We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Bremen
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top quality stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Aug 2014 and cannot fault it in any way. We had booked a "delux family" at a very reasonable price through Expedia and were delighted on our arrival to get free access to the fitness facilities for our whole three day stay. We had a great room - big, even with a double and two singles, with a lovely bathroom with corner bath. We had requested a quiet room which we got and the AC was efficient. The breakfast was very good (two fussy children with us) though we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening. The parking is pricy but it is very convenient for the beautiful city of Bremen. Our children, 11 and 8, loved the pool and huge Jacuzzi and, being British, were a little amused by the nude policy in the steam rooms and saunas but quickly adapted.
We have travelled a great deal and can therefore be quite picky but we were delighted with our stay here and would without hesitation, strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALIFROMNEWCASTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    169
    67
    26
    11
See reviews for
60
108
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

its a perfect location, very near the main train station. Receptionists are all accommodating and helpful, we requested for a room transfer because their is no aircon and they gave us a family suite without any additional fee. Hotel facilities is very good for kids, my son really enjoy the swimming pool. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzP1953, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feed back. We are glad to hear, that we could create an enjoyable stay for you. We would be very happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I am sure that this hotel is excellent for couples. For a family with a 20 month old, that wants to touch everything not so much.

While very close to the historic center of Bremen, it is even closer to the main railroad station, so in the streets around the hotel you will see quite a number of beggars, more than you usually will see in a major German city. If the Hotels own parking space is full, you will be sent to a nearby public parking house, a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. You will get voucher in the hotel, for free, that covers part (in our case 4 out of 12 euros) of the costs for parking.

We had a room on the 3rd floor, with a weird angle, my guess is that it previously had been 2 separate rooms, now combined to one big, with a large bathroom. The bathroom door had no key, so we could not keep our daughter from entering the bathroom, which was a problem.

While in bed, we could not see the door area, because of the angle, and so we could not see what the kid was up to. There was a desk right next to the door, with a lot of papers (hotel info) on it, we had quite a battle keeping it on the desk. Also the room was not that big, or rather there was not much floor space for the kid to play.

Not all was bad though. The staff was nice, and the breakfast was excellent, although you might have problems getting a table during rush hour.

Had we travelled without the kid, I would most likely have given 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzP1953, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to see, that you enjoyed most of your stay in our hotel. May be it was not the right room for a family with a very young child. For your next stay, please get in touch, with our front office team. We would be very happy to move you to a room, more convenient in that case. We would be very happy to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

As stated this is a very conveniently located hotel, next to one of the best tram systems I've experienced in Germany. As a Diamond member on checkin I was offered access to the fitness centre free of charge as well as a free drink at the bar. I stayed here for almost 2 weeks in a 'Comfort' room. The room itself was nicely laid out except for the TV, which I had to move into the living area rather than be forced to watch it (during the Football World Cup) on the bed. Fortunately there was a TV point next to the desk. Sound proofing was excellent. The bathroom was modern looking and clean with bath and shower. Essential for a long stay is plenty of cupboard space and no complaints there. The room also featured an effective air conditioner. Breakfast was in a nice setting with the usual array of choice including the all too common pre mixed almost synthetic scrambled eggs. Also like most hotels the laundry prices are just ridiculous - over €50 for a weeks washing, fortunately theres a self service launderette across the road where the same wash (less ironing) cost no more than €7. As a Diamond member I was offered free access to the spa facilities and pool as well as a free drink at the bar. Next door to the hotel is a very nice Bavarian style restaurant with a good menu choice and great German beer.
I left this hotel very disappointed and let down after having negotiated a long term rate of stays of more than 10 nights with Best Western and even though I left earlier than expected but still after 13 nights and didn't expect to receive the same discounted rate they charged me the full standard rate. This will in future influence my stays at this brand as other international brand hotels are much more flexible and available in Bremen.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are obviously better than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparty328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzP1953, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feed back. We are happy to see, that you enjoyed your stay with us. To avoid any misunderstandings or dissapointments ind the future, we would recommend to negotiate a special rate before confirming the booking. If a special rate is agreed and the preconditions do change due to earlier departure or any other unforeseen circumstances, of course one has to talk about terms and conditions again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located just opposite the railway station, and is close to the city centre. The room we had was spacious, facing the back (which got us away from the sound of the traffic), was clean and had nice beds. The breakfast was nice, and so was the dinner we had in the restaurant. Friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzP1953, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feed back. We are very happy that we could create an enjoyable trip for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Friendly staff, good breakfast.
good location. Very convenient to city centre of to convention centre.
Lots of people attending to my room, probably too many for my liking.
Good sized room and very clean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzP1953, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir freuen uns über Ihr Lob und würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have staid 2 nights here and I can say:

- part of the people from reception are very friendly and they tried to help me with all my request, but the rest of the people are not very friendly and treat me with no respect.
- hotel is a very old building, i don't have any problem with this fact ... but you can smell the old everywhere
- the furniture from the room is old, but it is clean
- the bathroom is new and modern and this is the best thing in this hotel
- the internet connection is very very poor
- the Breakfast is ok, you have what to chose , but for 5 or 6 nights you will need to try something else


With the same money spent for one night here I staid in Hannover to another hotel but the difference is huge.

I hope that they will redesign and change something in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Havidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HzP1953, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
thank you very much for your feed back. To be honest, we are quit shocked, because you felt that you have been treated unpolite and respectless. That is the first time in 7 years, that we were informed about such a problem. We would be very grateful, if you could give us more details in this regard, so that we can investigate and find solutions for that. We are very, very sorry for that. Of course, that is definetly not our standard.
Please be informed, that we are presently renovating the hotel rooms and they will all be fresh and new soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Swissotel Bremen
#3 of 85 in Bremen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel
#6 of 85 in Bremen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Bahnhofsvorstadt
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bremen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsvorstadt
Elements Pure Feng Shui Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post
Address: Bahnhofsplatz 11, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Region: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen > Bahnhofsvorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bremen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable 4 star hotel is locatetd opposite the main station. There are short distances to the trade fair area (800m) or to the city with its interesting points of sightseeing (1km). The hotel offers breakfast as well as a confectionary, own patisserie and a cocktail bar. You also will find a 1.600 Sqm fittess and wellness area with pool, whirlpool, saunas, steam bath, a tepidarium and a little outdoor area. A gym with more than 30 cardio machines is available, also fitness classes, massages and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bremen
Bremen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing