We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable close to the station and river boats, direct trains to Berlin and the airport (schoenefeld), potsdam is lovely, plenty of shops and restaurants. Close enough to Berlin but without the big city huddle n huddle. Trans buses and trains nice and easy to use. Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaskewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is basically an eastern european block, transformed into a nice hotel. The reception greeting was so very pleasant , and the rooms are a bit tired now, but there is nothing wrong with this hotel....with the exception of their need to charge you a stupidly large amount for wi-fi access. Having travelled over 3000 miles on this holiday, this was the first time anyone had tried to make an extra charge. The IBIS budget in Cracow offered it for free, so did the Mercure in Vienna, along with an iMac G5 in the lobby for anyone to use. Monkeys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Ellis661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank DanMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The bedrooms are obviously for single night stays, just a little cramped, nowhere to put anything down. They do, however, provide a kettle and coffee, etc. which is unusual in mainland Europe. The beds were good and clean. The bathroom a nightmare; too small, chrome and glass screens with one sliding door, bright lights and multi-mirrored. One sees 12 on oneself. No privacy and the light disturbed the whole room during the night. Towels were thin and awful.
The staff were pleasant, the lifts efficient, air conditioning was ok, the breakfast was excellent and hotel location is good but, if you go there don't look out for me - I definitely will not be there.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Riding into Potsdam - The Mercure Stands Proud just across the waterway bridge right in the centre - This is the easiest hotel to find and parking abundant.
I was made welcome at reception and off to my extremely well air conditioned room. The room itself was rather small but adequate for a sole traveller - If my cases were any bigger then it might have been an issue - however The room is for sleeping! The bed was comfortable and I would have had a great sleep if it wasn't for the paper thin walls which allowed you to hear knocking on the doors down the corridor.
The great thing about this hotel is the Restaurant - the food was totally amazing - I stayed 2 nights - I ate in both nights and was really pleased that I did - not only great food but the wonderful wine list Les Mercure Grand Vins just topped things off to make the dining experience truly great.
Having wonderful weather of course helps - especially when you can have breakfast in full sun on the terrace overlooking the canal / waterway. The selection at breafast was expansive and something to suit every wish.
I would recommend this hotel but perhaps a larger more sound proof room next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AMACSPORRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel's location is ideal: central station in walking distance, public transport just outside the door (including the harbour!).
Staff is friendly and committed, accommodations slightly dated and on the small side, but clean and well kept.
Ask for a room in the upper floors facing the Sanssouci gardens - simply amazing.

Would stay again there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Not impressed with this hotel. Was under pressure to find a hotel in Potsdam at the last minute so booked the Mercure. For me, the only good thing about the hotel is that it is close to the train station. After having seeing the wide variety of hotels in Potsdam I'm sure I could have found a better one.

- WIFI over price at €10 per day.
- Breakfast over priced at €19 per day.
- No gym nor wellness facilities, or at least nearby facilities were not offered.
- Extremely poor bathroom amenities (no earbuds, comb, etc.). Shower gel and shampoo were not replaced until the third day. Hand soap was never replaced. Towels seemed old and overused.
- Wardrobe space extremely small, was on business for a week and at most could only fit 5 shirts into the wardrobe space. Did not have room for trousers nor jackets. Also had to ask for additional clothes hangers.
- Poor room amenities, the kettle was also moldy inside. Had to ask for a shoe shine.

From a five night stay, having breakfast and WIFI access costs an additional €145. Should be free really.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
1.1 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kongresshotel Potsdam am Templiner See
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#7 of 37 in Potsdam
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Potsdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Potsdam City

Address: Lange Brucke, 14467 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
#7 Business Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range: £59 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Potsdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Potsdam City is located in the historical city centre of Potsdam, surrounded by beautiful lakes, the "Lustgarten" and the re-constructed state parliament with its jetty right in front. The Potsdam main railway station is just 400 m away. And the old town is just a few minutes' walk. Every one of our 210 air-conditioned rooms is a place where you'll just love to linger. The modern single and double rooms, including 2 suites and 6 junior suites, are equipped with a safe, flat screen TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and also a writing desk. After we have treated you to some culinary delights in our restaurant "Oscar", you can round off your evening in our "Cinebar". Natural light and state-of-the-art technology, including Wi-Fi, make the 13 air-conditioned meeting rooms in the VDR-certified Mercure Hotel Potsdam an ideal location for conferences, seminars and festive evening events. The rooms on the 17th floor offer a great view of Potsdam. Combinations of rooms make it possible to host events for up to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Potsdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Potsdam City
Mercure Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing