We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel”

U Inn Berlin Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
U Inn Berlin Hostel
Ranked #61 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very well located hostel in Friedrichstaine. The hostel was nice and clean, with a nice lounge area and big kitchen. The vibe was a little strange though, we were there for 2 nights, and did not meet many people to go and eat dinner or have drinks with. Maybe this is because there are no ‘organised’ events in the evenings, or that the hostel does not like alcohol to be brought in, but charges 2euro for a 0.5L beer, maybe letting people bring in their own alcohol would help the vibe. The bathrooms were nice and clean, would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
19
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

As a starry-eyed New Zealander, I booked 3 nights accomodation here for a quick stay in Berlin. First person I met was Barbara, who had plenty of great advice for stuff to check out. This hostel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The only thing I will say is that the bedding is a little complicated to set up if you are extremely intoxicated... Overall this place is convenient, has free internet and Wi-Fi and is close to the U-bahn, banks, Rossmann, bookshops, everything, not to mention all the great people I met along the way. I would not hesitate booking there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_as_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Very clean.The area is full of places to go out. Bit far from the city center but close to the subway, which brings you to Alexanderplatz in 10 minutes. The only bad point was that we had a room at the front near the street which in the morning was quite noisy. Otherwise it would have been excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Niels D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found this hostel through Tripadvisor – and it looks exactly like the pictures on their website. I staid here for just over two weeks in the four-bedroom dorm. U Inn is beautifully clean, very cosy (after the first day I told people I was going "home" when I headed back after a day of exploring) and the staff were friendly. Although there's always something happening in Friedrichshain and the surrounds, the hostel itself is very quiet. My window looked out on a tree and I could hear birds singing in the morning.

The bed was very comfortable and the showers had adjustable shower heads. The price for the breakfast went up slightly while I was there (from 2 to 2.50 euro), but it was worthwhile since it included freshly brewed filter coffee.

I had a great time there and can really recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the U Inn Berlin for the past week in the single room. Despite the small inconvenience of walking through a 6 bed dorm room to get to the single room (Their inconvenience, not so much mine), I really enjoyed staying in the room. It had a comfortable bed, big window, dresser and desk with chair so it felt like a room in a flat, I felt really at home here. The living room and kitchen are small and cosy like a flat, and the vibes are friendly and chilled out, definitely not a party place which was perfect for me. There is a bar next door but I couldn't hear it from inside the hostel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and although the breakfast was simple with museli, juice and toast, it was enough for me. The U bahn is just a 2 minute walk from the hostel so I was able to travel across the city very late at night using public transport and I still felt safe. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Book the single room if you are travelling solo - very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a 2 night stay in this hostel. Also, it was my first stay in a hostel ever. For a single room for 33 Euro per Night, i wasn't quite sure about things you gonna think about cheap room, like, how clean their rooms would be, or what kind of manager there would be.

But i was quite surprised.

I had a nice introduction of the hostel and the surroundings there.
The room was cleaner than on most other pricier hotels, and if your curious about security, they've got a code locked door, which change every day.

You can have your breakfast here, for just 2 Euro. You don't get a big buffet, but enough things to start your day.
And in a short walk distance to U-Bahn station Samariterstrasse, you get to Alexanderplatz in no time

So, if you need a cheap stay in berlin, and don't mind to use a shared bathroom, THIS should be your next hostel / hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

It's true that this little hostel may be a bit far away from the HUGE Berlin attractions (like the Brandenburg Gate), but that's not to say that it's not far away, and that's not to say that it isn't a bad thing either. You can easily take the S or the U-Bahn down, and the stations aren't far at all from the hostel. It is also well-served by funky bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants all within 10-15 minutes of walking (hint: Try the Schalander Restaurant and Brewery just a short walk away, their own-brewed wheat beer is amazing, and the food is good too).

The hostel is also cleaned very regularly (and it may lead to inconveniences such as not being able to access certain parts of the place for the time they're working there, as my sister and I found out). Additionally, it has wonderfully comfortable beds, something which can be overlooked all too easily in hostels. But its cleanliness is one of its strengths, and it's one of the reasons why I'm giving it such a high rating. I've been in much worse, so you can imagine how pleasantly surprised I was by the state of the hostel.

The staff are also top-notch. We were able to strike up conversations with them extremely easily, and they were magnificent in telling us where to go, what to see and eat, and how to enjoy ourselves in Berlin. They also helped us with our booking when I had difficulties, giving very prompt responses online and seeing what they could do to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I felt like these were people I could very happily go out and spend the night drinking with.

If I had one gripe, it would be the breakfast selection. It is very basic, with cereals and milk and fruit juice. Then again, it was only €2!

All in all, a magnificent place to stay in, and very well worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#253 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Friedrichshain
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#347 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Almodovar Hotel
Almodovar Hotel
#144 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Friedrichshain
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
Friedrichshain
Kiez Pension
Kiez Pension
#15 of 187 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Inn Berlin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Inn Berlin Hostel

Property: U Inn Berlin Hostel
Address: Finowstr. 36, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — U Inn Berlin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a new cozy little hostel in the most happening part of Berlin - Friedrichshain. We have newly renovated, tastefully fully decorated doubles, singles, twins and dorms. Free Breakfast, Linen and Internet all included!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your U Inn Berlin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing