We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel perfect for university area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel Universum
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Bremen
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A modern clean hotel, no frills but very comfortable and warm. I had an economy room which was fine for a one night stay. It did have a bath but no refreshments in the room. Restaurant is limited in what it serves but they don,t mind if you just have a small starter and drink tea. Very convenient for working with technology companies around the university. Very easy to get to using the tram from the airport or train station. Free wifi and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinkMorpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear TinkMorpeth

Thank you for your positive review. You were one of our first guests who got to book a room out of our new room category offer.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
It is also nice to hear that we could convince you with our new high-speed WIFI and our expert staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards from the ATLANTIC Hotel Universum team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel was an amazing find!:) we had to gone to visit the universum science center and hence came across this as its located right next door! So glad we chose this!the hotel is fantastic on all aspects- check in formalities,room allocation,cleanliness,overall quality and most of all service! The people were very happy to help at all times- they even gave us a bfast bag ( despite the kitchen not being open at that time)as we had an early morn flight to catch!
The rooms are beautiful- comfortable bed a lovely study table and a nice view of the green bushes outside!:) the bathtub is an added luxury for all tired souls!:)
There is a beautiful area to walk which goes into a mini forrest like area behind the hotel- very peaceful!
The food at the hotel is worth mentioning- do try the gnocchi for sure!
Their breakfast spread is very generous and yummy!:)
Will definitely recommend this hotel!:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhupotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Madhupotter

we are very pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your stay and enjoyed being your host in Bremen.

We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and are grateful for your compliment concerning our staff and the quality of the food in our restaurant Campus.

Furthermore we thank you for your recommendation - We would be very pleased to welcome you again!

Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel Universum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Nov whilst on business. The hotel is near the University and next to the Universum. The taxi from Bremen airport cost 32 euros (20 mins or so). The hotel is very modern. The double room was well laid out and the bathroom was spotless. You have to get a code for the wifi at reception; once signed in you can select free (slower) wifi or pay for a faster connection. Free wifi worked in the reception area but not in the room. Breakfast was good. Had one evening meal at the bar - California chicken salad was excellent (salad with fruit and lovely chicken in a sticky glaze). The quaint old part of Bremen was a few minutes away by taxi (about 12 euro), where we ate at the atmospheric Ratskeller.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Lynphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Hello Lynphd,

thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear that we convinced you with our rooms, service as well as the food in terms of quality. For your next stay at our hotel, just to let you know that from January 2013 on, high-speed internet is included in the business rate.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay in Bremen!

Kind regards
the team of ATLANTIC Hotel Universum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a nice and quiet place to stay in Bremen although somewhat expensive. The room was modern, spacious and clean and the service was pretty good. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of classic breakfast stuff. The hotel is about a 15' tram ride from downtown, while the same tram line takes you to the airport as well. I was slightly disappointed from the fact that the hotel offered no slippers for its guests. The hotel is very close to the University of Bremen. Apart from that and the Universum which as far as I could understand is a science museum for kids there is no other entertainment opportunity nearby and one has to go downtown for that,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Ekali,

thank you for the feedback and your positive comments about our rooms, service, breakfast as well as the good accessibility of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive any slippers as they are provided for free to our guests on demand. Concerning the entertainment opportunities, there are different activities at the park next to our hotel e.g. minigolf or canoeing. The “Universum science center” – which you mentioned, is suitable and interesting for adults as well but next time please do not hesitate to ask our reception staff as they will be happy to inform you about the entertainment opportunities nearby and downtown. We would be happy to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards
the team of ATLANTIC Hotel Universum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice hotel with access to running paths along the canal and park - fruit and towels procided for runners. Very nice buffet breakfast with everything you could think of, including strawberry juice smoothies, and espresso coffee on request. Bikes available at no charge. A little out of the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anya_waite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Ms. Waite,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay at our hotel - especially our extra services for runners as well as the healthy breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you again whenever you are in Bremen next time,
the team of ATLANTIC Hotel Universum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel is located close to the university area, and otherwise easily accessible by car.
Ample parking.Nice tour options around the hotel.
Reception / service:
Large, open reception area. Nice and friendly staff
Rooms:
Large, comfortable rooms with a separate sitting area. Good and fast internet connection, and a large LCD TV.The working area could have been better, however.
Restaurant:
The restaurant gives an impression of offering gourmet cuisine, with a very interesting menu and a exiting use of spices. But the quality of the food is below average, and far from what one would expect. The dishes are tasteless, and the use of spices as advertised in the menu is completely absent. A big disappointment! But fair prices and relatively good value for money.
Breakfast:
Very good standard and with excellent quality of what was served.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSHBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear JSHBergen,

Thank you very much for your feedback and the positive notes about the good quality of our hotelrooms.

We are very sorry that the visit in our restaurant did not fulfill your requirements. We will evaluate your impressions and improve the offer.

If your way leads you back to Bremen we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards,
ATLANTIC Hotel Universum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is a really pleasant hotel to stay in. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel is nicely laid out. The restaurant serves some wonderful food!

Only possible downer is that they do not have a swimming pool :-(

The hotel is located out of town, by the University (hence the name):

If you want a slightly out of the centre hotel, near to some nice parks, close to the university, and only 10 mins on the tram from the centre, and 20 mins from the airport, then choose this hotel!

If you want to be in the middle of Bremen, choose another hotel. Simples!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roose_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Roose_Rambler,

Thank you very much for your 2nd stay and your positive feedback.
We are pleased that you felt comfortable with us.

If your way leads you back to Bremen we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards sends you - the team from the ATLANTIC Hotel Universum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bremen hotels
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Galopprennbahn
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Munte am Stadtwald
2.4 mi away
Swissotel Bremen
Swissotel Bremen
#5 of 86 in Bremen
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Bremen
Courtyard Bremen
#10 of 86 in Bremen
496 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Landgut Horn
Hotel Landgut Horn
#27 of 86 in Bremen
102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Bremen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel Universum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Universum

Address: Wiener Str. 4, 28359 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Region: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bremen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
Price Range: £77 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Hotel Universum 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to a new universe of modern design, first-class comfort, attractive function and meeting facilities. Our location close to the city centre of Bremen, with the university, Stadtwald park and Universum ® Bremen immediately adjacent, makes the ATLANTIC Hotel the perfect base, whether you’re here on businessor for pleasure. Savour outstanding cuisine in our CAMPUS restaurant and enjoy the uniquely cosmopolitan flair of this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Universum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bremen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing