We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have a Drink. Skip the Food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar y Sol

Mar y Sol
Ranked #1,061 of 8,229 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Fiesole, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Have a Drink. Skip the Food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very pleasant outdoor area. Inside looked nice too when I took a quick peek. Server was charming. The red wine (rioja) I had by the glass was very good. I ordered three things (potatoes, pulpitos and a beef dish) and they were all quite ordinary. Not terribly filling either. I have become accustomed to ordinary "Spanish" restaurants in Europe and this was far from the worst, but that is pretty faint praise, isn't it? One glass of wine, nothing, else, 27 Euro. I'm not sure what a couple other reviews mean by "good value for money". That's too much for what I got, even if the quality of the food would have been better.

So…nice place for a drink or two. I may go back for just that, but I won't be eating there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    151
    74
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spanish place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Prebook, cause this is a popular place to eat. Excellent tapas, lots on the plate, and good value for money. We have been back several times with friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Berit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Busy place , very good tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Without booking we were lucky to get a table after approx. 15 minutes. We opted for the shared tapas platter. For approx 40 euro for two,we had a nice variation of tapas . The place is busy and a bit noisy but the food is great. Definitely would recommend it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flapuit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid if busy evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Have visited the restaurant each time i've been in Berlin with my family.
The food is good but obviously the kitchen has very limited capacity. We (4 people) had to wait 1 h 45 min to get the main dish even though we had reserved a table in advance. The starters arrived after 1h.

Helpful?
Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“middle of the road tapas restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

i ended up in this district and since all other restaurants were closed, i decided to have a bite at this restaurant. Atmosphere is nice, and service swift and friendly. I ordered a salad which arrived in less than 10 minutes. salad was big and tasteful, and the rioja was also good. I hope this was promising for the rest to come. However the tapas were disappointing; the chick peas were rather tasteless, as was the tortilla. Both could have come off the shelves of a late night supermarket, very little flavour and no bite. The only tapas that was good, was the lam chops. But alltogether a little disappointing experience. Check was €25,- incl. one wine and espresso. A bit overpriced for such a mediocre meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar y Sol also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing