We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't have it any other way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Ranked #191 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After some extensive research, some of which provided by fellow Tripadvisor reviewers, this place seemed like a sure shot. And it did not disappoint! Conveniently located in front of a metro stop the vastness of Berlin can be enjoyed quite easily with it's great public transport. I also enjoyed staying in "edgy" Friedrichshain and I would definitely suggest anyone with a love for a great burger to walk over to Burgeramt, that place is awesome!

Unless you want to splurge and stay at the Radisson I find this place has the best bang for the buck and the service is great, and of course Best Westerns are known to have very comfortable beds, I slept like a baby for 4 nights.

WiFi only worked when I sat by the door, that was my only minor qualm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LebaneseCreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is great, the rooms are nice and clean, and quiet! - The staff speaks perfectly good english, which sometimes can be a problem in germany, and they are super friendly, you can talk to them forever!
The location is great close to the river and to alexander plats, and there is an U-bahn right outside the entrance to the hotel..
I was there during the Berlin beer festival (which is great by the way), and it was in walking distance, and the hotel is open all night, so you don't have to worry about being out late..
All in all this is a great hotel, to stay in if you're going to Berlin.!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BulleMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We made the trip to Berlin to make a visit to their annual Bier Festival. We did this 2 years ago and stay at the Best Western City Ost, it's location is perfect it is just a hop and a skip from the tube, straight out of the hotel door and you practically fall down the steps to the tube. So it seemed only right that we stayed here again, and once again the whole experience was brilliant, the reception staff were extremely helpful, making a few calls to check out some of the attractions we wanted to visit, and telling us which tubes and trains to catch to get there. The rooms themselves arent huge but are beautifully clean, the beds Nd bedding are both very comfortable , the bathroom is clean and have a very powerful and hot shower. The air conditioning was a god send as it was 32 degrees the whole time we were there. Free wifi is available in all the rooms and was of good strength. Tea and coffee facilities were available from reception upon request.

There is plenty of eating and drinking establishments all within walking distance.

Will be our first choice if we decide to go to another of the bier festival , which by the way was awesome .

Room Tip: Both times we have been at the back of the hotel, which the view isn't great but it is very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poptron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just one night. The room was super clean, comfy bed, great shower (sometimes the water pressure in Europe is the same as drooling on yourself).

The extremely excellent night man at the desk/bartender was, as I said, extremely excellent. I think his name was Patrick? If he's there, you're lucky.

Stay here if it's in the area you want to be in Berlin.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank remeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is just opposite to U Bahn station and is well connected. Since we are Indian, we wanted to have Indian food. Indian restra managed by Pakistan nationals is nearby. Apart from this the bakery is next door where you can have breakfast. Super market is also nearby. Just opposite to hotel, there is a coffee shop, which serves coffee and snacks round the clock, which is a plus point.
Room in the hotel is decent. It is sound proof and there was no noise from main road. Bathroom was clean.
Hotel is cheaper as compared to other hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texan_2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went there for city break and was there in April 2010 and has not changed, everyone helpful, rooms cleaned daily. Didnt eat there so cant comment on there food. Also its central and next the s-ban. Good times

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank angi145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is clean the staff were welcoming but........ Previous reviews have mentioned that the rooms are too hot. We stayed here four nights and two of the nights the room was uncomfortably hot. The outside temp was actually quite cool but really unpleasant in room.
We also had some of our money removed from the room safe. We only found out when we were about to check out when it would be too late to do anything. Cest La Vie, this does happen at times all over the world. I shall buy some sticky seals for hotel safes.
Negatives aside it was clean , comfortable and well located for transport links and Boxhagener platz.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tohaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotel City Ost, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear tohaboo,

thank you for taking your time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback and would like to express our sincere apologies regarding your loss. Our key card system and safes provide a high safety standard and we will investigate this matter.

Thank you for your understanding, we hope you enjoyed your time and Berlin and would like to welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin.

BEST regards

Angelika
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#187 of 635 in Berlin
412 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#131 of 635 in Berlin
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel City Ost

Address: Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#149 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#152 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel City Ost 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Ost
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing