We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sachsenhausen Tour - Excellent Guide” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Berlin Walks

Original Berlin Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.37*
and up
Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 366 Tours in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Original Berlin Walks offers a variety of walking tours covering all sides of Berlin's history; from our 'all in one' Discover Berlin tour, to tour focusing on the Berlin Wall and the Nazi past, to whole day excursions such as Potsdam or the Sachsenhausen Conctentration Camp Memorial Site, if you want to learn about Berlin's past, then we're the people you need.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sachsenhausen Tour - Excellent Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

My Wife and I took one of your tours to Sachsenhausen on January 2nd 2011

The tour, whilst obviously not one that can be “enjoyed” was excellent primarily due to your guide (Torbin)

His knowledge of the subject and it’s position in the bigger picture was very informative and neutral in it’s delivery, neither defending or passing judgement at any time

The day went by very quickly and left one with a good idea of what went down there during the War and the period thereafter

We will definitely recommend Berlin Walks to anyone coming to Berlin in future

Sincerely

Melvyn & Gail Boiskin
(Cape Town, South Africa)

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,679
    292
    24
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most informative, lively with great eloquence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

This was the first walking tour in my travelling experience held by a local person.
The way Arja presented all her stories, the past of Berlin truly came alive.

Helpful?
Thank Solyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating enough to keep you interested at -9 degrees C!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Just a brief review to say that Original Berlin Walks are a brilliant way to find out an incredible amount about a fantastic city. I'm told that all their guides are excellent (they're all students or post-grads specialising in subjects with a strong connection to the city) but I would find it difficult to imagine any better than our guide, Jim.

These guys aren't reading from a script, they really know their material and relish the opportunity to be challenged with questions from the (usually ideally sized) group.

Can't think of any better way to get a introduction to Berlin.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank BravoSierraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

I went on a original Berlin walk yesterday and last night with Jim and it was amazing! So informative! Jim was a fantastic guide who made me fall in love with German history. A must do for any traveler to Berlin! Thanks for a great overview Jim!

Helpful?
Thank Martsim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing walk through Berlin history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband and I and two teenagers aged 14 and 16 joined one of the Original Berlin Walks on a cold January morning, the streets full of fresh snow. Our guide Jim was very knowledgeable and informative but also engaging and interesting as he brought the history of Berlin alive to all of us. It was well worth the time and money and I would highly recommend it. The tour helped us to get our bearings in Berlin, provide a basis for further exploration and above all, a sense of what the city has lived through. Thank you Jim!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank melbourne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Berlin Walks also viewed

 

Been to Original Berlin Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing