We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good for this price”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Etage East Hostel
Ranked #222 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hostel was basic, but very clean. Room was little bit smelly at the arrival ,but you could to fix it up quickly by opening window. Well equipped , spacious kitchen.
Lady at reception (owner I suppose) was very helpful and nice.
We do recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

This summer we travelled Europe with interrail...this was the best hostel in our trip...the receptionist was friendly the room clean and quiet...there was a big dinning room...what else can you ask for? there is also a small lake nearby...we swimmed there :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed there almost ten years ago, so my experiences might not be up to date.
But anyway, we were a bunch of 30-odd students living at this place, and although not everyone where completely happy, most of thought it did exactly what it should: we had decent beds, decent shared bathrooms and a decent breakfast. There was a small lounge where we could meet up with other backpackers.
Great location, just by Ku'damm and the city center, close to the railway station and subway.
The atmosphere was great and leisurely - everything was a bit run down and all was not squeaky clean, but it was extremely cheap, and then you get what you pay for. I just have good recollactions of the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is everything a hostel should be. Great, spacious rooms and excellent kitchen facilities with a supermarket right next door. A little out of the way in terms of sites, but so easy to just jump on the metro. Staff are also really helpful with ideas of where to eat, what to see etc. However try not to arrive early as check-in starts strictly at 12pm

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

This place has got some unfairly poor reviews on other sites. Our 8bed dorm was spacious and all beds had a big locker to go with it. The cooking facilities werent great though.. its not in central Berlin, but it was easy and fast to get there.

Thank marrix
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2013

No breakfast. Simple kitchen for cooking. Two fridges but still full. TV.

Bathroom was shared with other rooms. We stayed at twin room, other were for more people but looked clean and safe.

Reception desk was opened only till 9 pm. But helpful staff with many recommandations.

10 minutes by walk to the U-bahn / S-bahn, but you are very fastly in the downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinin_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I spent my time in Berlin with 2 friends, we booked a 3 person private room. It was very warm and clean room,not very spacious but also not tiny. Communal toilets and showers were clean and
working. In living room/kitchen you can find all stuff needed to make yourself some lunch. Lady in reception was very polite during the check in, she showed us nearby attractions and public transport stops. Hostel is close to all means of transport, U-bahn, S-bahn etc. In the hallway there are plenty of printed paper sheets with info about Berlin attractions and restaurants.
Overall can't say a bad word about this hostel. I recommend it to anyone for cheap weekend stay in Berlin

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kukus112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#69 of 635 in Berlin
4,838 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
588 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Etage East Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Etage East Hostel

Address: Langhansstr. 8, 13086 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Weißensee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Die Etage East Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing