We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Berlin Walks - Tour with JIM”

Original Berlin Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.55*
and up
Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 393 Tours in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Original Berlin Walks offers a variety of walking tours covering all sides of Berlin's history; from our 'all in one' Discover Berlin tour, to tour focusing on the Berlin Wall and the Nazi past, to whole day excursions such as Potsdam or the Sachsenhausen Conctentration Camp Memorial Site, if you want to learn about Berlin's past, then we're the people you need.
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My partner and I were on a tour group that stopped in Berlin for two days in September 2010. We loved the city and our experience was definitely enhanced with the walking tour we took with our guide JIM on day two.

We had a group of 50 people, a mixture from Australia and New Zealand. Even though the walking tour was optional, 95% of our tour came along. It was superb. We would really recommend JIM as your tour guide, he really brought the city to life for us!

He used his extensive knowledge of the history to give an unbiased persepective on the war, its effects on all parties involved, and took us to places like the Holocaust Memorial, the site of Hitlers bunker & Checkpoint Charlie. He gave us a lot of relevant information that kept a large group of mixed ages (18-32) highly entertained & enthralled right up to the finish.

No mean feat as we were days from completing a long tour so he was presented with a lot of tired tourists.. but we all were so impressed by JIM's passion and enthusiasm for Berlin that it inspired us to make the most of our time & explore the city more!
Making it a highlight for us as a couple, and our tour-mates also!

So thanks JIM for showing us the rich cultural history of Berlin and its people, and we will be recommending to our friends to visit, and experience an Original Berlin Walk with JIM :-)

Yvette, Topdeck Sept 2010.

Thank TopdeckSeptember2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 961 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 652 reviews
"great tour"
in 422 reviews
"four hours"
in 230 reviews
"german history"
in 279 reviews
"third reich"
in 239 reviews
"hour walk"
in 101 reviews
"sachsenhausen concentration camp"
in 181 reviews
"hour tour"
in 192 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 179 reviews
"main sights"
in 102 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 115 reviews
"meeting point"
in 97 reviews
"great introduction"
in 95 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 64 reviews
"major sites"
in 67 reviews
"subject matter"
in 75 reviews
Filter

5,658 - 5,662 of 5,982 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

I would like to thank Arja for giving us such a wonderful walking tour of
central Berlin (12/11/10) - despite the cold weather, she kept up the pace
and gave us very interesting info on Berlin's history in a lively and
sometimes very anecdotic mode! - it would have taken us more than a week to
discover all this by ourselves, I strongly recommend taking a walking tour
on one's first day in Berlin, it is a great eye-opener, thank you Arja!!

Alexia, Athens, Greece

Thank Alexia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We paid less than 30 Euros for the discover Berlin Tour and the next day took the walking tour of the concentration camp. Both tours were excellent and for a weekend trip give some real structure to the daytime in terms of getting to know the city.

For the City Tour we had Arja (pronounced Aria not A Jar as she pointed out more than once!) - very intelligent lady (MA in History) and really made the tour with her sheer energy and good humour - Arja - thank you - Jon (the one who lived in Freiburg) and Sue

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp is an experience - there is enough of the original structure to get a real sense of the place - we went at the end of November 2010 - somehow bleak mid winter seems an apt time to visit it - again a highly informative and well run trip

Thank Jon1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I did this walking tour while I was on a Contiki trip through Europe. Even though it was bitterly cold it was still thoroughly enjoyed by everyone, and was one of the most memorable days of our trip. The tour is so interesting and informative and shows off what a great city Berlin is - so much history, yet very modern at the same time. We were lucky to have JIM as our guide - he was super knowledgeable and just plan cool! I highly recommend Original Berlin Walks to all travelers!!

Thank BethR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I thought about taking a bus tour, but our hotel (Pension Peters--another great find!)suggested the walk as a way to really get the history of Berlin. Our guide, Johanna, was American (an English/German translator, and a 16-year resident of the city)--and did a superb job of telling us the history of Berlin. She recommended other sites not covered by the tour, and was very personable. You couldn't cover this much of the city in a short time with a guidebook. Don't waste your time and money trying to do it on your own--for not much money OR time, you will have a great overview--and time to return to spend additional time at sites of interest.

Thank erniegann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Berlin Walks also viewed

 

Been to Original Berlin Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing