We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Central Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #14 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We visited Berlin the first weekend in December to visit the Christmas Markets. It's in a very central location only about 5 minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie. We travelled from Schonefeld airport via Airport Express getting off at Alexanderplatz which was €2.6 per adult - children free. We could have got the underground but it was late and we had our 4 yr old with us so got a taxi to the hotel for €7. Staff were very welcoming at the front desk and spoke perfect english. They had already emailed me the transport details which was very helpful. The room was immaculate and very modern. We have a 'studio' which comprised one very large room sub-divided into the bedroom which had super kingsize bed - very comfortable with lovely soft pillows and quilt. The other half was a large sitting room and bathroom and also a small kitchenette with full size fridge, 2 ring hob, sink, kettle, cupboards with crockery/cooking equipment etc and microwave. It was perfect for making quick meals. There is a Lidl on the parallel road 2 mins away to buy anything you need. The staff had made up a bed for my son which he said was very 'snuggly'. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. At least 6 cereals, different breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, some bacon and scrambled eggs, apple cake, jams etc etc. Loads of fresh fruit. Loads of different teas to choose from. The hotel is very central, we were only about 5 minutes from the Gendarmenmarkt (excuse spelling) which was fab, particularly at night when the enormous christmas tree was illuminated. The nearest underground was about 3/4 minutes away which we used to go to another market one evening at about €2.60 per adult. You could also walk to Checkpoint Charlie to catch the many city siteseeing buses which went for about €15 per day per adult. On the second morning, I opened our door to find a lovely bag of Christmas chocolate, presumably for our little boy! I just thought that this was a kind gesture but found out upon my return from my Slovakian friend, that it is the St Nicolaus tradition on 6th December to leave chocolate for children who have been good! I thought this was lovely thing for the hotel to do - to make note that guests had a small child with them - very kind indeed.
Our room was apparently the smallest type in the hotel if you can call it small! But you can get 1 and 2 bedroom apartments also which I believe have washing machines/tumble driers etc too. All in all, we were over the moon with the hotel. Very reasonably priced via Travel Republic. The room was fantastic, you could pay for a period of wifi which was I think €7.50 for 12 hours which could be used as and when you required it over your stay. Breakfast great, service great, attention to detail wonderful. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. The Adina group has a number of hotels across the world and Europe and I would very much look at them first. Great stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one overlooking a central courtyard. We live in the countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadChickenWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear MadChickenWoman,
Thank you so much for your tremendous and positive review on Trip Advisor. It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay and found our apartments great and clean. Also your comments about the Team’s friendly and helpful service are well noted and I will make sure this is shared with them. It is a great acknowledgement for their hard and dedicated work every day!
We are looking forward to welcome you back again upon your next trip to Berlin an we wish you a Happy New Year!
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,484 - 1,490 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for 3 nights in december and overall this hotel was brilliant.. it is walking distance to most of the main sites of Berlin (brandenburg gate, museum island etc) even in the cold we pretty much walked everywhere as it wasnt too far.

This is definitely worth anyone's time staying here, the pool was great for morning swims and there is also a sauna and whirlpool. The food in the restaurant was nice and also the cocktails during happy hour was fun.

The room was very nice and very comfortable with a nice bath/shower big bed etc.

The downsides of the hotel was that the wi-fi was free in the lobby (you have to collect codes from the desk every hour) however for 2013 a hotel of this quality should have free wi-fi throughout the hotel even in your room. if you want wi-fi in your room it costs 3.50 euro for 3 hours.

Also the breakfast is very expensive (15 euros if you let them know the day before), we just left the breakfast and went out instead for it. (hence the low score on breakfast for me.)

Other than these two things it did not really effect our stay that much and it is still a very good hotel and i would use them again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Gary S,
My Team and I were delighted to read your Trip Advisor feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you found the apartment convenient with plenty space but also enjoyed the facilities like the kitchen, gym and pool. Our location is second to none and I am thrilled that this aided to an enjoyable stay with us. Once again Gary S, thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the time taken. We are looking forward welcoming you back again upon your next visit to Berlin.
Warm regards and HappyNew Year,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the end of November and had a great time. The location is a few minute walk from Checkpoint Charlie and very easily walkable to many other tourist sites and shops.
The staff at reception were so friendly and helpful, offering maps and restaurant recommendations. Our Apartment was spotlessly clean and cleaned daily to a high standard.
We stayed with 2 children, they had a room and so did we and the comfort and convenience was great. The apartment is well equipped with a full size fridge, cooking facilities, microwave, dishwasher and plenty of glasses and cookware.
The swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna were always clean and great after a long day walking round the city.
The restaurant offers a variety of different meals, and a children's menu but we didn't have chance to sample any.
I highly recommend this place , particularly for families.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank SJJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear SJJG,
The Team and I were delighted reading your Trip Advisor posting and that you found the hotel the perfect place for a „Great family stay“.
It is great you took advantage of the combination of price, location and facility and that this met your expectations in all areas. Especially our One- and Two Bedroom Apartments with fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilites are perfect for families. The special mention to the Team is a great acknowledgement of their work and dedication to make each guests stay enjoyable and memorable. It is the little things such as a smile and providing tourist information that can make a difference!
Thank you once again for your candid and kind review and the Team and I are looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Berlin.
Best regards and Happy New Year,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My daughter and I saw this Hotel on trip advisor it had great reviews and we were not disappointed The Hotel was spotless .We were there for four nights bed and breakfast The breakfast was great scrambled egg bacon sausage pancakes smoked salmon and all the usual cheeses cold meats fruit juices tea coffee etc. The sheets were changed after two nights and towels every day. The beds were comfortable and the rooms warm and very quiet All staff were excellent and could not be more helpful The Hotel is easy to get to with public transport and is central for sightseeing restaurants and shopping. The morning we came home a cellophane bag with a large chocolate Santa and choc baubles were left at our door I thought that it was a lovely touch. If I ever go back it will certainly be to that Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear meganWarwickshire,
Thank you so much for taking the time and posting a Trip Advisor Review. The Team and I are thrilled with your positive feedback and we are happy to read that we could exceed your expectations not only with our breakfast buffet, but as well with the location and amenities of the hotel. Thank you for mentioning our Christmas treat – I will pass your regards onto Santa!
The team and I are looking forward seeing you again in the near future and we are always happy to assist with your next booking request directly.
All the best for 2014,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Enjoyed this hotel so much we have visited twice. Great service, spacious and fashionable rooms with a relaxing bar. Location is close to U-Bahn station, with a good choice of restaurants nearby. Will likely visit a third time.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear NH1987,
Thank you so much for taking the time and posting a Trip Advisor Review. The Team and I are thrilled with your positive feedback! Our return guests are a good measurement of satisfaction to our services and product. We are looking forward seeing you again in the near future and we wish you all the best for 2014!
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel was very stylish & comfortable. Apartment spotless with quality fittings including washing machine & dryer! Great to have if necessary. Free wifi available, staff always pleasant & helpful, housekeeping faultless.
Also great pool/sauna/Jacuzzi/gym facility
As others have already mentioned, Lidl & bakery across the road.
Spittlemarkt tube station only 5 mins walk away, the underground is easy to understand.
All the central sites are walkable distance providing you are reasonably fit.
After seeing several Christmas markets we felt the best was easiest the Gendarmenmarkt which is also the closest to the hotel & only few minutes walk away.
On the day we checked out, Father Xmas had left us chocolate outside our room! Such a fab & sweet gesture. Thankyou x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowchickawowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear bowchickawowow,
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave such a positive comment on Trip Advisor along with your top rating. We are happy that you enjoyed your Apartment with its facilities, the location as well as our leisure facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, perhaps next year for Christmas….Pretty sure Santa will be around again!
Best wishes from the entire team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and we wish you a Happy New Year!
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

You won't find a friendlier well located hotel in Berlin for that weekend break. The rooms are very comfortable , staff very helpful and the hotel has a pool and a spa for the guests, what more could you want after a days sightseeing

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kincora105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear kincora10 ...,
Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie. I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. I can assure you that your very nice feedback will be shared among the team shortly. We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again and we wish you a happy and successful New Year. Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,888 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,320 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
841 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £82 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing