We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel for family if four!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #14 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Lommedalen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel for family if four!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

After rather miserable hotels in Hirtshals and Flensburg, it was really pleasant to arrive at Adina, after a long drive, to find a new, modern, spacious room very suitable for the four of us and to go for a refreshing swim in the hotel pool. They even had a parking spot reserved for us in the hotel garage.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank snorreeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear snorreeide,
thank you very much for sharing your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that we could „spoil“ you and your family after your negative experiences in other destinations. Especially children love our pool and the spacious apartment truly feels like a „home away from home“. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon back in Berlin or in one of our other destinations in Europe, Australia and New Zealand.
Take care, all the best!
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    814
    96
    9
    14
See reviews for
741
1,212
79
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Considering this is suppose to be a 4 star hotel it was such a let down. ... Firstly travelling with two kids to get to reception after long train trip and not be helped with baggage and basically pointed to your room... This is not 4 star service. We we're put up on the 5th floor where we had a not so nice view of a construction site going on next door! hotel it's self is not in a nice area, it's down a horrible road with what look like commission flats. The room itself though was clean and big, we had a 2 bedroom apartment. Also overall The staff weren't overly friendly at the restaurant either. I believe if we had stayed somewhere else our experience would have been a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibezama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Nibezama,
thank you very much for your feedback here on Tripadvisor and your appreciation of the spacious rooms. I am sorry to read that there were a few aspects which did not meet your expectations. Did you try to contact me during your stay? I would have loved to help you with moving to another room facing the lovely inner courtyard. For many other guests our location is perfect and we are normally praised for the high level of guest service we deliver. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail – we are always very keen on ideas for improvement – please contact me directly at the hotel or via Email canderle@adina.eu.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As the taxi dropped us off, I sheepishly said to my wife: "oh, we're next to a building site." Any apprehension was soon dispelled by the easy check in and, even more so, by the room: spacious; light; clean; separate bed and bath rooms, and an array of useful equipment. It is an apartment hotel, and if you want to self cater, this would be an ideal choice - Lidl is literally over the road! Moreover, even the building site delivered, as we were entertained in the evening by a family of hares!

As long as you aren't desperately seeking "hipness", the hotel is ideally located: quiet, safe neighbourhood, in walking distance of such things as: the Brandenburg Gate; Potsdamer Platz; and the shops, bars and restaurants of Unter den Linden and Friedrichstrasse. If walking is not for you, or you desire some of the more distant delights of Berlin, then the Ubahn stations and buses are close by. Speaking of which, I would strongly recommend the purchase of an appropriate "Berlin Welcome Card": we utilised ours right to the end, by returning "free" to Tegel airport by Ubahn and bus.

Most of the day, we were out of the hotel, but what we demanded of it, it delivered: good night's sleep; excellent shower etc, and space to relax in the evening. It also has a nice, if cool, swimming pool, and the fitness room looked impressively equipped. I wasn't over the moon at €19 for a breakfast, but we used it frequently, in the end, and found it to be really good value, and there are concessions for children. Our only real complaint would be having to pay for wifi, especially as we couldn't get the free access in the lobby area to work, and we didn't seem to be the only ones experiencing problems.

Ultimately, however, Berlin is a great place to visit, and if we manage to come back, I'd have no qualms about staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, better avoid rooms looking out westwards, because there' s a buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Anthony s,
Thank you for your time and Trip Advisor posting in relation to your recent stay with us.
I was very happy to read that you found the apartment clean, accommodated with proper appliances and in particular enjoyed the very central location of the hotel!
We are an apartment hotel style accommodation and cater to both long or short stays and we always try to provide a “home away from home” experience. Our fully equipped apartments are perfect for self-catering, but as you have mentioned our restaurant is worth a try!
Dear Anthony s, we are looking forward welcoming you and your family back upon your next trip to Berlin and are always happy to answer any questions or assist with your next booking inquiry.

Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I'll start with the positive: The rooms were nice and very spacious. My boyfriend and I received a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom apartment and definitely enjoyed the space. The bathroom was large, there was a small kitchenette, a living room area, and a bedroom. The whole hotel felt updated and clean.

Unfortunately there were a few things that annoyed us enough that we likely wouldn't stay here again (but they might not annoy other people):
- We found the location to be mediocre. There are 2 U-Bahn stations within easy walking distance, but the neighborhood itself is totally boring -- not the exciting and "hip" Berlin that we had heard so much about. It felt very stark. We only found one decent restaurant (an Italian place 2 blocks west). Because Checkpoint Charlie is so close, most of the other restaurants were overly touristy.
- The Internet is only free in the lobby, and you have to get a new code every hour because it signs you out. With a chain hotel this big, the wifi should totally be free throughout the hotel.
- The evening we arrived was the night Germany first played in the World Cup. We asked the lady behind the front desk for a recommendation of where to go watch, and she sent us to a neighborhood with literally zero bars or places to watch the game. We ended up wandering aimlessly and missed the first part of the game. Not good for a soccer fan!

If you're looking for a place with lots of space in the rooms and don't really care about a boring neighborhood, then this hotel would be fine. For us, however, it was not the right choice.

P.S. There is serious construction going on next to the hotel - ask for a room that overlooks the inner courtyard so you won't hear the noise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard because it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Savanna K,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed our apartment style concept and thank you for mentioning the well appointed and maintained public areas. To find the perfect location in a big city like Berlin is not easy. For many guests our location is perfect with it´s close proximity to Checkpoint Charlie, Gendarmenmarkt, Potsdamer Platz and Alexanderplatz. But if you are after a „hip and buzzling“ location, we may not be the right choice. Savanna K, I do again apologize for any inconvenience caused as we pride ourselves for delivering a memorable experience. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A comfortable apartment with a pleasant garden, bar and restaurant to enjoy. Convenient location for Museum Island and other tourist attractions. The English-speaking staff all extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a 'superior' apartment with a spacious lounge and a second tv in the bedroom. A spacious bathroom, and a supermarket very close by. We would go back to this hotel and try others in the Adina hotel group.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as we did and we were given a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear claire913,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel & Team welcoming and efficient. I will make sure this is shared with the Team as I am confident they will be happy to be acknowledged in your review. Thank you again for your positive feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you again upon your next visit to Berlin.
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here with our two children, aged 4,5 and 1,5. The room we got was really a big apartment, with separate bedroom and living room and a long hall way. There was a washing machine, dish washer and everything you needed to cook your own meals. The staff is lovely and helpful. We had forgotten tooth paste and needed washing powder and could easily get some at the reception. Our youngest daughter got rather ill one day and after we had talked to the hotel staff, the local doctor showed up 20 minutes later! This was probably one of the things that impressed me most by the hotel.

The breakfast buffet is good and so is the restaurant in the evenings. The only complaint I have about Adina is the temperature in the swimming pools - the water is very cool...!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GladaAnkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear GladaAnkan,
thank you so much for your fantastic review! We love to welcome families and our fully equipped apartments offer enough space for all family members. Most of all I would like to thank you for mentioning our superb team – we are all happy to read that we could help you when your little one got sick. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and we wish you all the best.
Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Adina Checkpoint Charlie is in a great location, very close to 2 ubahn stations but also many of the best shops and historic sites are within walking distance.

The apartments are spacious with nice decor; well equipped and very quiet - although I had a courtyard facing apartment. I had breakfast and this was very good with a wide range of food and all good quality.

The staff were very hospitable and friendly.

Wireless internet was included in the deal I booked however I would have been disappointed if I had to pay for it, €14.50 for 24 hours for one code is really poor and they should stop charging for it - it's 2014!

However what a great property! Add free internet and it would be the best!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear dotcom,
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay with us. It was great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback about our rooms, our team and our restaurant. Regarding the internet charge it is important to know that the internet time is only counted when you are connected to the WiFi. As soon as you log off, the time stops. Combined with a high bandwith, our internet charge is fairly reasonable and competitive. Thank you again for your great feedback and upon your next visit from the UK we would be looking forward welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,129 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing