We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Am Grossen Waisenhaus
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spacious room, great location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was very close to the shopping area and the historic sites. The breakfast offered great variety and was delicious. My large double room was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again when I return to the area.

Room Tip: The large double room is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    39
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
61
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff friendly and helpful, quiet double room on second floor with great shower and fantastic buffet breakfast. The hotel and Potsdam were just perfect for visiting Berlin. It is only a 15 minute walk to the main train station and it takes just 25 minutes to the centre of Berlin.
Potsdam is such a lovely place that it is worth hiring one of the hotel cycles and touring the palaces - particularly Schloss Cecilienhof if you are interested in history.
The hotel does not do evening meals but there is a bar and their cafe lattes are excellent.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHCHRISTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel am Großen Waisenhaus in February 2014. Our stay was very pleasant with a friendly staff, large double room, and very generous breakfast. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the shops, restaurants and cafés of Potsdam and a ten minute walk to the historic sites. The hotel is also about a 30 minute walk to the local train station that can take you to Berlin and beyond. Overall, a very worthwhile hotel to stay at while visiting Potsdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The old orphanage is a long narrow, two-storey building in the old part od Potsdam. The reception was - if not unfriendly, then at least reserved. I had been given a single room on the ground floor with a single bed up against the wall, so I asked to have it changed to a room with a large bed. The look I was given said a lot of what the receptionist thought about picky and spoiled people like me... My new room was perfect - lots of space and on the first floor, so I could sleep with an open wondow. Breakfast was fine - nothing special, but OK, we're in a three star hotel in Germany, so one shouldn't expect more, I guess. The thing, though, that made me uncomfortable throughout the stay was the spookiness and the undefinable smell of the long corridors. Perhaps not all kinds of old buildings were meant to be turned into hotels... Mixed feelings, indeed,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I spent two nights here last week. I arrived after closing hours, and it was slightly hard to find, also because of the strange German street numbering system. The hotel is a very quiet place, and I slept well. The breakfast was excellent, with a lot of choice between good products. Staff was friendly and helpful. I think price/value was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanJeuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Unless you're plan is to spend more time in your room rather than exploring Potsdam, this place is perfect for top quality little double rooms in a great location. The breakfast is fantastic too and you could easily gorge on all the fresh choices including made-to-order eggs whichever way you like.

All the staff were really friendly and helpful too, apart from the receptionist who had no interest in greeting or welcoming us to the hotel upon our arrival. She was uninterested, unhappy, simply pushed our paperwork we needed to sign forward, huffed and puffed as we'd taken her away from her very important Saturday night phone calls that she had to put on hold for us and talked at us impatiently when we asked questions. We got the information we wanted eventually and her stroppy-teenage-like behaviour was luckily waters off a ducks back for us but still, it's the worst most 'welcome' from any receptionist from any halfway decent hotel that we have ever experienced. Shame on her, she does not deserve to be working there.

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the main street are fine as it's in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here while on vacation. We are from Texas, US and speak a tiny bit of German. Everyone in the hotel was so helpful. The rooms were really clean and comfortable. It's a great location for sightseeing in a Potsdam. Everything is so close and we walked everywhere and didn't need to take a taxi :). We had breakfast at the hotel each morning and it was very good. Will definitely stay again when I go back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
#4 of 37 in Potsdam
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Grossen Waisenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Grossen Waisenhaus

Property: Hotel Am Grossen Waisenhaus
Address: Lindenstr. 28/29, 14467 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Grossen Waisenhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Grossen Waisenhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing