We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #58 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent :-)”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just got back from here with 2 friends.
Great place to stay, tube station right opposite and very easy to get around.
Nice places to eat nearby.
Rooms are basic but just what we needed as we were only in our rooms to sleep and change!!
Staff very helpful, especially Sina.
Would defo go back to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    177
    85
    29
    24
See reviews for
60
77
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I reserved this place without knowing anything about Meininger hostels. It was excellent, well located with a 15 minute walk to Alexanderplatz, metro stop outside, lots of eating and drinking places nearby, food market and a cheap backerei with coffee next door. My room was spacious with a view of the TV tower off Alexanderplatz, the bathroom very good and the reception staff friendly with excellent English. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1811027Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had a great stay. Close to subway line. Organic supermarket next door. Happening restaurants and shops nearby.

Facility is clean, modern, and the staff take their jobs seriously. Sebastian, in particular, went out of his way to help us when one of our roommates was smoking and entertaining male visitors in the womb's dormitory

Breakfast is so-so. I'd recommend going to the supermarket if you can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prunella224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I went to this place with my school class, and I had a wonderful experience. Everything is new and clean, and even though it is a 7 floor hotel, there's no need to worry, because there is two elevators. The staff is very nice and friendly and it is nice that the reception is open 24 hours, so you can go out in the night! The only bad thing was the breakfast - I don't know how much we paid for it, but it wasn't too good and the place was very crowded. Except for that it was a great experience that I could recommend to anyone, who doesn't expect luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and found it a great hotel to stay in. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, it was a quiet location. There is an underground train stop about 30 metres from the door, linking you with everywhere in Berlin. The cafe/restaurant had tasty food and a small bar. There is the option of using a kitchen downstairs too, which could save money if you're there for any length of time! Also a games room with a TV. Internet is available at a price, and there is wifi in the lobby (not sure about the rooms!). As the temperature was -13c on at least one occasion, the heating must have worked well too as we were never cold!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazeing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in november 2010 and were quite happy with the hotel/hostel. It's in an excellent location, right next to a metro stop which takes you to alexander platz (2 stops) and beyond, there's also lots of places to eat and drink nearby. The staff were helpful and friendly and the 24 hour reception has great 1 euro muffins! and cheap drinks. Our room was quite large with an extra bunk bed in it. The beds were quite comfy too but horrendous lumpy, old pillows!! our one big gripe, time to get new ones meininger! The shower was fine, though the 'timer' is a bit annoying and probably unnecessary. There are all the usual facilities; kitchen, internet, games room etc which we didn't use so i can't comment on those. Overall, I'd stay here again as the location is so convenient but this is a no-frills place and not for anyone expecting luxury. we got an excellent deal though (turned out to be a mistake on their part but they honoured it) and only paid 8 euros per night! maybe if we'd paid more we would have been a bit more picky...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmamuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed here with a group of my friends last month. We knew it was a hostel, but weren't too sure what to expect. This is not really a hostel. The rooms are clean and big, beds comfortable, and the guests aren't really the backpacker type. There were kids, teenagers, middle aged travellers and older parties all staying here.

The guest kitchen in the basement is the only indication that this is a hotel.

The location is good, two metro stops and you are in Alexanderplatz. The train station is opposite the hotel, so it's very convenient. There is a little food and jewelery market just down the road on weekend mornings, and it is right in the heart of East Berlin's Bars, clubs and restaurant district. The area comes alive at night.

Highly recommended. Sadly I have no pictures, but it's quite modern decor on the interior

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdibest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#361 of 634 in Berlin
100 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#51 of 634 in Berlin
253 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#251 of 634 in Berlin
212 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#58 of 634 in Berlin
273 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 348 in Berlin
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing