We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice cafe for a break”
Review of Cafe Heider

Cafe Heider
Ranked #16 of 332 Restaurants in Potsdam
Cuisines: German
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice cafe for a break”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing too much special but it nice cause of its choice of cakes. And tge location great view to main street and city gates.. but unfriendly staff and over priced

Helpful?
Thank Tuncay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    95
    48
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Schnitzel special is great”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was visiting Potsdam on a Wednesday so I knew I would stop there for lunch for their schnitzel special (9.90). It was really good but I'm not quite sure I would pay 16.50 for it (maybe it's the Potsdam tourist place inflation) and nothing else on the menu looked to die for (I looked for research sake I guess). Maybe on other days it should be more of a cake and dessert stop but I imagine there are better places in terms of people watching on the pedestrian zones.

So 5 star on Wednesdays, maybe 2.5 on other days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really wonderful cake and a nice view”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Each time we are in Potsdam, we try to have a coffee break at the really wonderful cafe near to the historic "Nauener Tor". The variety of home-made cake is simply fantastic and incredible delicious and the service is attentive and fast.
The cafe is a bit away from the main street with all the tourist-orientated locations, but it is worth the walk, even when your feet are a bit tired after visiting Sans soucci and its extensive park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_E_Pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Too much to choose”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Coffee and cake!!!! Sitting in the sun and enjoying a coffee with a delicious piece of cake in the lovely city of Potsdam. I was so happy to have chosen this cafe for a sit down and relax. The coffee was perfect but the cake topped it off. The cafe is down a side street and away from the main hustle and bustle. Very friendly staff and good prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esfahan, Iran
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“With love from Austria!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I went there with one of my friend who went several times in Austria and live in Germany, he aprooved the quality of "Wiener Schnitzel"...It was something really delicious and the Potato salad or Kartoffeln salat tasted so special! They had different types of cocktail, desserts and cakes...Wow they are all delicious! I tried a cocktail with vodka and cakes too...no word to describe it! You should try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParnianHsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Heider also viewed

 
Potsdam, Brandenburg
 

Been to Cafe Heider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing