We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“potatoes !”
Review of Kartoffelkeller

Kartoffelkeller
Ranked #228 of 8,587 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mitte
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“potatoes !”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

we travelled as a group of 9 and turned up without a booking
they spoke little English but made us feel very welcome
this is a basement restaurant which has a nice atmosphere
the staff were very friendly and helpful
they have an English menu and serve potatoes in every form you could think of accompanied by various meats and vegetable dishes
worth a visit

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    321
    128
    48
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde Municipality, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“German style - excellent!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had wanted german food, and we got it. Schnitzel with spicy onions and cheese. Bratkartofln. The dish was so tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsden15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and drink”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We sat outside, under the flowers, during our visit to Berlin. The food was excellent, and washed down nicely with some Berliner Weisse.

Although the restaurant is Potato themed, it doesn't seem forced and everything we ordered was very tasty and well made.

Even the desserts are Potato based, which is worth trying, even for the experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not just potatoes”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent atmosphere, good solid German food; fair value. Meat dishes include venison.

You get 25% off main courses with the Berlin welcome card (we paid €80 for three with a small starter, three large beers and three glasses of wine). There is a massive dining room so they seem to be able to accommodate most visitors without a wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere ”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Best Western a short way further up Albrechtstrasse and found this place as we walked down toward the river. The food was good solid fare, meat and potatoes, and there was a nice babble of chatter. 66 euros for our family of 4, including beer and wine.

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Kartoffelkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing