We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away! Worst experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #595 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 23 May 2013

There's nothing good to say about this "hotel" at all. Smelly and warm rooms, dirty carpets, bad breakfast with few choices, mould in bathroom, thin doors, next to a strip club, prostitutes around the corner, noisy street with much traffic and many buses, construction work going on behind the "hotel, stench of cigarettes everywhere, creepy elevator that worked when it wanted to, no security in any way and, worst of all, exceptionally RUDE and UNFRIENDLY staff. I have never met so horrible people in all my life! My only recommendation is STAY AWAY. I would never ever, ever, ever pay to stay here again - it's a complete waste of money. Berlin has so so so many other hotels to choose from, so don't choose this one. I hope that there is some kind of hotel inspection board in Berlin that will take a look at this hotel and close it down as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

You wake up and feel like you had a bad dream? This is Alper Hotel where i stayed for 5 nights and had terrible experiences. Unfriendly staff, old fashioned rooms, 4th floor rooms used by local "girls" resting after a long night. Breakfast and cleanliness was okay, otherwise its a total scam.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor facing the rear part of the Hotel (currently a hospital is under renovation and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spent there 4night in March during the ITB. The hotel has a good location. It is about 10mintus walk from the Potsdamer Platz.
The room was smelled. I couldn't close the window. The walls were moldy, there was a whole in the carpet and it was dirty as well. There were a lot of bad-looking men in the hotel and they were doing thier business there.
The staff was unfriendly and unprofessional. There was a young lady at the reception, she was extremely unkindly.
It was a poor value for our money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radzser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were a bit afraid of what we'll find there considering we booked a room with private external bathroom, but to our surprise, the conditions were better than expected. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and the room looked like it was recently refurnished. The included breakfast was good and the location of the hotel was excellent (only a few bus stops away from Potsdamer Platz and about 15 minutes from the main train station. The bus station is exactly in front of the hotel). The staff was very friendly and helpful speaking English. Considering the price we paid for our stay there, the breakfast and the location of the hotel, I think this is a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei_Croitoriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I booked this hotel based on it's website and pictures that it had posted on a booking website. When we arrived at the hotel I didn't even want to get out of the car. My husband went in and said the lobby wasn't bad. One look at the room and I knew that I did NOT want to spend the night there. I told the desk clerk this and she said that if we left then we would still have to pay 80% of the total price of our two nights. I immediately called my booking company (which I will never use again) and complained to them. They said that they couldn't do anything. No way was I giving this hellhole money for nothing so I sent my husband across the street to get some beer. If I was going to have to stay there then I needed to get a little drunk. While he was gone I went through the room and bedding searching for bugs. I didn't find any, thank goodness. I can't believe that they basically made us stay, knowing how miserable we were and how much we hated their hotel. FYI - Finding out that the Holiday Inn Express was 5 euro less per night was painful.
The whole room smelled. The walls were dirty, the exhaust fan in the bathroom had black stuff coming out of it. The toilet was disgusting, the windows were so dirty you could barely see out of them. The carpeting was stained. The curtains didn't cover the entire window so we were up at the crack of dawn. We were given one traditional key for the room. The key had to be used to lock the door. While I was sleeping my husband wanted to go downstairs to use the computer so he had to either wake me up to lock the door behind him or lock me in the room. Speaking of computers....they say their wifi is 5 euro per day....it's 1 euro per hour and it's only available in the lobby. They also said that there was parking available on site for 5 euro a day. The parking was on the street and it was metered.
There is a disco right next door and it was very noisy. Then, once the disco closed we were woken up by a street fight and the police trying to break it up.
The neighborhood looked sketchy so we asked the owner of the shop across the street if it was a safe neighborhood. He told us "Don't look anyone in the eye and you *should* be okay". Wonderful!
There is no phone in the room and the tv is maybe a 20". The remote control for the tv held together by duct tape.
I literally could go on forever about how much I hate this hotel. Run far away and as fast as you can!!!

Room Tip: My tip on choosing a good room would to be ... choose one in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

On the upside, the staff were very nice, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good. However, overall the hotel is very disappointing, overpriced and does not reflect its (excellent) website. There were few facilities in the room - no kettle, no cup. Television, but only with a few German-language channels, which is no good for foreign guests. The rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy as traffic drives past at speed all night and the windows are not sound-proofed. The room was also too hot. Neither the room nor the hotel had any character.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAABBB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Delta
Hotel Delta
#338 of 634 in Berlin
299 reviews
Charlottenburg
B&B Hotel Berlin-Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
fjord hotel berlin
fjord hotel berlin
#78 of 634 in Berlin
502 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Ansbach
Hotel Ansbach
#562 of 634 in Berlin
116 reviews
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz

Address: Potsdamer Str. 82-84, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #595 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £37 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing