We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
arcona Hotel am Havelufer
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed there over the weekend and have to say we have seen better places. They got little gimmicks that would qualify for a 4 star hotel but when basics like cleanliness and noise protection are missing...
Cleanliness: The floor was dusty and not vacuumed; a lot of dust was laying around the bed, in corners and under furniture; he toilet bowl showed depositions; the white shower curtain (in a 4 star hotel you would expect a glass wall) was brown on the bottom, why not change it every once and a while, it is inexpensive;
Noise protection: non-existend. I admit it is an old building but even these you can make sound proof. And I'm talking about people having a low volume conversation in the neighbour room, it was sometimes interesting though ;-)
Breakfast: The buffet offered many varieties, but they were a little bit slow to refill things. But the staff was vey helpful and immediately brought things after asking. The worst part was the coffee pot, some tables got a stainless steel one and some a white plastic one. Unfortunately we always got a formerly white one, its outlet was brown, it was really gross.
Restaurant: It is a nice room and the food is good.
Public transportation: There is a tram or streetcar station right in front of the hotel and Potsdam has a pretty good system. But if you wanna go back to the hotel by tram, it is very difficult since it doens't come back like a regular line. You have to get out at another station (Station Bahnhof Charlottenhof) and walk about 500m (~500yards) or invest another 30min to do a loop.
Staff: Was always really friendly and helpful

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    61
    36
    24
    9
See reviews for
13
75
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

we stayed 8 days in the arcona ex artotel and are quit sure that we will use that hotel agan.especialy the atelier rooms in the new building are quite spacious ,one complete side of the rooms are windows and a little balcony gives the possibility to get the sea breeze.the service is outstanding for a hotel at this size .reception,especally mrs stein,gives you the feeling to be a personal private guest,also at the restaurant the service is very good and the food is also better then in many hotel restaurants.the rooms are as mentioned very spacious and one feels well however the are as ex artotel ,furnished as such.which means nice looking and modern but low budget.also they are not unclean but worn down and overdue for refurbishment.carpet is worn,mattresses are a bit bend and so on.cleaning is ok but i guess it is done by a outside company ,where the cleaners do there best but due to time and payment will never be able to do more the the minimum nessasary.but this is a general problem in most german hotels since the hotels pushed the prices further and further down so that the cleaning people hardly can exist on it any more and can by all means never do a proper job.but as mentioned the general feeling and the great view is compensating the state of the room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfgang3633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I hate it when the shower automatically adjusts itself to colder or hotter water.... I always find myself jumping to the left or right.... This built-in automatic adjustment of temperature was available free of chage in our 2 deluxe rooms.... The TV (size of a laptop computer) is ridiculous ! Rest of the room was fine... Good and friendly service, ideally located, ample parking spaces, good breakfast - overall the hotel can be recommended - uif they fix their temperature control in the showers.... 3 Stars

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PengPeng25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Needed some where to stay prior to flying from Berlin, whilst this hotel is approx 45km from the airport its by far the best family hotel I have stayed at in the region. Fantastic prices, facilities and superb river walks.

  • Liked — Fantastic Views and Walks
  • Disliked — Beds a little hard
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

The Art otel Potsdam is situated outside the citycentre of Potsdam. The Charlottenhof trainstation is not far but finding the hotel is not easy because you can't see the hotel on the street, the hotel is behind a big yellow building. The hotel looks modern and nice altough not everyone will love the style. Rooms have nice vieuws on the lake. What annoyed me was that i didn't get coffee during breakfast on my first day. You must wait for a waiter/waitress but they overlooked me, even when I asked for coffee. The hotel looks nice but they need to improve the service.

  • Liked — rooms looks nice
  • Disliked — service at breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank A.Brouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

The hotel consists of 2 parts - old and new. We got a room in the old one and were SHOCKED - it naturally reminded me a medieval prison cell - small, tiny room with very-very(!) small window and thick walls. I called the front desk and refused to stay there unless they give me another room. After 10 minutes i was provided a room in the modern part which appeared to be ok at first sight....


But:
- a/c didn't work. And it was hot;
- no complementary toiletries were provided (just fixed to a wall dispenser with some kind of liquid soap of a very questionable quality);
- Small LCD TV , no hotel entertainment system. No English language channels on TV!!!! I mean not a single one! Life hack TIP: try to do manual search using the remote control - you will find BBC :)

Breakfast was ok. Nothing special but just ok...

I'm a hotel manager and pretty sure the problems above shouldn't allow them to have 4 star. Good 3 stars. No way 4*!

Staff was ok. I fact one guy on the front desk was very helpful, others seemed to be not really bothered to provide good service but this is common for Germany.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Potsdam hotels

Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

We showed up in Potsdam without a room reservation for 1 night, and the local tourist agency booked us here for EUR 96. This was a perfectly acceptable hotel, with a very modern feel. But as others have commented, it doesn't quite live up to its pretensions. The negatives are mostly aesthetic, rather than practical.

This room was one of the best-lit hotel rooms I've stayed in, with good bathroom lighting and good lighting for reading in bed for both my wife and I. The desk light was a bit too low to be effective for my laptop, but that wasn't a problem.

We had a good breakfast included in our rate.

The hotel does provide internet, but if you want an all-day connection (recommended), you -must- book through the hotel and not use the ISP's website. We found this out the hard way.

As others have noted, the hotel really does not make effective use of what could be a very good location on the water.

Parking was free, and the location was walking distance from the downtown restaurants and Sans Souci palace complex.

  • Liked — In-room lighting
  • Disliked — A bit pretentious feel, maybe 'too consciously hip'
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#5 of 37 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
1.3 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kongresshotel Potsdam am Templiner See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arcona Hotel am Havelufer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arcona Hotel am Havelufer

Property: arcona Hotel am Havelufer
Address: Zeppelinstrasse 136, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — arcona Hotel am Havelufer 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the banks of the Havel. Peacefully situated, yet in the very heart of Potsdam, presents itself the Hotel am Havelufer. The hotel's unique location makes it an idealstarting point for your tours of discovery through the former residentialcity with its palaces, gardens and historic quarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your arcona Hotel am Havelufer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing