We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent -- May 2013 -- but is also the same as Bandol sur Mer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bandol

Bandol
Ranked #2,905 of 8,236 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: European, French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent -- May 2013 -- but is also the same as Bandol sur Mer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I think both restaurants Bandol and Bandol sur Mer, although they have different listings on TRIpadvisorare the same place. We ate a la carte, and had absolutely marvelous wine suggestions from the server, truly a sommelier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auditorgeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Bandol-sur-mer is a cool, small, kind of gourmet restaurant, with only 16 chairs. You have to make a reservation. The staff were very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. We all had the five course set menu at 69 euros, with accompanying wine 39 euros. While the first courses were good, they didn't blow your mind, but the last three courses were excellent. I would definitely go back here sometime. The restaurant has two seatings, 18-21 and 21 onwards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank audunbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“My first fine dining experience in Berlin will be hard to beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This restaurant is a favourite of my daughter so when I visited she wanted to share it with me.
Service-I am surprised at some of the reviews as I found the service from "the bloke" was exceptional. The menu was explained clearly, his manner was friendly and he was exceptionally knowledgeable about the wines.
Food was brilliant. The portions were smallish but when having 4 courses I don't want a huge serve. Quality rather than quality. I have not found the portion size smaller than the ones in better restaurants in Melbourne. The matching wines were perfect but they also were flexible to account for personal tastes.
I found the value good. For the quality, €84 for predinner champagne, four courses and 4 wines would be hard to match in Australia. I loved it and would go back in a minute.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleAnnLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An essential stop in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

After four visits over three years to this tiny quirky restaurant the food only gets better, yes it has a certain industrial unfinished look to it, but the food is amazing, having eaten at many Michelin restaurants this really should be in the list, but hey if that we're the case you would never get a table. The service when we visited was excellent, our German is not but the staff made us feel extremely welcomed and explained every intricacy of the food and accompanying wine choices in perfect English! Smart it may not be but intimate it is, compared to what you would be charged in a Michelin restaurant in London or France for this standard of food it's actually good value for money (not cheap but for the work involved accurately priced). Don't miss out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
189 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good food and cool atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

On the same evening as we were made to feel unwelcome at "3 Minutes sur Meer" (see my review if you wish), we were lucky enough to get a table straight away at Bandol's.

I cannot confirm the negative impression others had about the service, but I must also say we were served by the lovely lady rather than by the so much criticised bloke who also works there. She patiently presented all courses both in German and English (one of us is not fluent in German) and we felt no pressure whatsoever to order a full menue.

The way food is presented has changed very much compared to the previous times we visited; the quality is still very high, however the portions have significatively shrunk to resemble a sort of "nouvelle cuisine" style. The prices are, nevertheless, still "big" despite the smaller size! Perhaps since their next door's "3 Minutes" is doing solid bistrot-style food, they felt like they had to make a radical style change to differenciate their offer from their neighbour's (the two restaurants are owned by the same people).

We all went for a starter and a main course and were quite pleased. I found my fois gras and homemade brioche excellent; I can't say the same about the veil tongue, but it is just a matter of taste. I did not like how it was cooked, still it was a skillfully prepared dish.

All in all a very nice evening; do go to Bandol...at least if the lovely lady is around!

Helpful?
Thank MrsPerfectBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bandol also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Bandol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing