We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bremen City
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Bremen
Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor front desk”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has a poor front desk. When chosing to stay and pay for a hotel room, I expect service minded reception staff. At this hotel, everything you ask for is a problem.

Stayed one night. Enough. Even if the price paid, the location and the breakfast was nice, and the room mostly convenient (despite of the nice, but uncomfortable bed and a tiny inconvenient bathroom).

No AC, but an external fan made it liveable at these warm summerdays.

No WIFI signals in my room. This gave my travel company problems, as we were dependent on planing our further road trip, and we had chosen this hotel because of free in room wifi. Asked the reception staff to get another room, but she said «the wifi should work». «The problem is not the room». But it did not work unless I stayed in the corridor, I told her, so it isn’t working, and I leave tomorrow and can’t wait to let the IT-technicians fix it. But she was not interested to solve my problem or satisfy her customer. Even if the hotel still had available rooms.

The next day, we asked for one hour later check-out. This also had to be discussed as it was a big problem for them. Really??? I stay yearly at aprox. 30 hotels, and I have seldom met a less service minded hotel.

Will not stay here again.

One additional note that is slightly amusing: The hotel had a betting competition in the front desk when we arrived for the WC match between France and Germany. I am not football interested, but I guessed 1-0 to Germany. The match ended 1-0 :) Never heard anything from the front desk about it...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schaper, Manager at Best Western Hotel Bremen City, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Gusse,
Thank your for your review! We are very sorry, that you are so dissatisfied with your stay at our hotel!
First of all we apologize for the poor wireless connection in your room. We very much regret the there from resulting hassles for you and your business! We are suprised and also scared, that you certify our front desk staff a lack of service-readiness. Friendliness and helpfullness are our top priority. We are sorry, that your Impression was such different. Nevertheless we would like to ask you to consider, that sometimes, due to the occupancy situation, a a wish can not be fulfilled.
Regarding your real football tipp we have failed passing you your betting profit! Sorry for this! We will do so immeditately and send you the winning post to your home address.
Regards, Sigrid Sierhaus (Mgr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    138
    44
    19
    5
See reviews for
38
80
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

we went to this hotel in july.
the staff is friendly.
we had a nice room on the 5th floor with a vieuw on the windmill.
allthough it was hot we had a little breeze with the windows open which was very nice but also neccesary.
the room didn't had airco.
the bathroom was nice. no bath but a shower. thats ok for me.
but on some places we found some hairs.
but you find them allways in a hotel room.
about the breakfast:
WUNDERFULL!!!!
Really a big choice!! enough space to sit down.

the hotel is situated near the Central Station (ca. 3 min. walk)

I would recommend this hotel!
We will take this hotel again when we go back.

sightseeing spots!
the main shopping street.
the market
the restaurant and beer gardens at the river.
Schnoor (here you must have been!!!)
the great park at the other side of the central station)
and the little street between the market and the river.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kriden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schaper, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Bremen City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Kriden!
Thank you! Good to know that you felt welcome in our hotel and you liked Bremen so much.
Have a good summer :) Maybe we will see you again in Bremen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Schaper-Siedenburg. The hotel is in a great location, just a 5 minute walk from the town centre and market place, great for exploring all the sights.
We asked for a quiet room and were given a room at the back of the hotel, so nice quiet and comfortable. Everything we needed for our short stay. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room, but you could also get a hot drink in the atrium area anytime up to 10pm.
The staff on reception, and at breakfast were friendly and helpful. Reception staff spoke very good English. Breakfast was excellent, a great selection of hot and cold food.
Overall a very enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't like road noise ask for a quiet room at the back, no view but better for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Easy to get to hotel from train station, literally walk straight out of station about 2 blocks (tram from airport stops at central station and you can walk from there). The room is nice size and has towels, shampoo, hairdyer, tv, wifi. I dont think there is AC but there is a nice breeze from the wall of windows (street is not noisy). They also have a computer in lobby area to print out tickets. Breakfast is included and it is huge with meat, eggs, fruit, yougurt, cheese, breads, etc... Staff is only ho-hum, but the hotel is only 5 minute walk to downtown and they have maps at front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mightygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
451 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is situated perfectly for a short visit near by the main railway station in Bremen. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and in stead of a standard room, we got the apartment. I have been there before and I'll be going back

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heli55Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just had a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel. Rated a 3* but in our opinion a very good 3* The hotel room was very clean and staff extremely helpful and friendly, speaking the english language too, which was a great help due to our German being very minable. The breakfast is excellent too with such a vast range to choose from. The location is excellent too with everything in walking distance. The trams are excellent and only a 10 minute journey from the airport boarding tram number 6. Bremen itself is very clean with a great selection of bars and cafes. Many sites to see and also recommend a walk to the river where there are many bars to have a drink/meal and a river cruise. Definately recommend Le Grill restaurant along side the river. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel lies very central, close to the main station and the old centre, and the area is safe. Everything is in walking distance, restaurants and cafes (and a cinema) very close, and a great green area for jogging or a walk just around the corner.
Stayed at a single room on the second floor, which was clean and good. Nothing extraordinary, the mattress was firm, as I like it, two different kind of pillows, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very small, though, and the room had a peculiar smell.
Free W-Lan, but also a computer and a printer in the lobby.
The best thing about the hotel is the really excellent breakfast, with a huge choice (I counted 11 different sorts of bread), and fresh (this goes for the fruit as well as for the cheeses, cold cuts and fish). Even better: every day, there are new variations, and the quality of food is great. There is plenty of food for the health conscious (real bircher muesli!) and the vegetarian, too, and special treats for kids.
The breakfast staff is very friendly and accommodating, as are the receptionists.
I am definitely going to stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms to the street if you like to sleep by an open window, as many trams are passing by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordrainsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schaper, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Bremen City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lordrainsby!
Thank you for your flattering words :)
It's good to know that you felt welcome in our hotel.
Have a good week with a lot of sunhine!
Yours
BEST WESTERN Hotel Schaper-Siedenburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Swissotel Bremen
#4 of 86 in Bremen
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsvorstadt
elements pure FENG SHUI CONCEPT HOTEL
Ibis Bremen City
#16 of 86 in Bremen
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bremen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bremen City

Property: Best Western Hotel Bremen City
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 8, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Schaper-Siedenburg)
Region: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen > Bahnhofsvorstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Bremen City 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
modern hotel, situated between main station and city center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bremen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bremen
Best Western Schaper Siedenburg
Bremen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing