We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #61 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Berlin”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Meininger Prenzlauer Berg is very central in Berlin, you reach Alexander Platz and the 5 important museums in 15 minutes walking. The staff is very friendly, rooms, kitchen and toilets are kept
clean. There is a big tube in the kitchen evacuating the humidity to outside and it was noisy doing my breakfast in the kitchen but the staff José told me this would be temporary, which I really hope as I plan to return to this Hostel, where I slept very well and that I really recommend to all people looking for a good, clean and budget place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,
thank you really much for your rating. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guests. We hope to see you again one day!
Kind regards
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    173
    85
    29
    24
See reviews for
59
77
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eisenach, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

What started initially ok went up to be a huge disappointment. We arrived early at 9.30, we had previously informed the staff about it. We officially checked in, paid and the friendly lady at the reception offered to print our boarding passes for the next day flight. We left our luggages downstairs. And we sat for a normally priced coffee in the cafeteria, which was actually dirty after the breakfast other people had taken (you`re supossed to make yourself clean). We left to see the city and returned at 10 pm, again friendly staff. Our room was also "prepared" for us: uncomfortable beds, dirty sheets (hair on them) and table, no towels, tiny tv, the shower was a joke. The location is good next to the Senefelderplatz Subway, staff as said was nice, but all that weren t worthed our 66 euros. Sorry, never again here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauragabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your honest review.
As we can constantly improve ourselves.
Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again in one of our other Meininger!
Kind regards
Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here on a class trip, and the hostel was very nice. I stayed in a 4-bed room with a private bathroom, all of which were very clean. There was lots of outlets close to the bed for charging phones/laptops etc. It was in a convenient location, right outside of the S-Bahn which you can take pretty much anywhere. All-in-all, a great place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmckenzie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your great review.
The team and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Meininger and the city Berlin.
Hope to see you next time again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked this hostel as a group for a cheap stay in Berlin. As we had plans for the two days during our stay the room was only needed for sleeping & freshening up. The hotel was clean & the staff were friendly. The room we were in had a extra bunk beds so our group could have shared rooms instead of breaking up into twos. There was a great view of Berlin from our room & the overall stay was a value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanoaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very clean and has friendly staff. I had a room with 5 other people, and it wasn't very spacious but it was convenient. The bathrooms were very clean. Wide variety of food in the morning which was great. However the dinner food was below par. In a good location, convenient store right next to it and the underground train station right next to it as well. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Viewing the photos advertised before hand i expected decent furniture....when we got to our room it was cheap furniture which looked like it was going to collapse...the table wasnt even proper wood and the beds were very unsturdy, the matresses are very uncomfortable and the pillow very thin...the bathroom was clean but the bedroom wasnt as clean as it could have been...we found rubbish under the beds and food on the floor on our arrival....the staff were very kind and helpful...the food was terrible. the first night we had what was supposed to be chicken nuggets, the chicken was still pink and the mash was just a sloppy mess, the veg was cold and the salad was going browny coloured....the breakfast wasnt much better...all from cans and the bread was extremely dry....no fresh fruit available....the views are good but the rooms get extremely hot and have no way of cooling them down apart from one window which does not open fully...overall the hotel is basic and is supposed to be 'modern'...they need to invest in some air conditioning and stop using food from a can...it may be cheaper but it really does not taste good....

Room Tip: Bigger room either at the end of the corridor or the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#374 of 634 in Berlin
98 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#247 of 634 in Berlin
211 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#84 of 634 in Berlin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Ibis Berlin Mitte
Ibis Berlin Mitte
#149 of 634 in Berlin
1,602 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#136 of 634 in Berlin
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing