We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hostel hotel let down by incompotent, rude staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #57 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Armagh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hostel hotel let down by incompotent, rude staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

stayed here for 4 nights, appart from a slightly unreliable wifi connection I cannot fault the facilities of this hostel, however the staff completely let this place down. Travelled europe for one month staying in hostels and received the worst service here. All reception staff were either incompotent, rude or both.
I had reserved 3 night stay initially, on arrival they gave us a receipt for a 2 night stay!! Thankfully I had a copy of my reservation with me to prove that I had paid for 3 nights. when I pointed this out to the staff, rather than admit that they had made an error with the booking they tried to palm me off by saying that it was just because i actually had to move to a different room for my final night stay... ridiculous considering we were only a party of 2 and had reserved well in advance. this meant we had to check out at 11 and check back in at 2, a bit of a waste of your day. The main receptionist "Linda" was beyond rude and not helpful at all, from her very first greeting at the desk on arrival she snapped at us. when we finally got to room the top bunk bed was not made and old linen was lying in a heap at the bottom of the bed, when we complained to staff at reception they checked the room and returned to tell us that it was normal protocol in the hotel to not make the top bunk... we had to again point out that the linen left on the bed was actually dirty... on second check of room new linen was finally left for us, with no apology. This is not an exhaustive list of the issues we had with staff here but I think i've made my point. I dont usually take so much time out to leave negative feedback, but the poor service received here tainted our experience in Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishVoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello,

thank you so much for your review.

As a matter of fact we do take all reviews very serious. We are really sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. Our staff already got notified and we will make sure to talk it trough with the whole team.

We would be glad if you could send us an email with your full booking details to welcome@meininger-hotels.com so we can get a better picture of the problem.

Thank you for your help.
The MEININGER Team Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    172
    85
    29
    23
See reviews for
59
76
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here with two friends for 3 nights. The room was a little disappointing as it was definitely more of a dorm than a hotel room which we were expecting. There were two bunks, but only two had been made up so one bed had to be made my us - not a major issue. Despite the small room it was comfortable enough. We had breakfast one morning and there was a good continental choice of options which suited us. Location is really good. You are in walking distance to several different areas but the underground is on the doorstep also. Close to a supermarket and some cafes / restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hey there,

thanks a lot for your nice review. We appreciate it!

The MEININGER Hotels try to combine the best of hostels and hotels so we came welcome a big range of guests. No matter if you are a backpacker of a business guest we try to be a fit for everybody. Our multi bedded rooms are most likely with bunk beds so they came be used as dormitories as well.

Besides that we really hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels so time soon.

The MEININGER team Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I travelled with friends and we stayed here . Was decent and had every essential. In front of metro station which can take you anywhere ! Nice restaurants around the area. Great area In General ! From my experience , quite safe area. Rooms were hot but then again we were 6 in one room. But we cracked a window and all was good. Friendly staff. I wouldn't recommend for a family . Just for a short stay , if you are in a budget , maybe a friends vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Akila,

really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate all kind of feedbacks but espacially the good ones of course. :)

You are right that the rooms in this MEININGER Hotel do not have any air conditioning. Gladly we do not have that many weeks a year where air conditioning actually is necessary. Although we are sorry that the heat did make your stay uncomfortable. We always try to provide a couple fans at the reception.

We hope to welcome you back some time soon.
The MEININGER Team Alexanderplatz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Three of us stayed in a 6 bed dorm here. It was extremely clean and perfect for what we needed it for, there was free wifi access in the room as well as plugs and a light with each bed. The hotel itself was a little more out of the way than we would have liked but easily accessible by metro. There is an excellent free walking tour that leaves from the hotel every morning that I would strongly recommend going on, (although you will need a metro ticket). There are also some lovely small local restaurants round the corner, that were all very reasonable and good food.

Room Tip: Dorms are good size so do not necessarily avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSheffield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello Louise,

Thank you for staying at MEININGER Alexanderplatz and for your kind review.
We are pleased to know that you have had a good time staying with us.
So we hope to welcome you again sometime soon.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Yours,
MEININGER reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We got a room because everywhere in town was sold out (for a football match),So we only stayed one night there.
The Pros: Very close to a Bahn Station, next door to a Biomart, close to many great restaurants. It was clean, it had an Elevator, it was close to a trendy neighborhood.
The Ehs: The Bathrooms were nice, but a little small and the nozzle for the shower was a spring loaded one, so you had to push it down every minute or so.
The Cons: It was a little pricey for a 6 bed room. for two it was 54 Euros, one bed was broken, but was later fixed. The lockers were a little small. The Kitchen was REALLY creepy! It was below ground, it was very tiny and dirty.
I would recommend this hostel if you want to take the chance, but I believe there are better hostels around this part of town. It was not a bad stay, it just wasn't the best stay either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for your stay at MEININGER and that you took your time sending us your review.
All in all we are glad to know that you have had a pretty good stay with us even if you had some complaiments.
We are a low-budget hotel with daily rates. At the time you booked your stay with us our availability was low.
We still hope that you will book at MEININGER again.

Kind regards,
MEININGER reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#386 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#145 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#242 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#113 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing