We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche
Ranked #391 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you are looking for a cheap hotel in a nice place of Berlin, close to restaurants and big stores this is a good choice. The rooms are ok, sometimes smells like old, but this not a problem, because the smell is not really strong. There's just one bathroom in the floor, what sometimes can be a problem, if you want more privacy. The breakfeast is really good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in Berlin, I would recommend the Hotel Berolina an der Gedachtniskirche. It's located in one of Berlin's best shopping districts, near a number of nice stores, including Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe), the second largest department store in Europe. There are several restaurants with good food by the hotel. The Kurfurstendamm U-Bahn station is about 200 feet away. The area seems very safe. The hotel is simple - there was only a bed, a TV, a table and a dresser in my room, and the bathroom was down the hall - but it only cost me 46 Euros a night, which is cheap for a hotel in a nice part of Berlin. The rooms have free wi-fi. All of the staff members I met spoke English and were helpful when I had questions. The hotel offers breakfast for 10 Euros, but there are other places in the area where you can find better food for a lower cost. No, it's not a fancy hotel, but it was just what I was looking for - an inexpensive place in a convenient location where I could sleep, shower and use the internet. The next time I go back to Berlin, I would be willing to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christianfromorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stay here every Feb when I'm the city for a trade show. One third of the price of most other hotels nearby, clean, comfortable and we'll priced. Location is perfect, near to good bars, restaurants, shops and transport. Not sure what else you'd want really.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank toner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I booked this hotel online, as it was a great value. Upon arrival, I was pleased to discover the hotel was just as I expected and more - staff allowed for a bit earlier check-in and was always willing to help out (which I greatly appreciate as I was traveling with an 86-year old family member).

The location is unbeatable, with a host of bus stops and a U-bahn/S-bahn station just around the corner and the famous Gedaechtniskirche almost in front of the hotel. Thus, we managed to see all the sights we wanted without having to walk that much.

The room was spotlessly clean (and so was the private bathroom), the beds supercomortable - if you're on a budget, this is the most you can ask for from a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosia_Nowicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this 'hotel' recently. We certainly wouldn't go back. The hotel was in a great location and was clean, but to be classed as a 3 star hotel they should at least offer a decent pillow and bed for their guests. The pillows were lumpy and oddly shaped, and having been assured of a double bed, we were given 2 single beds which had been pushed together and therefore had a big dip in the middle.

There was not enough hot water for 2 showers and it soon ran freezing cold, although the guy at reception seemed to think this was quite normal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Yeah, right! The Berolina is a lovely hotel, the staff on the desk are friendly and really helful and speak great English (which is more than I do...!). The hotel is ruthlessly clean with stupidly comfortable beds and rooms with mad high ceilings that refect sound and light back at you, it's great! Within easy staggering of the mad Irish Pub in the Europa Centre, free live music every night and it is always good... Head across to Curry 38 in Zoo station after and you have the perfect Berlin night out... I'm almost weeping writing this at not being there.... If Ageless are playing the Irish pub let me know, I'll run for the airport!

Great hotel, fantastic city. Why are you still sat in front of Trip Advisor?!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good, maybe ytry to get on a lower floor... But there's a great lift!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan-Anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is a very old building that's most easily described as"It is what it is". Shared bathrooms down the hall,creaky floors but some might say it adds to the charm. One good thing is you are in the middle of it all in the charlottenburg area. KaDaWe right around the corner,the zoo 2 blocks away and you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: Any room away from the street
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidoff-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Upper Room Hotel
Upper Room Hotel
#547 of 635 in Berlin
472 reviews
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#81 of 635 in Berlin
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Charlottenburg
Berliner Hof Hotel
Berliner Hof Hotel
#156 of 635 in Berlin
604 reviews
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#201 of 635 in Berlin
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche

Address: Rankestr. 35, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £41 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berolina An Der Gedaechtniskirche Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing