We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takjik Tea Ceremony”

Tadschikische Teestube
Ranked #1,310 of 8,598 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: US$15 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mitte
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Takjik Tea Ceremony”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This present to the former GDR given by Tajikistan is now located in a court yard in Oranienburger Straße. It is very cozy and unusual. You sit on cushiony pillows and enjoy different types of teas, cakes, and little snacks. It's an experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ballykissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“kick off your shoes!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

...and sit down on cushions like a pasha for a great cup of tea! My tip is the Russian smoke tea and a smoked salmon toast...but that's maybe not your cup of tea? There are loads to choose from...and they even have fairy tale telling evenings!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hechtel-Eksel, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful tea room”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

For our 4 o' clock break we went to the Tadschikische Teestube and ordered a Russian Tea ceremony. I didn't know what to expect, but we were served with a bunch of sweets, biscuits, a big beautiful looking pot of hot water and concentrated black tea. The waitress explained to us what we were supposed to do.

We were able to drink 4 cups of tea and eat out fill of sweets for very little money. When we left, we were really full and satisfied. It was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special place, very nice teas!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

At -12, it wasn't much fun to find out the place had moved to a courtyard on Oranienburger Strasse. The teas were nice, interior interesting and the soup good. Not expensive either. Waiter seemed fairly disinterested tho.

Helpful?
Thank Floor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo - egypt
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Refreshing after a long sightseeing day”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The tearoom was built as a Tajikistan pavilion at one of the Leipzig trade fairs in the 1970s. After the trade fair ended, the pavilion was donated by the Soviet Republic of Tajikistan to their East German hosts. The pavilion then moved to the first floor of Berlin's Palais am Festungsgraben.
The tearoom's lush interior is decorated entirely in a classical Persian style, with carved wooden pillars and thick Persian carpets. Tea and food are served on low wooden tables which are typical of central Asia. Guests sit on the floor, stretched out on comfortable cushions, and visitors are required to take their shoes off before stepping onto the carpet.
We went for the famous tea and we ordered the Russian tea ceremony with orange juice which was great with the snacks and jam. I think it is a must-be-done for Berlin visitors, very original, cosy, refreshing after or in the middle of a long sightseeing day, and the most important DELICIOUS. It is in the Oranienburger strasse famous for the Jewish Synagogue (Neue Synagogue) with its golden dome, after the synagogue on your left you will find a short passage leading to the Tadschikische Teestube.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amreltouny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tadschikische Teestube also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Tadschikische Teestube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing