We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service,but alot of compromises with the room quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Berlin
Ranked #317 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
1 review
“Very good service,but alot of compromises with the room quality.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is on a good spot,on a first look rooms look good and clean the location is good too.On a second look tough....The elevator wasn't working so we used the stairst to fifth floor.The room was excessively hot,we.sweated hole night.Early in the morning some hotel staff was doing something in the back and.the noise was unbelievably loud.After all that i can say that for ots value we were making alot of compromises.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koceto141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    155
    72
    26
    17
See reviews for
25
123
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel. The room was spacious and very comfortable and clean. The bed was very good and the room was nice and quiet (although facing the street). The breakfast selection was first class with a good selection of hot and cold alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked a basic room, but where upgraded to a more luxury room. The room was clean and the bathroom was big and had a very good shower. We really enjoyed our stay here, because it was only 800 metres from Ku'damm and Gedachniskirche and in a quiet street.
The breakfast was very good with a lot of choices and for a reasonable price.
Next time we go to Berlin I would seriously consider this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were in this hotel in December. It was nice but small room. And small bathroom . The lady on the reception was friendly . The problem we got just when we would like to eat in restaurant in the evening and they don´t tak CC . But brakfast was nice not a lot of stuff just a normal staff like cheese , ham , salami, yoghurt cerealies. Maybe will help when they will be faster i wait like 15 minutes for ham . And also table need to be just a little bit faster cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateknocik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have just returned from a short visit to Berlin and stayed here, altogether it was very clean visitors needed to be very fit to manage to carry cases to the rooms. There was a lift but it only stopped between floors, and as it was an old building the staits were quite long and steep. The breakfast room was too small for the amount of gueste and the food only adequate in both quantity and variety. More use could have been made of the vestibule to enable visitors to meet, ther were only 2 stools and these were by the computer. However, the staff were very helpful and the hotel was convenient for the Ubahn and walking into town and there was a choice of bars nearby as there was no bar in the hotel..

Room Tip: Try to share with a friend as the singles were very small but a very good bathroom. Friends who ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurowanderer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Deutschland, Bayern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful, room is spacious and comfortable, As breakfast is to be booked seperately they react very flexible. The area is really downtown Berlin /West, you can manage a lot by foot. Hotel is situated in a quiete area

Room Tip: As staircases are quite narrow we recommend a room on ground floor if you got some luggage pieces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel:
We (young couple) stayed here for 2 nights in August during a weekend visit to Berlin. The hotel is located close to two U-bahn stations, from which you can easily explore the whole city. It is located away from the busy and noisy streets, so you are not bothered by traffic noise while staying in your room. Be aware that the Schapestrasse runs in a half circle and is divided by another street. We were on the West side of the Schapestrasse at first and had great trouble finding the hotel, since the street numbers did not make any sense. Only later we found out that we needed the East side of the street (and then 200 m from the U-bahn station as is described on the hotel website actually makes sense).
Next to the hotel there is a small bistro where an enjoyable breakfast (hot and cold buffet) is served every morning for only 9 Euro p.p., which we thought was great value.

Service:
When we arrived, we found out that the double room that we booked was a smoking room. We did not indicate during our booking that we preferred non-smoking, since we have experienced that nowadays it is more common to request a smoking room than vice-versa. But in Berlin this is apparently different.
We (especially me) did not want to sleep in a smoking room, but unfortunately all non-smoking double rooms were booked for that night. In the end, the receptionist offered us a comfort single room (with 1.40 m bed) and a free breakfast the next morning for the down-grade. The next night we were offered a non-smoking double room that had become available, so all was solved. We were very happy with this service.
So if you have a problem with smoking rooms: make sure to indicate you want to book a non-smoking room when making reservations.

Comfort:
The quality of the rooms was extremely good and quite surprising considering the prices. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is amazing. The rooms and bathroom are very clean.

Would stay here again if I plan to visit Berlin again and will recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure to indicate 'non-smoking' if you have a problem with smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Upper Room Hotel
Upper Room Hotel
#534 of 634 in Berlin
458 reviews
Schoneberg
Arco Hotel
Arco Hotel
#290 of 634 in Berlin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Berlin

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Berlin
Address: Schaperstr. 36, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the traditional district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf. The Hotel Metropolitan is located only a few minutes from Kurfürstendamm, in a quiet side street of Berlin City West, a charming individual hotel in the heart of Berlin. The hotel is located in a typical, upper-class Berlin old building from the turn of the century.Each of the 76 rooms has an individual design with modern comforts.Our inviting, modern and decorated in warm colours rooms have a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom and offer you everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing