We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Thai Place in Berlin”

Pagode Thai Kitchen
Ranked #3,091 of 9,570 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Kreuzberg
Description: We are a small self service restaurant with an exotic Thai street kitchen. We have been preparing this for you since 1994, seven days a week. All our grocery supplies are imported directly from Asia. We do our cookings like in the foodcourts of Bangkok. Every dish cooked in front of you, fresh, hot n spicy, quick and healthy. We have been awarded as "authentic Thaifood" by the Royal Thai embassy and the ministry of commerce for the past few years in a row.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Been going to the restaurant the whole time during my two month stay in Berlin. Food was always fresh and made to order. The best dishes are the noodles, like pad Thai, pho etc. I also love the appetizers. The curry was watery and soupy like the ones you get in other Thai restaurants. If you want good, creamy curry, go down the street and try umami.

Thank Yolanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPa6969, Manager at Pagode Thai Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017


khap kun khaa, thank you for your comment on our curry, will definitely check on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

This was one of the best Thai places I've eaten outside of Thailand. I had green curry with tofu and it was so fresh and delicious. They have a tiny kitchen and make the food to order and you can taste the difference. Friendly, fast & very high quality! It was very affordable and informal. Such a gem. My friends loved their food too, don't miss it!

Thank jackalope2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPa6969, Manager at Pagode Thai Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Jackalope, khap kun khaa. We are very happy that you enjoyed our "down to earth" Thai streetfood. Yes, we have been serving quality Thaifood cooked like by the mamas in Thailand, since 1994. Almost more than 70% of our ingrediants are flown in directly from asia. We have also been awarded as the most authentic Thai kitchen by the Thai Embassy and the government of Thai commerce several times.
Sawasee khaa. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Back in 1995 when this restaurant opened is was young, fresh, trendy, tasty and just good. Having visited the place over the last decades many times, they really hit rock bottom during my last stay a couple of days ago: I ordered a Curry and around 50% of the stuff on my plate were boiled potatoes! Oh , and some small tastless pieces of meat. Could be a title for a short story: "The the rise and the fall of a Thai kitchen."

Thank Gerhard Helmut E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPa6969, Manager at Pagode Thai Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Gerhard, it's nice to hear that you know us since 1995. Sure we all have become "older".
Our loyal kitchen chefs, the "mamas" have been working with us for more than a decade.
"one can argue about the taste" but certainly NOT about the quality.
I am sorry that you did not like the "MASSAMAN CURRY" which you chose.
The ingrediants are clearly declared on our menu card :
creamy and nutty with only red curry, coconut milk, tamarind, potatoes,
carrots, onions, peanuts and with …
97 … chicken
98 … beef
99 … duck
We must say, yes we all have grown older but, far more better than the days back in 1995. 80% of our ingrediants, fresh herbs and vegetables come directly from asia.
Please do feel welcome to try our other curries with "no boiled potatoes" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This place is always buzzing and for a reason. In summer there is lots more seating outside but even then it's crammed. In winter it's a madhouse with people scrambling for seats and queuing. Very crammed elbow-touching hectic and utterly delicious. Not a place to linger and sit comfortably. You come hungry, you order and pick up at the counter, you plonk yourself down wherever you can, you eat and you go. Yum.

Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPa6969, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Pagode Thai Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Khap kun khaa,
yes, that's what we are, simply THAI, "same same but different"
See you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Oh God! They are so gooood. They serve a reasonable price Thai food which is DELICIOUS. It is a very small restaurant and has a very friendly atmosphere. However they have seats downstairs as well. All the food with duck are perfect and super yummy. My recommendation: duck with peanut sauce.

Thank Samin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPa6969, Manager at Pagode Thai Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017


... simply because we Thai people,
love Thaifood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pagode Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Pagode Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing