We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and hospitality.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha

Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha
Ranked #52 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Schoneberg
Description: We are open every day except of Wednesdays from 1st April 2016 from 17.00 to 23.00 hours. In September 2014 Restaurant Maharadscha has completed 30 years. We want to say a large thank you to all our guests for their faith in us. If you want to experience authentic Indian food you are here at the right address. We serve chicken, lamb, duck, fish and other seafood dishes but we do have a variety for our vegetarian and vegan guests as well. Here you can forget your prejudices against Indian food since you decide whether you want your dish mild, good-seasoned, spicy or very spicy. One of the owners is always at your side to make your visit memorable. Even though we have a large number of dishes, every meal is been prepared freshly after your order is placed. The restaurant is located very central. You can get to Maharadscha in Schoneberg easily in 5-10 minutes from the underground station Wittenbergplatz (Kudamm with KaDeWe). So tourists can easily travel to the restaurants.
“Excellent food and hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Great Indian food. The lentil soup was adorable, very good Samosa, Plak Panir, Malai Kofta and butter chicken. One of the best Indian restaurants we visited. The service and hospitality were extremely good and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank AShenhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    254
    58
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Tasteful food (took Maharadscha menu); small portions, but you can ask for more rice; friendly service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maarten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avg place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We went there after reading reviews here on tripadvisor but to be honest we were a bit disappointed with the service and food was avg. Avoid this place if you are in a hurry or really hungry as the service was at turtle pace. Since it took nearly 1 hour to serve our dishes, we had lost our appetite and did not eat much!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunilPadlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
198 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good Indian Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you are looking for some Indian food than Maharadscha is an option. Warm reception and friendly lady owner will help in selecting the right food and suitable quantities. Service is then slow and will take quite some time till food arrives. Food itself is good however "westernized" in its taste so do not expect Indian level of spiciness. Desserts were the better part of the meal and if Mango is on your list don't skip the mango icecream.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ami130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horrible restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

OMG, either people from the last reviews just have no idea what Indian food should be like. Or they just wanted everyone to go through the same horrible experience to just get even.

How can this restaurant possibly get such good reviews? It’s horrible. As we just walked in I smelled burned food. But since reviews were so good we decided to stay and try it out. We ordered grilled platter and grilled duck. Portions were super small. What was grilled on those plates I have no idea. Seems like all the meets fried and everything was covered with tomato based souse. My husband ordered super spicy fish which again was just fish in tomato souse. Rice was bad, no lemon zest, no spices just plain white rice. Naan was store bought and not too fresh. We were both sick for the rest of the day. I cannot imagine worst Indian restaurant ever.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kisyulja06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing