We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad.”
Review of City Hotel Bremen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel Bremen
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Bremen
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good and bad.”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I checked half a dozen hotels near the station and this one at 44 Euros was the cheapest - in fact a few Euros cheaper than the Youth Hostel nearby. It looks a bit run down and facilities are not de luxe but it is not the worst place I stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    12
    6
    23
See reviews for
2
14
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed one night before early morning flight home. Room (double en suite) was basic but clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the room smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke, slightly eased by opening the window and leaving it open for several hours. No toiletries etc supplied other than a soap dispenser by the wash basin.
If you're only staying one night it is ok, but rather overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibabe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Would not stay here again. We just wanted to sleep and get out of there as soon as we could. The one host was very very unfriendly and we felt very unwelcome. Did not help with anything. The host that came on the later shift was more helpfully but by that time we were over it the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bremen hotels

Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Not too much to say but for the price you will be surprised! Great quiet friendly hotel. Clean rooms, updated lobby and friendly english speaking hosts! :) I tried to stay again on my way through but they were all booked up :( Next time I am staying for sure!
Only downside which really isn't is you have to go to the lobby to get internet. lol :) Now that's me being picky..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinthedream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Myself and a friend stayed here when we came over to Watch Everton play Werder Bremen.

We only paid £59 excluding breakfast and our own toilet/shower for one night between the 2 of us which was really good value for money, The hotel is really easy to access from the airport via tram and right in the heart of the city centre so your not too far away from anything.

The shared toilets and showers were very clean and seemed to be maintained/checked on a regular basis which was good and plenty of hot water.

The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfy with plenty of sheets, I would recommend if you stay at the hotel that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel as due to there being no air conditioning its better to have the window open and not have as much noise from the nearby train station as we were sleeping at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy as we wouldnt have been comfortable with the hot air if the windows were closed.

We decided to use the hotel for a buffet breakfast at 9 euros each, I personally thought the breakfast was OK and there was just about enough of a selection to get by with and it was probably a traditional German breakfast but I'm quite happy to try different things so wasnt a problem.

As we had the whole of the second day to spend in Bremen but had to check out the room by 12, the staff were more than happy to keep our luggage in a secure area for the duration of the day free of charge which was very good of them.

I'd reccomend this hotel especially for football match goers planning on going to the Weserstadion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfarr92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

hotel is 2* but very good location, walking distance from Bremen train station (200-300m) and from the airport, you can take the tram number 6 from the terminal to Bremen train Station about 12minutes, the ticket is 2,30 euro and you can purchase in tram. old told of bremen is 400-600 m walking, lot of resteurants close to the hotel,
it is cheap option but no bathroom in the room, you share it with other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

This hotel is, without a doubt, the WORST hotel I have ever had the misfortune to step inside in all my life. You couldn't even call it a Doss House, it was SO much worse. The room, approximately 8'x8' had a double bed (which the Owner called King Size!!), which was slammed up against a wall on two sides! There was no wardrobe, only a bar hanging from the wall, which was supposed to house your clothes. In any event, you would not take your clothes out of the suitcase, as the smell of the room would have tainted every fibre. This was mainly the smell of smoke, but the smell of mould and must mixed with it. The bathroom was extremely damp and dank and again mould and musty, the smell permiated the bedroom as soon as the door was opened. The Owner makes you pay UP FRONT in CASH ONLY prior to you seeing the room!! The room was up 2 flights of stairs - no lift. The Owner did not provide any assistance with bags. After waiting until after 3.30pm before being let into the room, after five minutes, we decided that we COULD NOT in any way shape or form put ourselves through this absolute horror and stay any longer this positivtively awful place and did no more than to rush round the local hotels looking for a room for two nights. The money paid for this hotel was obviously non-refundable, but I would rather have lost the money, than stay in this positively disgusting hotel for a moment longer. Please be aware, take heed of this review and DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL.

  • Liked — There was nothing likeable about this accommodation
  • Disliked — Smell of room and bathroom; size of room, lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 99wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Bahnhofsvorstadt
Novum Hotel Bremer Haus
Novum Hotel Bremer Haus
#26 of 86 in Bremen
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsvorstadt
Best Western Hotel Bremen City
Ibis Bremen City
#19 of 86 in Bremen
705 reviews
Courtyard Bremen
#9 of 86 in Bremen
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Bremen

Property: City Hotel Bremen
Address: An der Weide 18-19, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Region: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Bremen 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing