We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Vegesack”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Strandlust Vegesack
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Bremen
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Vegesack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I have stayed here on numerous business trips over several years.

Good:
The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious.

The breakfast is excellent with a huge variety. The coffee is not great.

There is a very good restaurant in the hotel. Also a nice bar and a covered terrace for al-fresco dining... and that first cigarette in the morning.

The location is great if you need to be in Vegesack. Right down by the river and it's bars and restaurants. If you need to be in Bremen, however, it's a long way out.

Not so good:
The coffee

No free internet in the rooms, not even wired.

The cross-river car ferry loads right next to the hotel. It's noisy and runs from very early to very late. The triple glazed windows keep the noise at bay, but if you like some fresh air in your room overnight, be prepared to be woken suddenly at dawn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ferry which is very noisy form early in the morning 'til late at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antimaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    40
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
10
16
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here for three nights during a visit to my son who was working in the shipyard in Vegesack. It's a modern, clean, bright, well furnished and nicely decorated hotel with very welcoming reception staff who speak excellent English - thank heavens!

The hotel is ideally located right on the River Weiser, giving easy access to a very pleasant walk alongside the river, plus the local pubs and restaurants in Vegesack.

We enjoyed an exceptional breakfast each morning in the dining room overlooking the river. You name anything you might want to eat for breakfast and it was there - breads, cereals, cakes, cold meats, cheeses, yogurts, plus cooked bacon, eggs. Everything. Friendly waiting staff attended table speedily to offer a choice of tea or coffee.

A terrific stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the river, with .the little ferry just to the left. Nice and quiet. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DartfordLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Having read the reviews and listened to colleagues I asked for a quiet room away from the Ferry. Was given 403 which is top floor at back of hotel away from river and ferry. Room is in the eves so was a bit hot and when it rained the noise was quite bad. The room was a single and was small but perfectly adequate. Beds were quite hard and the heat made it difficult to get to sleep.

Breakfast was good and service seemed very friendly and attentive.

The location of this Hotel is great for the Lurssen or Abeking & Rasmussen shipyards as its only 10 meters from the ferry.

The Ferries have been renewed and are now pretty quiet - you would need the windows open to here them so suggest rooms over looking the river would be fine.

Ate at the Grey Donkey and the Halfen Haus - both excellent.

Overall don't expect 5 star but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersetsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed here for the second time on business. It is brilliantly located for the shipyards which was the reason for choosing it.
Service and staff are all great..one word of warning, although its nice to get a room overlooking the river , the ferries do run very late and start very eary and are extremely noisy..so unless you can sleep through anything I would ask for a room at the front of the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munchen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my partner. We booked a double room, and were surprised to get a river view. The room was huge, with glass walls on 2 sides of the room, making it very sunny and giving a great view of the bay. The room was clean, with tv, fridge (snacks and beer was free!), big bed. Bathroom was clean as well, with hairdryer.
Hotel staff was very friendly. We asked for an iron and ironing board and were provided with both immediately.
Breakfast was very good as well. A varierty of cereal, corn flakes, cold meats, sausages, omlette, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, fresh baked croissantsand drinks.
Locationswise its quite far from the center. So in case you are coming for sightseeing this hotel might not be the best idea. It takes approximately 25 minutes to get to Central station with the train, and about 1 hour with the bus (in case you wanna go clubbing, and need to come back in the middle of the night). We were there for a party (which was at Strandlust hotel), so for us the location was ideal. There are quite a few shops and restaurants around though.
Overall a very nice stay, we will definitely stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alinochka20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2008

Stayed here on business last week. This was my first stay. The hotel is on the river front which in summer is probably great. Hotel staff friendly and efficient and restaurant stays open fairly late (11.00 pm). Room was ok size, reasonably furnished and bed was comfortable. Arrived too late to judge restaurant. However, recommend you request a room that does NOT overlook the river. The hotel is adjacent to a ferry terminal and the ferry appears to run all night so there is no need for an alarm call since you are woken regularly with a great clanging noise outside your room!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bremen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bremen
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Vegesack
Atlantic Hotel Vegesack
#41 of 85 in Bremen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Union
#55 of 85 in Bremen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Strandlust Boardinghouse
#71 of 85 in Bremen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ringhotel Faehraus Farge
Ringhotel Faehraus Farge
#70 of 85 in Bremen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
7.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Garden Bremen
4.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Weserblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strandlust Vegesack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strandlust Vegesack

Property: Hotel Strandlust Vegesack
Address: Rohrstr. 11, 28757 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Region: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Strandlust Vegesack 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Strandlust Vegesack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing