We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay location, but great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #14 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay location, but great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

I went to Berlin with my boyfriend to scope out the city for a potential job offer that I had. I had never been to Germany before, much less Berlin, and decided to stay in the part of the city known as Mitte - which is pretty much the center of town. Upon first glance, this hotel is located in a somewhat dodgy looking area (we arrived on a dreary rain soaked and incredibly windy day in February) but after wandering around a bit we discovered it was a quick walk to the UBahn (Subway) - about 5 minutes to the U2 or U6 line, and that it is also right near one of the big shopping streets, Freidrichstrasse (only about 5 minutes til you hit the street.) So while it seemed at first not to have too much around, it was not so far away from some more lively places.

The hotel itself was beautiful. For about $130 a night we stayed in a HUGE room with a king sized bed and plenty of space to walk. The bathroom has a nice heated towel rack and a big tub, (I took a bath, which was great!) There was plenty of room for us both, and the little kitchenette was nice for storing some snacks and beer. I was disappointed there was no free internet in the room, or WiFi in the lobby - but they did have a computer for guests use 24/7. (I still think free WiFi in the lobby would be better, but did use the lobby computer more than a few times to look up directions or addresses, etc.)

We also used the pool/jacuzzi facilities. The pool is rather small, but functional for swimming laps, and also a really nice touch in the middle of a city to have an indoor pool! The jacuzzi, again, was relatively small (I was in there with 3-4 strangers and there weren't enough hot bubbles to make the fact you were bathing with random people less obvious...) but it was nice to have as well. Then we were able to use the dry sauna which hit about 90 C (194 F) so it is not for the faint of heart! Again, it was so relaxing to sit in there after a long day of walking around. And the gym equipment, which I did not use, looked brand new and in really good condition.

We had only one incident while staying at the hotel, which was infuriating to me, but the hotel did make up for it as quickly as possible. We had the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door to which I heard knocking on the door at 9:30 on Sunday morning and then heard the handle turn and the door open. I had to run up to the door to slam it shut before putting on a towel and checking to see who it was, "Housekeeping". I yelled that we had the Do Not Disturb Sign on the door for a reason and he apologized and quickly left. I told the front desk what happened and they were apologetic and when we came home later that night they had left us a bowl of fruit and two drink vouchers offering their apologies for the incident. This is does not affect my thoughts on the hotel, but I do think they might want to consider adding an additional lock that only the guest inside the room is able to open, because I felt uneasy that the do not disturb was not being respected by all staff, even when we were out of the room.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel and were happy to come home and relax after a long day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    789
    95
    9
    13
See reviews for
710
1,181
76
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

My girlfiend and I have just returned from a 3 night city break staying at the Adina Checkpoint Charlie Hotel.
Upon arrival we couldn't help but admire the cleanliness of the building and its overall appearance.
The reception staff, willing, friendly with a real 'go-the-extra-mile' attitude.
Refreshing to say the least.
We were rewarded with a free room upgrade after stating it was our first trip to Berlin and our first stay at an Adina Hotel. Nice.
Suffice to say everything about the stay was brilliant.
Food, staff, swimming pool, sauna, the rooms. We simplty couldn't fault the Adina.
Weirdly whilst in the Sauna (wearing shorts and my girlfiend bikini) we were joined by a native German completely naked!
Good grief!
Now we're not sure if this is normal in a mixed sex sauna but it was extremely off putting.
Said gentleman then lay down his towel next to us and lay upon it with everything on display.
Feeling slightly weird we left pronto.
I should have enquired at the hotel desk if this was 'normal' perhaps someone can enlighten us?
As a pair of level-headed 30 something we laughed out loud after the event.
But still, had it been just my girlffriend in there or any single female for that matter they probably wouldn't want to be joined by a male naked stranger, bits a'flapping!
Anyway we loved the Adina Checkpoint Charlie hotel, just remember to be extra friendly at the reception desk to gain a free room upgrade!

: )

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Row_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

My wife and I were visiting Berlin for the first time, accompanied by our (adult) daughter. Accordingly, we had booked a 2-bedroom apartment at the Adina at Checkpoint Charlie for four nights through Hotels.com. On arrival we found the hotel had no record of our reservation and they did not have an empty 2-bedroom apartment. But no problem ... they happily gave us 2 x one bedroom apartments adjacent to each other, which proved to be even more comfortable for the three of us than the 2-bedder would have been. Nor were they fussed about the lack of (pre-paid) booking: "Don't worry, we'll sort it out with Hotels.com.". Which they did! I must congratulate the staff for being so obliging.
The hotel is in a good location ... walking distance to many of the sights and with easy access to the U-bahn.
And for Aussies like us ... the hotel is Australian owned ... there are photos of Sydney and aboriginal art on the walls and plenty of Aussie wine in the restaurant.
If we ever go back to Berlin we will head straight back to the Adina.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malachite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

The Adina hotel at checkpoint charlie is all you need. a great hotel in a very good location.
just couple of minuteד from the U station, and all the buses u need. the room is amazing. you got inside all you need for a very comfortable staying.
the location is also close to the main streets, but its located in a quiet street in a good neighborhood.
we will be happy to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at the Adina Checkpoint Charlie for 3 nights in a 2-bedroom apartment. The Adina is set up as a hotel (with lobby, restaurant and reception) but the rooms are like apartments with a kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, and in our case, 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. This arrangement is great for families wanting the best of both worlds. On the plus side, the rooms are modern, comfortable and spacious. There is a small indoor pool in the basement (also an exercise room, sauna and lukewarm jacuzzi). The location is very good...there is a metro station about a 3-minute walk away and it is also a very short walk to the Brandenburg Gate and Unter der Linden. An adequate if not overly impressive breakfast buffet is offered for 15 Euros/person. The hotel staff was (eventually) accommodating, if not particularly warm. And now for the minuses...speaking of warmth, the first apartment we were given had no working central heating, which we only discovered after unpacking the first night. We were initially told by the hotel employee sent up to check on the heat that it should come on in awhile and to be patient. When this didn't occur, we called the front desk again and were told that a space heater could be brought up and maintenance would look into the problem in the morning but that there were no other rooms to move us into at the moment. Since there was already a space heater sitting in the hallway of the apartment, it seemed like management was probably aware of this problem already. The temps were in the teens and it was obvious to us that a space heater wasn't going to be adequate to heat 2 bedrooms. it took another phone call (in which we had to voice our displeasure with the situation more forcefully) to get our room switched to another (which was identical to the one we were leaving except the central heat worked). We were brought the new keys, but there was no offer to help move our bags to the new room or any apology for the inconvenience. We also learned that the wifi service, which cost 15 Euros/Day, only covered one connection per room, so a family like ours with 3 laptops between us (I know, excessive perhaps but we were traveling with a 20 and 17-year old) had to share online time. The other hotels we stayed in during this trip offered free wifi with no limitations. So the bottom line here is that I would recommend the Adina to a family or group of travelers looking for that hard-to-find combination apartment/hotel in a very good Berlin location. BUT, I also feel the Adina could provide better service and amentiies to its guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

Spacious and clean hotel, close to three supermarkets, main drag at Friedrichstrasse, 20min walk from Museum Island and close to bus/train. Staff were polite and helpful, offering an instant upgrade to a 1 bedroom apartment on arrival. Also very helpful whilst we were stuck there during the pre-Christmas snow lock-down enroute to London. The 1 bedroom apartments are large and comfortable with fridge and dishwasher, washer/dryer and all cooking utensils.
The free internet access on the lobby computer could be improved. The 60min limit for each user made it a bit awkward for making bookings etc, especially when teenage Facebookers were online. A 20min limit per user would perhaps be more appropriate, so that Facebooking, travel and business email could all be achieved without too much waiting. Another thing that could be improved is the pool area which had coin-operated lockers (this was inconvenient) and had a very limited number of towels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
193 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

stayed for 8 nights over new year with husband and 2 12 yo children. lovely 2 bd apartment with 2 bathrooms, well equipped kitchen. took cab from tegel about 20-30 mins depending on traffic and snow! quiet side road in mainly residential area but v close to leipzig strasse. we walked nearly everywhere - it is pretty central for most things and a very safe area. there is an adil's round the corner for groceries and a movenpick wine shop on the other side of leipzig strasse for a good wine selection. ate once in hotel which was ok but with so many good restaurants in easy walking distance would go elsewhere. only criticism would be tv channel choice for english speakers is a bit rubbish so a dvd player in the room would help and free wifi though there is free access form the computr in reception..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing