We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #14 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My son and I stayed here for two nights in January. We had booked a studio but were upgarded to a one bedroom apartment on arrival. Wow - apartment was huge. Separate bedroom, good sized lounge, dining and study area. Great bathroom with fabulous water pressure in shower plus a washer and dryer concealed (godsend for travelling). Kitchen area was also good. Only ate breakfast in the room.

Beds were comfy and room was quiet and dark - important if you want to sleep in! They came straight up and separated the king bed for us as we had asked for twin beds.

Hotel staff were all really nice and helpful.

Hotel location is great. Its close to Check Point Charlie, a couple of train stations, a Lidl supermarket is across a parking lot and you can walk 10 minutes or so to a selection of restaurants.

There's an open fireplace near reception which was nice in winter.

Hotel ordered us a taxi to Berlin Hbf (main train station) which cost less than 10euro as we were running late for our train to Munich.

When you are out and about remember that most places dont take a normal credit card - its cash or an EC card (german debit card i think).

Would stay again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the central courtyard was nice. There was building work going on next door - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandB-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear SandB-Syd,
Thank you very much for your splendid comment. It is a pleasure to read that you and your son had a great time in Berlin and that we assisted in making your stay a very memorable one – not only because of our friendly team, but also because of our location and our spacious apartments. We do hope to welcome you back soon and we wish you all the best!
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent customer service. Comfortable rooms and beds. I cannot fault the effort put in by the staff. From the manager to the room cleaners. Always very polite and helpful. Claudia the general manager especially deserves a mention.
See you again next year!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank PeteA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Pete,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback! It was a pleasure to welcoming you back in Berlin and to read you had another fantastic stay. The entire team is already looking forward to your next stay! Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your next booking inquiry. Pleasure to be at your service!
Take care and all the best,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here from Monday 27th January to Friday 31st January 2014, The hotel is well located and presented and the staff are so helpful. Used the bar once, Staff were freindly and made use of the happy hour from 17.00 to 19.00hrs.
Did not use the swimming pool or other faclitites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Darren,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you soon back at Adina Checkpoint Charlie. All the best,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked this hotel for a city break for me, my other half and our two year old. I chose this hotel as the rooms are small apartments, with kitchen facilities and a separate bedroom, which is pretty much essential if you're travelling with kids.
I was really pleased with my choice! The staff were so helpful and friendly, clearing up my reservation mix up easily by email before we arrived. They were keen to help us with restaurant recommendations (all of which were fantastic) and the entire stay was completely hassle free. The room was lovely, spacious, clean, and perfect for us. But the best thing about this hotel is the breakfast. I much admit I am fairly easily pleased when it comes to food but this was a truly fabulous breakfast buffet. The freshly made Bircher was fab! And one of the few places in Berlin that seem to serve fresh fruit!
The location was really central, walking distance to most of the main attractions, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle that it didn't feel loud and busy.
Overall, a really fantastic place to stay at a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay again.
The only little problem was the aircon wasn't working. As it was -3 it didn't matter because we just opened the windows! But if it had been warmer the lack of a/c would definitely have been an issue. That said, we didn't raise it with reception as we didn't really need it so there may have been a simple fix!

Room Tip: We had a studio room and it was easily big enough for the three of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Loise W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued review. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the spacious and fully equipped Apartments which we offer and which are very handy when travelling with children. Also, it was tremendous to read your comments about the helpfulness of the Team and the quality of our breakfast. This is a superb acknowledgement for the high level of guest services and I will share your comment in the next hotels Team meeting. On behalf of the team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie in the near future!
Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were upgraded upon arrival from a deluxe studio to a 1 bedroom. Wow! The kitchen was spanking new and well equipped. The living room area included a nice table at which to eat our leisurely breakfast as well as couch and desk (and places for our family to sit when we ended up back at the hotel/apartment). The bedroom was quiet (with the windows closed--it did look down on an outdoor seating area where some guests had a loud conversation after 1 AM the first night). The food and drink in the restaurant were excellent! We had their breakfast the first day and it was scrumptious. It was walking distance to great shopping, supermarket, drugstore, and restaurants. Oh, and the bathroom had both a tub (I love baths) and washer and dryer. This is a jewel!

Room Tip: It looked to me that all the rooms look into the courtyard. In the summer, this might be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachOrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear CoachOrem,
Thank you so much for your tremendous and positive review on Trip Advisor. It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay and that you rate us “the best place we´ve stayed”! I will share your fantastic feedback regarding our rooms and our restaurant with the entire team. It is a great acknowledgement for their hard and dedicated work every day.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again upon your next trip to Berlin.
Take care and all the best,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've long been of the opinion that an apartment/hotel is the best accommodation for city breaks in Europe as they give space and flexibility. The Adina certainly ticks all the boxes. The location is superb, the rooms are large and extremely well fitted out, the staff are brilliant, the restaurant/bar is cosy and the pool is just what is needed after a long days walking. The cost is comparable to an ordinary hotel room but gives you so much more. Highly recommend The Adina.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Euromano,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. The Adina apartment concept is to provide our valued guests a “home away from home” by offering space and leisure facilities combined with full service – simply to provide more value for money. Perhaps you will visit one of our lovely other Adina properties around Australia, New Zealand and Europe one day! Thank you once again for your feedback and warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is very well designed and the staff is helpful and friendly. The public areas are pleasant and comfortable. The pool, sauna, and exercise facilities are excellent. Lighting in the rooms is good, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchenettes are a great convenience. We stayed in a studio room, which was perfect for two. The materials and interior design are well thought out. All in all, an excellent stay and a good value.
That said, a few criticisms: though the hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, it charges a ludicrously high daily rate for in-room wifi. Most hotels in this category now offer free wifi throughout. Our room was beginning to show a little wear and tear - some marks on the walls, the shower doors did not close completely, chips in the plaster, bathroom door needed to be locked to stay closed. These are minor maintenance issues and didn't affect our stay or our enjoyment of the hotel, but they're the kinds of things that should be addressed pre-emptively by management.
Last, while the location of the hotel is reasonably convenient, it's not ideal. The good thing is that there are two U-bahn stops within about ten minutes walk and there's a supermarket one block away. However, there are few restaurants close by and the immediate surroundings are mostly a combination of office blocks, high-rise apartments, and construction sites, with little of interest close to the hotel. As long as guests accept that they will need to walk a little bit to get to public transportation, shopping, restaurants, or sightseeing, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Senrap,
Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. The team and I are delighted that we could provide you with the perfect setting for your Berlin visit. I totally agree that the minor maintenance issues need to be addressed pre- emptively and we do communicate on a daily basis with the housekeeping company and by checking rooms ourselves. Unfortunately little issues can not be prevented, this is why we appreciate our guest´s help by providing us highly valued feedback like yours. Thank you! If you would like discuss any aspects of your stay in more detail you are welcome to contact me anytime on canderle@adina.eu
Hope to see you soon back, warm regards
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,891 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,322 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 635 in Berlin
841 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £83 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing