We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch the world go by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Kranzler - CLOSED

Cafe Kranzler
Price range: US$4 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: THE BARN is a leading European Specialty Coffee Roastery established in 2010 in Berlin. We roast highest quality coffees from some of the best farms out there. We supply many influential coffee shops and home brewers across the world. Cafe Kranzler: The flagship store in the listed Kranzler building will be the third outlet of THE BARN in the German capital: renowned for their uncompromising quest for quality, the team, headed by company founder Ralf Rüller, only works with highest quality, single origin coffee sourced from sustainable and fully traceable farming. Roasted at their own manufacturing site in Berlin. THE BARN celebrates a new world of coffee at Kranzler, one of the oldest traditional coffeehouses in Berlin. This is where the renaissance of hand-brewed coffee will be undergoing a revival in a modern context. Der 360 degree panoramic view across Kurfürstendamm and the two extensive sunterraces offer a fantastic spot to watch the busy boulevard whilst relaxing over a great cup of coffee.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Watch the world go by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a nice place to sit and watch the world go by. If you like to people watch, this is your haven. The food here is probably average quality, but what makes this place is it's history. I am 51 years old and this place has been around long enough that my grandmother used to go here when she was young and lived in Berlin. It's location is right in the middle of downtown Berlin and it's a nice place to grab a piece of torte and have coffee and be entertained by the masses as they pass by. It seems to be open all the time which makes it very convenient. Service is pretty prompt and they usually stay quite busy. Has a nice outdoor seating area too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sebenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    46
    40
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unpleasant service cakes ok other food looked average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Here you can experience Berlin......including the brusque unpleasant service.
Cakes were ok, coffee was bitter, a neighbouring table had ordered lunch. It looked average. Seemed to have triangular frozen potato croquettes on the plate.....not usually a good sign. But I didn't eat there so can't be sure how the taste was.
I was expecting something with a bit of atmosphere, it's cramped and nothing special, not really recommendable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shareforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kranzler's Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

twwenty years ago, this restaurant occupied the entire corner building at the Ku'damm and Joachimstalerstrasse. Now, most of that building is occupied by a shoe store and smaller restaurant. If you follow the entryway to the back of the building you'll find an elevator which will take you to the third floor (German second floor) and the restaurant. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. You should try the fruit iced tea, which was served ikn a large pitcher containing the tea, ice cubes, and chunks of lemlon, lime, and orange. The German style food was very good, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to relax and have some good food at reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We had the buffet breakfast, fairly basic but good value in a convenient location, it looked nice to sit out side but a little too cold for us at the end of Septmber. The food had run out when we arrived but was quickly replenished. Good basic food at a reasonable price, good location

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yanosmanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Berlin Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Enjoyed it there although before I went I wasn't expecting it to be on the roof above shops. We went up in a tiny lift from inside and when we came out into the café were ignored by staff who were standing around. We weren't sure whether we had to be seated and stood there for a short time. No one approached us, so we sat down. We were ignored again but eventually got a menu off a surly unfriendly waitress and ordered our food and drinks. They came quite quickly and were good. We enjoyed it but weren't too impressed with the staff but it wasn't as expensive as I thought.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Kranzler also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing