We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare minimum but sufficient and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Ranked #169 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bare minimum but sufficient and friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Being spoiled by frequent visits to the upper end of the Hotel Group's family of properties I am trying hard to look at this place objectively.

This is a budget hotel which offers all you need to comfortably spend a short time. Don't expect a wardrobe with doors, an in-room safe or individual toiletries.

This said the room and the property were kept very clean and nicely maintained. There was a problem with hot water becoming unavailable for the entire hotel. The management said that the hot water system would be repaired by a certain time and it was done as promised. The staff had a can-do attitude and accommodated my strange requests such as two extra duvets (which I used as a mattress cover to soften the mattress and cushion the springs I could feel in the mattress.)

All room rates - as I understand it - include a continental breakfast. Make sure you arrive early. The food is replenished but it may be a bit crowded if you wait until after 09:30am.

Overall it is a nice hotel; the staff is quite attentive, friendly and professional.

Location wise this hotel is in a good neighbourhood. It is close to the zoo and the Wittenbergplatz underground station. Also within a short walking distance are good restaurants, Asian massage places (hey...the serious stuff, reflexology, Thai, deep tissue, shiatsu) and the Largest department store in continental Europe, the KaDeWe. (second in Europe after Harrod's in London)

Hope you can take some pointers from this review. Enjoy your visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: If you ask for the rooms 18, 19 and 20 on each floor they may be quieter as they are in a back appen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Canandorra,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We work very hard every day to enhance your experience as our guest.
I'm very proud that we left good memories although we had challenges with our heating system and warm water that day.
We would be honored to welcome you again in the future and remain

With kind regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    559
    166
    34
    16
See reviews for
286
355
66
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

First time I stayed in this hotel was in summer 2010, my husband and I loved everything about it,except the mosquitoes bites we got, but it was probably due to the hot summer days. Last January I had another chance to visit Berlin again, and I had nothing else in mind of where should I stay except HIE Berlin City Centre West. I booked through their website to started collecting my points. It's still reasonable price and I was sure what to expect, good clean room with spotless bathroom, coffee/tea making facility, comfortable bed, no mosquitoes this time ;), breakfast included, good location that I feel familiar with. WiFi was still not free like in most hotels I stayed during this trip, but 5 euros for 24 hours internet connection was fine with me. A staff helped me book a taxi to the main train station early in the morning. I checked out before the restaurant open for breakfast, the staff at the reception offered me hot tea and croissant if I want but unfortunately the taxi had arrived to pick me up.

Room Tip: I think it doesn't matter which room you are in, so far I enjoyed my stay in both twin and doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenLilleHavrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear DenLilleHavrne,

we are honored that we could be your host again.
Thank you very very much- and remember: all good things come in threes!

With best Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Super clean, great breakfast and friendly staff.

The only negative point is the lack of any decent english language TV station.
Also the room I stayed in had a door into the adjacent room which I didn't like

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldeayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Ideayton,

thank you for your comment here on Tripadvisor,
Let us know when we may be your host again and we'll block a room that will be best for your needs and preferences!

With warm Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was a good decision we stayed there. Location is great, there's bus and Subway close to it, hotel is comfortable, room was clean, breakfast is alright, we slept tight, although next time we're going to reserve a bigger room with a bigger bed. Personal is friendly.
We went for a city trip, so we found here everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pataswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Pataswiss,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad that you had a good time by exploring Germany's Capital.
I'm sure you came home with a lot of impressions and hope that we may host you again for your next trip.

With best Regards

Sandra Hellwig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went to Berlin for 4 days for my birthday around Easter time. We wanted something fairly cheap and cheerful and got more than we bargained for with this hotel. Location was great - a 5 min walk into the busy shopping area of the city and 10 min walk to the train station (passing the zoo on the way!). There was so much to do in the city, we were constantly busy! Probably the best city break we've had and the cheapest and we were really impressed with this hotel for the price we paid. Staff were friendly, there was a quiet bar downstairs for an evening drink before heading out - drinks were expensive there but are in all hotels. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpoollayd_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Liverpoollayd_23,

It sounds like you had a wonderful time and received excellent service in our hotel. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again.

With best Regards
Sandra Hellwig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed 18-22 Dec for the Christmas Markets. Easy to get to from Schönefeld Airport using the airport express train to Zoologischer Garten (€3.50 ish per person) and then a €6 taxi to the hotel. Tax I direct from airport would cost approx. €40.

Staff always friendly and happy to help with any questions we had.

Room was small but had everything we need - the room was like new.

The hotel has a few restaurants on the street and a Netto minimart to buy water etc. We only had a couple of pizzas which were good from Hallo Pizza on the corner so cannot comment on the restaurants

The hotel is a 5-10 min walk to the nearest underground which itself is on a busy shopping street inc KaDeWe department store. You can walk from the KaDeWe through Christmas markets/shops all the way to the next bigger station (Zoologischer Garten).

Public transport is cheap and efficient (trains were usually early and never late) and all landmarks are next to a station.

Complimentary breakfast was more than satisfactory - croissants, cereals, toast, fruit, cold meats, different drinks etc.

Berlin is a great place to visit especially at Christmas - highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geek_Squad15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Greek_Squad15,

thank you for your lovely words here on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences while you were staying with us.
We are so glad that we lived up to your expectations.

The team and I hope to welcome you again.

Sincere regards
Sandra Hellwig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel offers so much! Upon an early arrival, staff was very kind and made every effort to get us into the room. Everything about this hotel was very nice. The room and the rest of the hotel was always immaculately clean. I really liked the bathroom. The door could not only close normally, but it would also swing so that the toilet area was closed, allowing others to use the remaining part of the bathroom. How convenient! Three of us stayed in the room, so the sofa couch was always open. It left very little room for navigating around the room. We would not recommend it for three people. Breakfasts at the buffet were absolutely wonderful with a great variety of foods. The breakfast area was spacious making for an enjoyable meal. In the evening, there was a little bar area to enjoy reasonably priced drinks, and the lobby was a peaceful place to sit and read a book or to use the computer. While I wouldn't recommend using this hotel for three adults in a room, all in all, this hotel was very nice - staff, room, cleanliness, breakfast, and bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear RussandAnne,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us! I have already passed along your compliments to our staff members. We love our work here, and there's nothing we enjoy more than making every guest's experience one to remember.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel!

Sandra Hellwig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#235 of 634 in Berlin
500 reviews
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#112 of 634 in Berlin
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#130 Family Hotel in Berlin
#143 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel opened in 2008! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church, Berlin Zoo, Potsdamer Platz and Charlottenburg Castle. The worldfamous Alexanderplatz in Berlin Mitte, the Berlin Jewish Museum, the Berlin Wall, the Brandburg Gate, Berlin Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse , and Check Point Charlie are all within easy access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West offers 158 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is only two minutes from the InterContinental Hotel which hosts major events throughout the year. The Holiday Inn Express Berlin Hotel City Centre West offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to reception and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing