We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more...”

John Benton Im Becks am Markt
Ranked #31 of 911 Restaurants in Bremen
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“I expected more...”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited this restaurant for dinner. As we entered, the bartender / waitress immediately showed us to a table on the ground floor, even though we would have preferred one on the upper floor. The menu was rather fancy, and sometimes too funny. Even though most dishes sounded amazing, they almost all had something weird on them too.
In any case, we did manage to find something for all three of us, and neither of us regretted the choice.
HOWEVER. We did regret that we didn't go upstairs. The waitress spoke enough English, but was horribly rude and brutal in whatever she did (serving up food, asking for our order...). It might have been because she was serving all the tables on that floor alone, but still... it's bad for the business. I would give this place another try, on the upper floor, but only because the tasty food. If it were for the waitress alone, this place would have lost my choice for sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orsi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    76
    47
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak & Co.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Perfect location on the market place of Bremen. Great steaks and salads, ice-coffee an drinks. You can also sit outside in the sun or inside. Inside on the 1st floor you can take a look in the kitchen and see, how your meel will be prepared.
I love this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aklete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect location and poor service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stopped here for a midday coffee. The waitress hardly spoke german, let alone english. But we managed to order coffee and hot cocoa. Also we requested some pastries but she didn't know what they had. So she brought our drinks and some choklad cake for someone else. She told us that that's all they had (I did not believe it) and promised to fetch us some too. And promptly forgot us for almost half an hour. Then she brought the cakes, serving everybody else first. Our cocoa and coffee had of course gone and we had no interest in the cakes anymore.
Naturally we did not come back for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMacFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We found this restaurant when walking through the square. We ordered steak and they didn't ask how we wanted it, but it arrived medium/rare which I wouldn't usually order but the quality that it was there was no complaining from me us. I had 'peppers' and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donhal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossoro, RN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A respite. ”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Good beef and service. What else is needed in the description.
Very welcome retreat and good selections. Prices are well inline.

Helpful?
Thank Cableslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Benton Im Becks am Markt also viewed

Bremen, State of Bremen
Bremen, State of Bremen
 
Bremen, State of Bremen
 

Been to John Benton Im Becks am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing