We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for quality + location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #13 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Only one complaint - all the communal areas including
bar + reception tainted by smell of old cooking
oil. This stopped me using the bar or restaurant
as it's a smell that clings to clothes,hair etc +
I am here on business.

Other than that, agree with all the positive
points covered by the other reviews. Fully-equipped
apartments plus hotel facilities - best of both
worlds.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limehouse_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 3,067 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed for a weekend break in Berlin, and were very impressed. We booked two rooms, and both were very large and well equipped - two(!) TVs, kettle, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine - you get the gist! The whole hotel is tastefully furnished, and is all very modern, as you would expect from a hotel opened in 2007. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well stocked, if a little busy at peak times, and the restaurant served good, well-priced food - I can recommend the kangaroo steak!

Location-wise, it's fairly good - Unter den Linden is a 10 minute walk, Brandenburg Gate 20 minutes walk, and Checkpoint Charlie 7 minutes. Despite being not far from the main attractions, the street outside is quiet, and from our 5th floor rooms, it was totally quiet during the night.

Overall, the hotel is great and there was nothing at fault during our stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Berlin - both tourists and businessmen.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mediterraneanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend for my birthday.
The location is absolutely great - close to everything (we like to walk).
The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English.
The rooms are huge - it's basically an apartment. 2 Flatscreen tv's - one in the living area and 1 in the bedroom. One evening we were really tired and decided to stay in. We purchased the E18 movie option where you can watch any of the available movies from 12pm to 12pm (24 hours). They have great new releases available for you to watch and once purchased you can watch different movies in the living area and bedroom which I assume would be great for parents with kids or if you have different tastes in movies.

Good sized bathroom and small kitchenette with everything. The linen was crispy white and beds also firm. I did see a stain on one of the scatter cushions.

We didn't have breakfast or drinks at the hotel but did have a coke and beer from the mini-bar which I thought was very expensive. Go to one of the shops nearby and buy your drinks there in stead.

We bought the city/travel pass for 3 days which included any travel on trains/ tubes/ buses in zone A,B and C. We took an overground/main line train from the airport which takes about 20-25 mins to the city centre. It is definitely worth your while to go to the Information desk at the Airport and buy your travel card and city tourist pass for the duration of your stay. They will give you the little red book with loads of information on all the sites and you will get discount on most attractions. They will also tell you how to get to the city centre in the shortest time.

The Berlin tourist bus tour is definitely recommended - we got 5Euros discount pp with the little red book. We also did a boat trip which was enjoyable as it was very warm that weekend and we relaxed on the boat with a nice cold beer.

All in all Berlin is a fantastic city and this hotel was a great find! We'll be going back to this hotel as there's so much more to see and do in Berlin.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhr035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My friend and i stayed at this hotel for 5 days and we had a great time! the location was great, the room was fantastic and the stuff were very friendy. most recomended!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Dont think I can find anything bad to say about this hotel. For a very good price we stayed in surprisingly large rooms, we had one double room and one triple room. The triple room was a small apartment, very large rooms and above 4 metres beneath the roof.
The interior, design and art in the hotel main areas are very nice. The hotel is almost brand new and even got a great swimming pool and jacuzzi in the basement. The hot buffet breakfast was also very good. And with only 400 metres to friedrichsstrasse, this was a perfect stay for us.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank from_oslo_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Having read earlier reviews of Adina Apartments I was a bit skeptical but it is all true. The reception staff is first class and friendly.
I'm not planning to repeat everything that other reviewers have written. This hotel is a find.
We searched for one downside. At a push it might be the location - not that it is a bad location but some ten minutes walk from the nearest U-Bahn often felt like a marathon after a day sight-seeing and we did a lot of taking taxis which at €5 a shot (seems to be the minimum in Berlin) added an un-budgeted extra. It would be wonderful to have a hotel shuttle to the nearest underground station but that's probably asking too much.
Would we book again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and wished other hotels were set up like Adina. It was our first time in Berlin and we had only 3 days to cover as many attractions as possible. At Tegel airport, we went to a tourist info booth on the right side (we didn't realized there was another info booth on the left side as you leave for the bus stops) and asked for directions to Adina and bought a 3-day Berlin card that included discount attractions and free public transportation. We took the express airport bus X9 just outside the aiport exit on the left as you leave the arrival terminal. Then took Zoologischer Garten metro station No. 2 (red) towards Pankow and got off at Spittlemarkt. Walked for 2.5 blocks to Adina. Adina is located between two metro stations Stadmitte and Spittlemarkt which made getting around so easy. Spittlemarkt being closer and quieter, less busy station. There are 4 food stores nearby, closest (2 minute walk) and biggest one being Rossman (cross the street and walk thru parking lot to get there). While walking to Checkpoint Charlie, we ran into ECity store where we bought drinks. There are many restaurants nearby too. On our first day, we arrived at 5:30pm and managed to walk to Checkpoint Charlie, Berlin wall, topography of terror (under construction), Hitler's Bunker, and Sony center. We had dinner at ~7:30pm. Then we went back to Adina for our jackets b/c it was getting colder at night and took Spittlemarkt metro to Brandenburger Tor so we could take pictures of the gate when it was all lit up. By the time we got back it was, ~9:30pm. That's how convenient Adina is located.

This apartment hotel is set up just like it says...like an apartment. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a larger room, making the staff cool. It has a separate area for eating and cooking. There's a kitchen with microwave, stovetop burner and baking, dishwasher, sink and large mini fridge with freezer. There's a living room with full size couch, stereo, DVD player and flat screen TV. There's a small balcony with a chair and table. Our room was located in a quiet decent side street. The hotel is in a very safe area. We walked back close to midnight and had no problems. At night it's quiet and we even left the bedroom window opened while sleeping. The A/C was not strong. We had it on high all day yet it was still warm. The bathroom was a good size as my husband and I got ready together each day. What we came to love best about this place is the washer/dryer and the delicious buffet breakfast started early at 6:30am. We did our laundry on the last night and had clean dry clothes for our next city. The scrumpious and wide selection of food kept us full well past lunch. Free internet computers in the lobby. We checked out early Saturday morning for a 9:45am flight not knowing breakfast on weekends started at 7:30am. So our last morning we went w/o breakfast. In the future, we will look for other Adina hotels in other countries as we travel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,939 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
554 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £78 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing