We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Alex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alex Hotel
Ranked #320 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is basic, but very clean - the room was serviced every day, good range of food for breakfast, amazing shower! The tram was right outside the door and someone is always on duty to ask advice of. Very reasonable price and great value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Remember there is no air con. Also - take a travel kettle. there is a machine downstairs where dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is centrally located near the Alexander Platz - tram stop outside the hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Internet access in all rooms. Free coffee throughout the day. Breakfast is served in buffet form. Good choice of food and drinks.
In particular we were impressed with the service provided by and the friendliness of the hotel staff. Extremely welcoming and always happy to help. This is a great hotel and we will definitely come back next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Claudio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The staff were very friendly & helpful. Clean rooms, great free wifi, decent free breakfast, great restaurants, a beautiful park 50 metres away & 10 mins walk to Alexanderplatz. I would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: It is clean, friendly and safe. Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location. There are nearby restaurants, ATM machines, and the tram stop is steps away from the front door. Alexanderplatz is just two stops away on the tram. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very nice. The room was comfortable enough, although basic, it served our needs for a one night stay. The rate included internet and breakfast.

This is not unique to this hotel, and I understand it is very common in the former East, but they do not have an elevator and they do not have air conditioning. We were on a long trip so unfortunately had luggage to haul up and down stairs. On hot days the street can be a bit noisy when the windows are open, fortunately we had ear plugs and could let in some cool night air along with the street noise.

Room Tip: We didn't really notice the street noise when the windows were closed, this would not be an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I found it hard to rate this hotel. It is very basic but very good of its kind. The young men and women on the staff were unfailingly helpful. The rooms were clean, hot water plentiful and the included breakfast varied. The location is a short walk from Alexanderplatz, a tram stops in front as well as buses, they connect to transportation throughout the city. The beautiful Volkspark Friedrichshain is just around the corner, a lovely place to sit by the fountain or walk the paths. It is not a luxury hotel but it was perfect for exploring Berlin.

Room Tip: No elevator, ask for a lower floor if stairs are a problem but the ground floor isn't good it yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmdja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

first time i write a review ever, but this hotel with its staff deserve to spend time on doing this,
I would like to thank the hotel crew for hospitality, and their helpfulness. Also, the hotel is clean, in front of it there is a tram stop, at the corner there is a bus stop. Also, the rooms are equipped with good bath and shower. WIFI is perfect in all over the hotel, coffee and tea are free all the time in the lobby. I cannot till now believe that the gentleman in the reception spent more than half hour discussing with me how to spend my day and the locating the places on the map. I forget to take my invoice, i asked them over the email to send it, after 1 hour i received it.
Again, Thanks. شكرا

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELZEJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was in Berlin for working reasons last week and I chose this hotel because close to other colleagues-friends. Very good location, walking distance from Alexanderplatz (10 minutes by foot), the staff really very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are spacious enough with a standard bathroom with shower, clean and with a perfect free Wi-Fi connection!
What they advertise about the breakfast I think is true, available from 7 am, rich and various.
If you do not want to walk to the centre, in front of the hotel you can catch the tram M4 and in 5 minutes you will be in Alexanderplatz from where you can continue taking another tram or the underground (U-Bahn) or the bus to the Airport.
Service available 24 hrs...what else? I think this Hotel is to suggest and visit again, thanks to the good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luiserex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Adele Designhotel Berlin
Adele Designhotel Berlin
#367 of 635 in Berlin
60 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Transit Loft
Hotel Transit Loft
#259 of 635 in Berlin
271 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Ibis Berlin Mitte
Ibis Berlin Mitte
#137 of 635 in Berlin
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Victor's Residenz Hotel Berlin
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#360 of 635 in Berlin
107 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#352 of 635 in Berlin
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Hotel

Address: Greifswalder Str. 3 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alex Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing