We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Meal with a great City view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hugos Restaurant

Hugos Restaurant
Ranked #223 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$75 - US$140
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Panoramic views and heavenly food - Hugos Gourmetrestaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top-flight chef Eberhard Lange creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau restaurant guide. Subtly different, blending the finest of flavours in the lightest of dishes. Spiced with the stunning view across Berlin's shimmering night-time cityscape. Or enjoy the exclusive service and ambience of our elegant Hugo Private Dining Rooms. The perfect evening with each unforgettable moment to be enjoyed to the fullest - crowned with an after-dinner drink at Hugos Bar.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Meal with a great City view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The restaurant is on the 14th foor of the Intercontinental Hotel in Berlin. We were a small group and had a table by the window with a great view of the city. The food was just excellent and also the selection of wines. I had the Chef's taster menu which I can recommend. All our group were very pleased with the quality and taste of the food. Price wise it was good value when compared to other high end restaurants I have dined in in Paris. Would defiantly eat here again if back in Berlin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xing-jia-bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Xing-jia-bi

thank you for dining at Hugos Restaurant. The team greatly appreciated your review, especially as you compared Hugos to your previous dining experiences.

I wish you just the same satisfaction during future visits of Hugos or other Michelin star Restaurants.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    55
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ooohhhhhhh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

just perfect, a visit to Hugo's will probably spoil you for life!
Try the chef's 7 course taster menu with the accompanying drinks, it was an amazing experience in a beautiful location

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdavis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sarah

thank you for reviewing Hugos again and for returning to our Michelin star restaurant. We are looking forward to spoiling you even more maybe next year.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hugo if you want - you will enjoy it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

14 floors up - table by the window looking at Berlin's winter skyline. Good food, nice wine, helpful smiling staff. Not cheap but you would not expect it to be. If you like "fine dining" this is the place to go. Maybe I'm getting old and jaded but I always come away from this sort of experience thinking "that was nice butwas it worth a bus drivers weekly wage?" mind you I have no idea how much a Berlin bus driver gets paid. But I bet not many of them eat here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatman100754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Boatman100754

thank you for your compliments and for sharing your experience at Hugos here on TripAdvisor.

We try to keep an exceptional level of service as well as quality of products from the cuisine to the wines. The team is ready to fulfil every one of your wishes just as you would expect. Therefore, although I wish for many to have the pleasure of dining at Hugos, the atmosphere remains exclusive and extraordinary.

And also I hope, that you will return in the future to enjoy a similar experience on our 14th floor.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Booking a table in a Michelin star restaurant I was expecting Michelin star food but I found only an excellent service.Excellent view of Berlin, nice atmosphere.I will not recommend this restaurant if you are looking for Michelin level food.

Helpful?
Thank ge0rge_thessal0niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ge0rge_thessal0niki

thank you for reviewing Hugos Restaurant at the InterContinental Berlin.

I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. If you want to share your experience with the team of Hugos, they are always eager to receive direct feedback on their menus, wines and service.

The location and the service are the foundation for you to enjoy the exquisite creations by Chef de Cuisine, Thomas Kammeier. So I hope that in the future, we may have the honor again to welcome you to Hugos Restaurant and to convince you that the culinary compositions are shoulder to shoulder with the view and the attention of the team.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Overall a Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental so one night we did try Hugo's. We requested a window seat and was seated at a table with a great view of Berlin.
The service and staff here is outstanding, never leaving you looking for help but staying invisible while you enjoy your meal. I had the degustations menu which was like 6-7 course but after all was said and done turned out to be more like 10. Chef is great with balancing his flavors and no complaints with portion size. Food is not too simple or over complicated. Solid wine choices and great aperitifs.
My only small complaint is the length, we are used to 3 hour dinners in fine dining establishments and granted we are used to arriving early to dinner so we were there a little after 7. The first 3 hours really seemed to go by fast but the last hour seemed to have dragged on, we did not realize whether you arrive at 7:00 or 8:30 they seemed to finish everyone at the same time around 11:00pm.
Still would recommend this experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PTJD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear PTJD01

thank you for your kind words on Hugos Restaurant and for trying our Michelin star dining while staying at the InterContinental Berlin.

I forwarded your review to the team to make them aware of the aspect of improvement you mentioned. They also asked me to relay their thanks to you for your very observant perception of their style of service.

Both, the teams of the hotel and the restaurant, hope to welcome you again in the future.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hugos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hugos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing