We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt
Ranked #48 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome to Berlin”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was a flying visit immediately following my friends' wedding in Hannover. My first impression of Motel One was very positive- clean, efficient, smiling staff. Motel One is only rated 2 Stars, because the rooms are very compact and there is no telephone in the room. I found the room to be very comfortable and cosy, if not spacious! The Hotel is centrally located at the centre of everything. Breakfast was lavish, typically German. I am returning to Germany this year, visiting Hamburg & Munich, & I will be staying at Motel One in both cities. I manage a boutique hotel in Sydney, so I am naturally a very severe critic of any hotel. I would recommend Motel One to anyone. It is a 4 Star hotel at 2 Star prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Otto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    350
    60
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
228
90
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Very good location, clean, good price, much better if one requires AlexanderTV tower view. A lot of city attractions just by walking distances. One can take the bus to Tegel Airport just arround the corner. A good coffe shop and sushi restaurant right next to the Hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Great value, Great location.
When we visited Berlin this time, we decided we wanted to stay in the part of Berlin that had been in the East. The hotel is wonderfully situated right near the train station and DDR tower. The area has many interesting things within walking distance all around it.
The Hotel itself is excellent value for the money and I highly recommend staying here, not because it is inexpensive, but because it has just so much going for it. It is comfortable and well run with comfy beds and good showers. The breakfasts are quite decent, although it can get very busy at times. (Due to the popularity of this Hotel) I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMPeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

It is well suited for both business and leisure travellers. Rooms are clean nice and basic. Only disadvantage is lack of telephone. The breakfast selection is restricted to cereals and cold cuts and breads. But I loved the location and also the fact that it is walking distance from the central station.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Motel is situated in the great place. You don't need a car at all if you stay there. Rooms are clean and the bathroom is modern and clean but very small (one person at time),
Really a nice place to stay for a weekend in Berlin

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalgorzataSzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

If you're the sort of person who likes seeing the sights and exploring, this hotel's the one for you. Its location is ideal for walking to all the main sights. If you're not into walking then the underground is right next door to the hotel.
The hotel's impeccably clean and very comfortable. I've marked it down for two main reasons. The first was that there are no safes in the rooms in which to place valuables and reception don't have one where they're prepared to put things for you either. Had to leave money, jewellery, passport etc in the rooms which we weren't happy about. The second reason is that three female members of staff we spoke to on reception had a pretty low level of English - about the same as my level of German. There were a couple of problems e.g. with the heating not working in our room which took some time to solve because of the language barrier. The problem was eventually solved though.
The cold buffet breakfast was abundant and good although it didn't have toast making facilities nor was there an option to have a cooked breakfast e.g. bacon, scrambled eggs... Plenty of other things to choose from though.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may well be quieter. Try and get a room which doesn't look out onto the railwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValenciaScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Excellent value for the money; our Motel One is located in the eastern part of the city, close to a key Berlin hub, and within walking distance of museums and attractions (or by public transport); young, competent, efficient staff; small rooms, but extremely clean; our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet. Buffet breakfast cost euros 7.50 per person and it is well worth it. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard and are very quiet. One has to assume that rooms facing the street could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#80 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#249 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt

Property: Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt
Address: Dircksenstr. 36, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Motel One Berlin - Alexanderplatz)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#46 Business Hotel in Berlin
#64 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#75 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Motel One Berlin - Alexanderplatz Hotel Berlin
Hotel One Berlin Alexanderplatz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing