50 euros/night for a spacious room with 2 twin beds, a tv, a shower, and a sink. The beds were extremely uncomfortable but the location quiet and the room was a comfortable temperature when it was freezing outside. We had to cross the hall for our bathroom but we didn't share it with other guests. For the price, this is an excellent alternative to a hostel with a good location.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Bed uncomfortable
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pepoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

For me this was a fairly nice budget hotel. Slightly bizarre upper level reception with a friendly worker was following by a very large room overlooking the inner courtyard. Very high ceilings and room cleanliness was passable. Breakfast was fairly nice but during peak periods would get a little crowded. Location in Berlin was ok but not really central. But being about a ~12 minute walk two different subway lines. We bought a 3 day Welcome card which made traveling around flexible. Our three night stay was trouble free but nothing too memorable.

  • Liked — Large clean room
  • Disliked — Crowded breakfast rom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Griffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Eden am Zoo
Eden am Zoo
#548 of 634 in Berlin
100 reviews
Arta Lenz Hotel
#583 of 634 in Berlin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel Air in Berlin
Hotel Air in Berlin
#273 of 634 in Berlin
290 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Pension Arta
Hotel Pension Arta
#529 of 634 in Berlin
37 reviews
Europa City Hotel
#435 of 634 in Berlin
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austriana

Property: Hotel Austriana
Address: Pariser Str. 39/40, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Austriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing