We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tokyo meets Berlin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sasaya

Sasaya
Ranked #849 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tokyo meets Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The best sushi you will find in Berlin!!! Shall it be the list of all traditional sushis or the starters... It all reminds me of my Tokyo trip. The quality of the fish is undeniable and the rice is well prepared. I wasn't in the mood for dessert but I gave it a shot, this macha cake was an interesting choice. Be sure you make a reservation if you plan to have diner there. Enjoy !!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    22
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was very dissapointed in Sasaya, especially after reading rave reviews on several food blogs. The biggest thing was that the sushi was WARM and the tuna was brown (not red/pink). Maybe I'm spoiled living in the NY metro area, but it just wasn't very good, and it was also very hot inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wordchef56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very disappointing place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

it is one of the worst place been over the last 10 years.. food was very poor just rice with no sign of fish at all,, too goo reviews completely misled us..it was atotal waste of time and money...if this is the sjapanese standard in berlin still a long way to get an acceptable level. very disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank fe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have tried 15-20 sushi restaurants in Berlin and definitely i found mine. Nice portions, delicious rice, fresh fish. All is very very well done. Congratulations

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klaus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only sushi place I found in Berlin that wasn't gross.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I come from Vancouver, Canada which is known for it's fresh fish and authentic sushi restaurants. I knew that when I moved to Berlin that I wasn't going to get the quality of sushi I was used to. I tried 3 different sushi places with terrible results (I received a crab stick nigiri at one of them!), a total waste of money.

I heard about Sasaya from a Canadian friend who said "it's about as close to Vancouver sushi as you'll get", he's right. The fish is fresh and rice is made properly, also a nice ambiance.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoofenshnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sasaya also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Sasaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing