We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant experiene in Europe”
Review of Heising

Heising
Ranked #21 of 8,499 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experiene in Europe”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Authentic, delicate good food that is well prepared in surroundings best described as your great grand parents private livingroom. Do treat yourself to this experience if you want to have something to talk to your friends about. 97 year old Hr. Heissing himself is serving you together with his wife.

We shall definately return again soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpiffDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    147
    40
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First thing to remember - It's CASH ONLY. I noticed a lot of people embarrassedly shuffling out to get cash and I myself restricted myself from having another drink on (unfounded) fears that I might be short.

Second thing to remember - Be on time! I got hopelessly lost and nearly lost my table (in spite of emailing to say that I'd be late).

Lastly - If you've got the first two things in the bag, it's FANTASTIC, so be prepared for a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

The ambience is just lovely. The decor makes you feel like you've stepped back in time. The elderly couple who run the restaurant (Mrs. & Mr. Heising) are warm and gracious hosts. I was a bit worried about dining alone in a restaurant which was so clearly a very romantic place, but I have to say I had one of the best evenings ever.
The food is great - perhaps not the best French food I've ever had, but definitely high up there. Rich and decadent.
Would highly recommend. Do book in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnwK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

As many others said before: a great restaurant for the time traveller. Nothing for a quick bite after work - you go here when you want to celebrate something. Or when you want to feel like sitting in the dining room on the Titanic .-) French food, classic style, so yes: best quality, but nothing innovative (and that would not fit into the atmosphere).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank epapa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alingsas, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Maybe not the best food (although top 10) I have had during the years, but when you put all together it will be one of the best.

Mr Heising with his wife give you the best of best in service and make you feel like one in the family. The interior take you back to early 19 century and it make the food taste even better. The food was really good, only a few minor details...
The price (46 euro for 3 courses and 54 euro for 4) is really good.

I will tell all my friends about this restaurant and I hope Mr Heising and his wife will be around for a long time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Driftchef_SmaBubblor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Franch restaurant”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

what a place ! what a restaurant, felt like we are moving in time ! such a good food ! what a nice couple run the place ! PERFECT !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayalla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heising also viewed

 

Been to Heising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing