We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, service and views”
Review of Hugos Restaurant

Hugos Restaurant
Ranked #249 of 8,382 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$78 - US$146
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Panoramic views and heavenly food - Hugos Gourmetrestaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top-flight chef Eberhard Lange creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau restaurant guide. Subtly different, blending the finest of flavours in the lightest of dishes. Spiced with the stunning view across Berlin's shimmering night-time cityscape. Or enjoy the exclusive service and ambience of our elegant Hugo Private Dining Rooms. The perfect evening with each unforgettable moment to be enjoyed to the fullest - crowned with an after-dinner drink at Hugos Bar.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food, service and views”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Food was exceptional and the service was also. Pleasantly surprised by the views at night recommend asking for a window table as it's on the 14th floor.

We ordered the 4 course menu and wine by the glass as there was so much selection on offer. They were incredibly generous with the breads and complimentry dishes.

I honestly can't remember seeing my wine glass or water glass reaching empty.

HIGHLY recommend A+++

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    57
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very interesting and inventive food in a very pretty room with a great view of Berlin. Service was attentive and friendly. Well worth a visit for a special dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DocD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We are foodies and seek out Michelin starred restaurants when we travel. Hugos was nice, the food was good and the service was attentive without being intrusive. If we love a restaurant we pass bites of our courses back and forth.... we didn't do that at Hugos. We only had one night free for a dinner of our choosing in Berlin, its sad to say but I wish we had tried another restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank blessedandgrateful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear blessedandgrateful

thank you for your feedback on Hugos Restaurant. Although we did not meet your expectations I still appreciate that you gave Hugos Restaurant a chance.

We have a variety of dishes and Thomas Kammeier regularly drives innovation and tries new products. Therefore, besides the fact that this time, we were not able to convince you of our excellence, we may amaze you the next time.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
323 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The only wow factor was the view”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lovely view from the 14th Floor of the hotel.That was definitely the best bit.Service was rushed at the beginning but then we had to wait for ages between courses..Our meal started at 7 and it took us until 11.20 to finish five courses. Starters were good,so were the desserts,but the fish courses of lobster.char and turbot were nothing exceptional and didn't wow the taste buds.Was it sous -vided?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear YorkJean

thank you for reviewing Hugos Restaurant. You are right, the view is stunning. At the same time, I hope that you will have the opportunity to taste the variety of Hugos' creations in the future as I strongly believe, that the team around Thomas Kammeier will be able to match the "wow" created by the view.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Overprized”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We are eating regularly in Michelin star restaurants, but the food here was good but not excellent. In our opinion the food is over prized.

We ate a fish menu. A 5 course menu. We received some amuses that were good. The first course was lobster. The lobster was cold and served with apple and wasabi. I could not taste the wasabi. I think that was a pity. The second course was char. This fish was good, I did like the grilled leek that was served by the char. They said they served caviar with it, but in my opinion it were just normal fish eggs and not caviar. Then we had a slowly cooked egg. The egg was cooked on 68 degrees for 2 hours. This was nice, but not spectacular. I expected more of this dish as the server said this was a very special dish. The last fish we had was good.

We exchanged our desert for another desert with strawberries. We liked this dessert, but also this was not spectacular. The week before I ate in The Netherlands also in a Michelin star restaurant and the flavors there were better. They also cooked more surprisingly. For example we had ice made of kerry. The only surprise on this desert were white strawberries. They were very sweet.

The comparing wine is good, but they do not give you a lot of wine. We had to pay EUR 12 for a bottle of Gerolsteiner water.
The views over Berlin are spectacular, but we felt we were sitting in an alley. People passed our table when they left the restaurant or when they came in. We had a private table as we had the windows left from us and a wooden wall right from us (with the walking path). This felt strange.
The service was good.

We ate much better for much better prices all over the world. We decided not to go to Hugos anymore but to go back to Lorenz Adlon next time or visit other Michelin restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at Hugos Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Dutchguy71

I am sorry to hear that Hugos Restaurant did not meet your expectations. I may assure you that the team surrounding Thomas Kammeier and Olaf Rode do their utmost to fulfil every need of our guests.

Thus I hope that maybe in the future, you will give us the pleasure of convincing you with the combination of culinary creations, Berlin views and attentive service.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hugos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hugos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing