We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Superbude St. Georg
Ranked #51 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Superbude is a great hotel with a good price value ratio. They offer Double rooms to dorm rooms. Great breakfast is served in the lounge. The only disappointing thing is the location. It is located in an industrial area outside of St. Georg. The rooms are spacious and clean. Defenitely can be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tirol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hostel is really great!
The double room is very spacious with comfy beds, a modern and clean bathroom and funky design.
The communal areas (kitchen, dining, cinema, sports room) are wonderful and provide the hostel with a fun, young atmosphere. There are friges where you can purchase snacks (noodles, pizzas, drinks etc) which is handy.
Everything is spotlessly clean.
The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. They could answer all my questions, had great local knowledge and were super friendly.
The location is a short walk from the main station and really not far from the city centre.
Hostel was very quiet so a good nights rest was had.
Double room was cheap considering the quality of the room and wifi services.

Room Tip: Breakfast is dear at 7 euro for cold meat and bread. There is a supermarket up the road with many fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CarlyB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Hamburg. We stayed in a regular room (not dorm) and enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. The only problem we had was with the lighting in the room. There are huge windows in the room, but opening the curtains means about 20 other rooms can see directly into your room. If you want your privacy, the curtains have to be closed which is a shame because the lighting in the room is very inadequate. Perhaps requesting a room on a high floor would give you both privacy and lots of light. The TV on that is mounted on the wall almost laughably small. It seems strange that they went through the effort to buy and mount such a tiny (think: laptop screen size) television.

We paid for the breakfast and it did the job. The bread rolls were somewhat stale on both days, not very appetizing but edible nonetheless. The staff were very friendly and the location was just 7-10 minutes walk from the subway. We would stay here again because overall everything went well and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Don't be put off by the location: it is only a stroll from St Georg quarter and only 350m from the train station that goes to the airport (Berlin Tor).
The staff are very friendly and very thoughtful; they even sell frozen food in the kitchen and let you bring in take away food.
The hotel and rooms decoration is very interesting to say the least: rubber plungers as wall hooks, mice trap as document holders and you get a constant reminder of the maritime life of Hamburg. Personally, I loved it!
The room we has was very confortable and impeccably insulated: you cannot hear the trains and the traffic (but I guess cannot open the window either? Maybe a problem in summer?).
The only downside in the room is that it needs additional lightings and the TV is too far away from the bed making it hard to see.
Otherwise, top hotel if a 5 min walk does not challenge you. (it is also a 15 min walk to Daniel Wisher great fish restaurant in SpitalerStrasse: you must have the shrimp salad roll and chips from there.... amongst other dishes)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatouMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here with my family (2 kids age 6 and 3) for 5 nights.
The good: 1) super awesome hospitality. The front desk was really helpful, friendly and accomodating. 2) The room and bathroom was clean. 3) Huge common kitchen to make simple meals, and refrigerator to store your food, or you can buy food from their mini supermarket. This is a plus for my children, because they got tired of eating out. So some nights we just bake pizza or made instant noodles, and ate dinner while watching movie at the cinema room. 4) cinema room. 5) can rent nintendo ds with decent games from the front desk. 6) wonderful location (5 min walk to nearby subway, and really close to grocery store, restaurants) 7) Free wifi or you can use the computers downstairs for free
The bad: 1) dark room. The wall in my room was red orange colors. And with only 2 lamps, it was quite dark. 2) terrible pillows
We were quite satisfied with our stay in this hostel. We enjoyed our stay here, and the breakfast too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Awesome looking hostel, they have been really careful with the aesthetic and so it looks really awesome. Room and bathroom were spotless, beds were fairly comfy but pillows aren't the best. Free good wifi throughout, and PC's to use downstairs with a free printer too. Big dining area and guest kitchen looked OK. No lockers in room but they have a storage rea where you can get padlox for free to use staff are nice. 9/10.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkitineJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Superbude is good value for money, we stayed there for 2 nights in 6-bed-dorms. You are sleeping on low beds, the mattresses are good, you can rest and sleep very well, if your roomate doesnt snore... The room we stayed in was a bit dark, though, and you cant open a window completely, to let in fresh air. I have missed ventilation during, dont know if it is getting funny during hot summer days, we stayed in early August with mixed weather in Hamburg.
Breakfast is heaven, for 7.50 EUR it is very very good. If you want to eat out for breakfast you need to walk for a while. If you dont mind walking, Suberpude is reachable on foot from Hamburg Central Station

Room Tip: It is a bit noisy, no matter if you book a room to the inside (courtyard) or the outside (main stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lofts3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#52 of 321 in Hamburg
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superbude St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superbude St. Georg

Address: Spaldingstr. 152, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#79 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £58 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Superbude St. Georg 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping in a hotel bed is going to become super!Stylish, comfortable, communicative and valuable: Superbude right in the heart of HamburgFrequent travellers sleep in hotels, hostels, b&bs or youth hostels, depending on style and budget. But nothing is better than spending a few nights in your friends home, which is often a Superbude, and you can enjoy such a home fully if it is right in the middle of one of Europes most interesting towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Superbude St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superbude Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing