We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is great but...”
Review of Hotel Mitte Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mitte Berlin
Ranked #394 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel is located near Alexander Platz, a great starting point for all your sightseeing and shopping as well as a hub in public transport. I went to Berlin on a shopping spree and wanted to spend just one night at some hotel. And 1 night at Hotel Mitte was enough. I will not be a returning customer. It was just so very cold in my room and the bathroom stench was simply unbearable! The breakfast was very basic (it was nicely served, though). There's no proper reception and it's the waiter that checks you in. The advantages are: the price and multilingual staff (I heard Portuegese, Turkish and, ofc, German and English).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaHaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in early May.The rooms were basic, but clean, and the bathroom small but adequate.Breakfast was simple chese and ham with fresh bread and coffee. The best thing about it was the position which is in the heart of the Mitte district.It was very close to lots of bars and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. The metro is also just outside and is only one stop to Alexanderplatz

Room Tip: Try and sleep at the back of the hotel away from d
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianweatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Good location right in the centre of the fashionable Mitte district with excellent transport links right on your doorstep. The staff were very pleasant annd friendly, the food in the restaurant was good and there was always a lot of people eating and drinking there. The rooms were what we needed, bed, bathroom, tv the usual stuff. Would go back again

Stayed: August 2010
Thank Pauly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Overall very pleased with this hotel. We arrived very early in the morning and were shown straight to our room after a cup of tea. The only downside of the stay was we had booked a double room several months before but when we arrived we were told there were no doubles left and were given a single room with a double bed, with no discount. Maybe if it had been any time except New Year it would have been different - we weren't too bothered as we didn't plan to spend much time in our room but I think an offer of a discount would have been appropriate.

Breakfasts were basic but very good. Selection of cold meats and cheese, boiled egg, bread rolls and a bowl of fruit salad, jam and honey. As much tea and coffee as you could drink, but fruit juice was extra. Breakfast was served to you at your table, no buffet. The big plus to the breakfast is that they serve them up to 12:00 so no rush in the morning.

The hotel no longer allows smoking either in the rooms or the bar/restaurant area, but did have an outside heated gazebo where you could smoke.

The staff were faultless, very friendly and helpful providing an excellent service.

As I said earlier we had a very small room, but having a look at the room next door this was extremely spacious and if I stayed there again I would make sure I had one of the bigger rooms. The room was warm and very clean. The shower didn't leak and was nice and modern, plenty of hot water - but in true hotel tradition the bath towel was very very small - take your own! No tea making facilities or telephone. TV on the wall.

We didn't notice any over the top noise outside and we stayed over New Year and were in the front of the hotel so don't really understand other comments about the noise.

Downstairs is a bar/restaurant, seemed very popular. We ate there a couple of times and the food was rather good. Good selection of drinks. A lot of local trade not just tourists. Again the staff were excellent.

Right outside the underground station so getting around Berlin was very easy and tram\train station just around the corner.

I would recommend this hotel, not a 4 or 5* but a nice decent clean place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos com uma pequena varanda compensam pelo espaço e visual. Mas, sai dessa furada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tzoakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#210 of 635 in Berlin
527 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Hackescher Markt
Hotel Hackescher Markt
#262 of 635 in Berlin
195 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#93 of 635 in Berlin
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Weinmeister
The Weinmeister
#244 of 635 in Berlin
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitte Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitte Berlin

Address: Neue Schoenhauser Str. 1, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mitte Berlin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mitte Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing